DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on January 17/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 12-13 and 15-20 have been withdrawn based on the election/restriction mailed August 22, 2025. Therefore claims 1-12 and 14 have been examined below. Claims 12-13 and 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected Species and or Sub-Species.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 6, drawn to neck protector (300) as illustrated in Figures 18 and 19A-19B, species (i) with hook and loop connector to chin strap connection material, and species (a) for helmet connection material in the reply filed August 22, 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant argues in the traversal is on the ground(s) that Under MPEP §803, restriction is proper only if (A) the inventions are independent or distinct as claimed, and (B) there would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required. In establishing such reasons, MPEP §808. 02 requires an explanation showing, for example, "separate classification", "separate status in the art", or "a different field of search". Accordingly, Applicant respectfully traverses the election of species requirement for the following reasons. First, the claims are directed to a device for protecting a neck, which comprises the device's body and a helmet connection configured to removably couple the body to a helmet.
Examiner notes that an election of species has been required and not a Restriction as noted above in the Applicant’s argument regarding MPEP §808. 02.
Examiner notes that there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). While the searches of the identified species may overlap, the overall search would be seriously burdensome because Examiner would need to search for each distinct invention or variation. Furthermore, the search is only part of the examination process, and MPEP § 803 states "[i]f the search and examination of all the claims in an application can be made without serious burden". The examination of the application would also be burdensome because Examiner would be required to apply art and rejections to claims (presently presented or added in future prosecution) directed towards each distinct and different species of invention.
Applicant further argues “The helmet itself is not claimed. Rather, the device is claimed as a neck protector with its structure and its one or more configurations. Nothing in the present claim set requires examination of a separate helmet to determine patentability of this device. Accordingly, species 1, 3, 5, and 7-9 are improperly defined.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument “The helmet itself is not claimed. Rather, the device is claimed as a neck protector with its structure and its one or more configurations. Nothing in the present claim set requires examination of a separate helmet to determine patentability of this device. Accordingly, species 1, 3, 5, and 7-9 are improperly defined.”. The following claims are drawn to a helmet, claims 15-20 (and the claims that depend therefrom).
Claim 15. A system for protecting a neck of a user from laceration, the system comprising: a helmet; and a neck protector configured to couple to the helmet, the neck protector comprising a helmet connection configured to removably couple the neck protector to the helmet, wherein the neck protector is configured to cover a portion of the neck surrounding a carotid artery to protect the carotid artery from injury.
Claim 19. A method for protecting a neck of a user from injury, the method comprising: providing a neck protector having a helmet connection comprising a first side helmet connection, and a second side helmet connection; coupling the first side helmet connection to a first side of a helmet; and coupling the second side helmet connection to a second side of the helmet, wherein, after coupling the first side helmet connection and the second side helmet connection, the neck protector covers the neck of the user to protect the neck from injury.
Applicant further argues “Second, the asserted species share the same core feature, i.e., the neck-protecting body and the claimed helmet connection functionality. As such, those common elements render the asserted Species 2 generic to all species as defined.” Examiner respectfully disagrees that the asserted species share the same core feature, i.e., the neck-protecting body and the claimed helmet connection functionality.
Examiner has shown that the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Finally Applicant has argued “Further, the Examiner has not identified any "separate classification", "separate status in the art", or "different field of search" that would necessitate multiple non-overlapping searches. See MPEP § 803 (serious search and/or examination burden required) and § 808.02 (how such burden must be shown; "Where, however, the classification is the same and the field of search is the same and there is no clear indication of separate future classification and field of search, no reasons exist for dividing among independent or related inventions.").
Examiner notes that the arguments are not found to be persuasive as stated above. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has argued a restriction requirement and a species election has been required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-13 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species 1,3,5,7, 8 or 9 all requiring a helmet.
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/25/2025.
Applicant’s claim 12 and 13 are drawn to Figure 14 in Species 5, requiring a/the helmet chin strap (chin strap 16 found in figure 14 of applicants disclosure and paragraph 0059-0062”).
