DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to an application filed on January 17, 2025, in which claims 2 through 21 are pending, and ready for examination.
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for domestic benefit as a Continuation from U.S. Application No. 18/753,154 filed on June 25, 2024, now U.S. Patent No. 12,279,108, that application claiming domestic benefit as a Continuation from U.S Application No. 18/363,103 filed on August 1, 2023, now U.S. Patent No. 12,052,561, that application claiming domestic benefit as a Continuation of 17/539,229 filed on December 1, 2021, now U.S. Patent No. 11,729,611, that application claiming domestic benefit as a Continuation from 16/557,073 filed on August 30, 2019, now U.S. Patent No. 11,202,200, that application claiming domestic benefit as a Continuation from 16/155,112 filed on October 9, 2018, now U.S. Patent No. 10,489,504, that application claiming domestic benefit as a Continuation from U.S. Application No. 15/422,653 filed on February 2, 2017, now U.S. Patent No. 10,095,676, that application claiming domestic benefit as a Continuation from U.S. Application No. 14/608,417, now U.S. Patent No. 9,602,949, that application claiming domestic benefit from Provisional Application No. 61/933,136, filed on January 29, 2014.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 17, 2025was filed before the mailing date of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to:
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,052,561. Although the claim at issue is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Independent claims 2, 11, and 17 of the instant application are obvious variations of the limitation recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,052,561, claims 1, 7, and 14 of the instant application reciting components of the claimed system in lieu of “a mobile application running on a first device”, reciting “third-party system” in lieu of “API”, and removing the term “unpopulated” from “unpopulated field(s)”, as examples.
Claims 3-10, 12-16, and 18-21 of the instant application further recite various limitations that are also recited throughout the various dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,052,561, and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eigner, et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0122988 (hereinafter referred to as Eigner).
With regard to claim 11, Eigner discloses one or more processors (Eigner, [0095]); and a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the one or more processors (Eigner, [0095]) to: receive, via a mobile application running on a first user device, an indication of a user selection to auto-populate a first field of the mobile application using data from a third-party system (Eigner, [0010]-[0012]; [0033]-[0036]; [0074]-[0075]); responsive to receiving the indication, receive the data from the third-party system (Eigner, [0035]; [0093]; Claims 1, 4, and 5); and cause the mobile application to auto-populate the first field with the data (Eigner, [0031]; [0063]), wherein the data comprises a password associated with an account, a user of the first user device, or both (Eigner, [0050]; [0063]-[0064]).
With regard to claim 12, Eigner discloses the limitations of claim 11, as stated. Eigner further discloses wherein the third-party system is associated with an internet browser, and the one or more processors receive the data from a database associated with the internet browser (Eigner, [0031]-[0032]; [0035]).
With regard to claim 13, Eigner discloses the limitations of claim 11, as stated. Eigner further discloses wherein the mobile application comprises an account login screen (Eigner, [0075]; [0078]; [0080]; Fig. 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See PTO-892.
Vernal, et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0052036
Sharma, et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0109348
/J. BRANT MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435
May 30, 2026