Therefore claims 12-13 and 15-20 are withdrawn at this time.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “claim 7 the flap further comprises a first flap on the first side and a second flap on the second side” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 7. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1,3-6 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. US 2018/0110656 A1 Josefin Ambring, (herein after "Ambring").
As to Claim 1, Ambring discloses a device (neck guard 140; Ambring); for protecting a neck of a user from injury (Figures 1 & 4; Ambring), the device (neck guard 140; Ambring) comprising: a body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) and a helmet connection (180; Ambring) configured to removably couple the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) to a helmet (Figure 4; Ambring teaching wherein the helmet connection is configured to removably couple the body to a helmet. Ambring teaching wherein (180) is removably coupled to (185)), wherein the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) is configured to cover the neck of the user to protect the neck from injury (Paragraph 0002; Ambring ~ regarding neck protection from injury)(Figures 3 & 4; Ambring).
As to Claim 3, Ambring discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) comprises a first side and a second side (Annotated Figure 3; Ambring), and wherein the helmet connection (180; Ambring) comprises a first side helmet connection (180; Ambring) on the first side and a second side helmet connection (180; Ambring) on the second side (Annotated Figures 3 & 4; Ambring).
As to Claim 4, Ambring discloses the device of claim 3, wherein one or both of the first side helmet connection or the second side helmet connection (Annotated Figures 3 & 4; Ambring) comprises: a flap (lip 155; Ambring) extending from the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) (Annotated Figures 3 & 4; Ambring).
As to Claim 5, Ambring discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the flap (lip 155; Ambring) is configured to extend over a helmet side strap (Ambring suggest a flap that would be capable of extending over a helmet side strap).
As to Claim 6, Ambring discloses the device of claim 4, wherein one or both of the first side helmet connection or the second side helmet connection further comprises one of: i) a snap connection, the snap connection comprising: a first portion on the flap; and a second portion on the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring); or ii) a hook and loop connection, the hook and loop connection comprising: one of a hook layer or a loop layer on the flap; and the other of the hook layer or the loop layer on the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring); or iii) an opening through the flap (lip 155; Ambring), the opening configured to extend over a helmet strap (Figures 3 & 4; Ambring ~ regarding having openings between helmet connections (180; Ambring) and capable of extending over a helmet strap) (Paragraph 0027-0028 with apertures 180 Ambring).
As to Claim 11, Ambring discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) comprises a first side, a second side, and a middle portion extending between the first side and the second side, (see Annotated Figure 4; Ambring) and wherein the first side and the second side are configured to cover and protect sides of the neck and the middle portion is configured to cover and protect a front of the neck (see Annotated Figure 4 and Figure 3; Ambring).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0110656 A1 Josefin Ambring, (herein after "Ambring") in view of United States Patent No. US 9,913,501 B1 Brian Charles Flug, (herein after "Flug”).
As to Claim 2, Ambring discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) extends from a first end to a second end (Annotated Figures 3 & 4; Ambring), the device (neck guard 140; Ambring) but fails to disclose further comprises an end connection configured to removably couple the first end to the second end.
Flug teaches neck and collarbone protector and discloses further comprising an end connection (foam layer 24 with adjustable strap 31 and 32) configured to removably couple the first end (first terminating end 51; Flug) to the second end (second terminating end 52; Flug)(Figure 2; Flug).
Therefore, based on Flug’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ambring’s first end and second end to include an end connection configured to removably couple the first end to the second end, as doing so would provide secure attachment for an adjustable fit to each individual wearer (Col. 5 and Lines 31-41; Flug).
Claims 7-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0110656 A1 Josefin Ambring, (herein after "Ambring"), as to claim 4 above and in view of United States Patent No. US 2018/0058818 A1 Jason Beck, (herein after "Beck”) Jason Beck, and further in view of United States Patent No. US 5,095,550 to Jon A. Perlinger, (herein after "Perlinger”).
As to Claim 7, Ambring discloses the device of claim 4, the flap (lip 155; Ambring) but fails to disclose further comprises a first flap on the first side and a second flap on the second side, and a reinforcing material extending along a top edge of the device between the first flap and the second flap.
Beck teaches ballistic collars and discloses further comprising a first flap (120 strap connector; Beck) on the first side and a second flap (120 strap connector; Beck) on the second side, (Figure 20; Beck).
Therefore, based on Beck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ambring’s flap to include further comprising a first flap on the first side and a second flap on the second side, as doing so would provide additional coverage and protection for the wearer.
Perlinger teaches helmet closure and discloses a reinforcing material extending (strip reinforcement 26; Perlinger) along a top edge of the device (Figure 1; Perlinger).
Therefore, based on Perlinger’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ambring’s flap to include a reinforcing material extending along a top edge of the device, as doing so would provide additional rigidity to the upper edge of the closure for increased ease of use for the wearer.
Therefore, the modified device of Ambring/Beck/Perlinger would disclose a reinforcing material (strip reinforcement 26; Perlinger) along extending along a top edge of the device (neck guard 140; Ambring) between the first flap (120 strap connector; Beck) and the second flap (120 strap connector; Beck).
As to Claim 8, Ambring/Beck/Perlinger disclose the device of claim 7, wherein, the reinforcing material (strip reinforcement 26; Perlinger) is disposed inside an outer cover of the body (Col. 7 and Lines 40-45; Perlinger teaching that an additional layer being the loop fastener strip can be sewn to the reinforcing material. Thereby teaching wherein, the reinforcing material is disposed inside an outer cover of the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring ~ regarding the body).
As to Claim 9, Ambring/Beck/Perlinger disclose the device of claim 7, wherein the reinforcing material (strip reinforcement 26; Perlinger) is disposed outside an outer cover of the body (Col. 4 and Lines 1-7; Perlinger ~ regarding the reinforcing material being disposed outside and outer cover of the body “…a strip reinforcement 26, is sewn to the entire outer edges of the side panels…”) (predetermined contour 150; Ambring ~ regarding the body).
As to Claim 10, Ambring/Beck/Perlinger disclose the device of claim 7, wherein the reinforcing material (strip reinforcement 26; Perlinger) is configured to provide a rigid support of a chin area of the user (Figure 4 and Col. 6 and Lines 25-31; Perlinger suggesting that the reinforcing material would be capable of providing a rigid support of a chin area of the user. Col 4 and Lines 1-5; Perlinger teaching that the strip reinforcement is sewn to the entire outer edge of the side panel including the chin area.)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0110656 A1 Josefin Ambring, (herein after "Ambring"), as to claim 1 above and in view of United States Patent No. US 2018/0058818 A1 Jason Beck, (herein after "Beck”) Jason Beck.
As to Claim 14, Ambring discloses the device of claim 1, the body (predetermined contour 150; Ambring) but fails to disclose further comprising pockets configured to receive a cooling system or cooling material and/or a communication system coupled thereto or embedded therein.
Beck teaches ballistic collars and discloses further comprising pockets configured to receive a cooling system or cooling material and/or a communication system coupled thereto or embedded therein (paragraph 0038; Beck ~ regarding pockets that would be capable to receive a cooling system or cooling material and/or a communication system coupled thereto or embedded therein.)
Therefore, based on Beck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ambring’s flap to include further comprising pockets, as doing so would provide additional coverage and protection for the wearer.
Beck discloses the claimed invention except for multiple pockets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to disclose more than one pocket in order to provide additional coverage and protection for the wearer, since such a modification would amount to a mere duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and can be found in PTO-892 for submitted herewith. The cited
prior art reference to Luigi (US 4,697,289) is of particular relevance to the
claimed invention.
/AKWOKWO OLABISI REDHEAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732