DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sudol (US 5,033,545).
Regarding claim 1, Sudol figure 1 teaches a pump for a sludge removal apparatus, comprising:
a pump housing (2 pump casing) having a pumping inlet (8 inlet port)at a front end and a pumping outlet (19 rearward nozzle) at a rearend defining a rearwards direction; and
a pumping nozzle (10 mani nozzle) positioned within the housing and oriented to direct fluid along the housing towards the rear end;
wherein the housing comprises:
an inlet portion that decreases in cross-section from a front end to a rear end (inlet port 8 towards 11 throat);
an outlet portion that increases in cross-section from a front end to a rear end with the front end positioned immediately adjacent a throat portion (11 throat) if present, or immediately adjacent the rear end of the inlet portion if the throat portion is not present;
wherein the pumping nozzle is positioned within the housing in front of the inlet portion of the pump housing.[col 2 line 55-col 4 lines 10]
Regarding claim 2, Sudol teaches the object of the invention is for removing solids through a production tubing or conduit thereby suggesting the housing is substantially circular in cross- section.[col 1 lines 40-47]
Regarding claim 9, Sudol teaches a water solution of a surfactant or blend of surfactants either alone or with hydrocarbon diluent injected by nozzle(s) just before the pump's throat to wet the surface and provide a protection from cavitation, wear or erosion by solids-bearing fluids thereby reading on wherein water is pumped through the pumping nozzle to operate the pump.[col 6 lines 50-60]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudol (US 5,033,545), as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Sudol is silent to the pump is sized and shaped to be able to positioned within a 4 inch (10.2cm) diameter pipeline. As Sudol teaches the object of the invention is for removing solids through a production tubing or conduit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the pump to be sized and shaped to be able to positioned within a 4 inch (10.2cm) diameter pipeline because a change in size/proportion is an obvious modification.[col 1 lines 40-47] (MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 4, figure 1 teaches an internal wall of the outlet portion being slanted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for an internal wall of the outlet portion is at an angle between 2°and 10° relative to a longitudinal axis of the housing through routine optimization and experimentation.(MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 5, figure 1 teaches an internal wall of the inlet portion being slanted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for an internal wall of the inlet portion is at an angle between 15°and 75° relative to a longitudinal axis of the housing through routine optimization and experimentation.(MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the pumping nozzle has a diameter between 1mm and 15mm as a change in size/proportion is an obvious modification to accommodate the size of the conduit to be cleaned.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the pumping nozzle is positioned between 0mm and 60mm from the front end of the inlet portion as a change in size/proportion is an obvious modification to ensure removal of solids through a production tubing or conduit.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the throat portion has a longitudinal length of between 0mm and 50mm as a change in size/proportion is an obvious modification to ensure removal of solids through a production tubing or conduit.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 10, Sudol teaches applying fluid under pressure to clean plugged conduits thereby suggesting the water is pumped through the pumping nozzle at a flow rate between 40 litres per minute and 60 litres per minute to be an obvious modification through routine optimization and experimentation.(MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 11, Sudol teaches applying fluid under pressure to clean plugged conduits thereby suggesting wherein water is pumped through the pumping nozzle it a pressure of between 100 bar (10 MPa) and 150 bar (15 MPa) to be an obvious modification through routine optimization and experimentation.(MPEP 2144.05)
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barr (US 2017/0073928), and in further view of Sudol (US 5,033,545).
Regarding claim 12, Barr figures 5-6 teach a sludge removal apparatus, comprising:
a pump; [0034] and
a blade cutter apparatus,
wherein the blade cutter comprises:
a blade cutter housing (52 housing) having a front and a rear;
an outlet through (58 port) which sludge can be removed from the rear of the blade cutter housing;
a first blade (64 cutting blade) on the blade cutter housing, the first blade having a cutting edge that points forwards and a first blade surface to the rear of the cutting edge that faces the interior of the blade cutter housing; [0036]
and it least one first nozzle (68 first set of nozzles) positioned and oriented to direct a jet of water onto the blade surface, the jet having a component of motion in the rearward direction relative to the blade surface.[0037]
Figures 5-6 teach collection chamber 54 tapers towards a port 58 at the rear end, from which water and fluidized sludge can be removed by a pump (not shown) for further processing externally to the apparatus.[0034] However, Barr is silent to the pump of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pump of Sudol in the sludge removal apparatus of Barr to remove water and fluidized sludge can be removed by a pump (not shown) for further processing externally to the apparatus.[0034]
Regarding claim 13, figures 5-6 teach collection chamber 54 tapers towards a port 58 at the rear end, from which water and fluidized sludge can be removed by a pump (not shown) for further processing externally to the apparatus thereby reading on the pump is directly attached to the outlet.[0034]
Regarding claim 14, Barr and Sudol teach delivering high pressure water to remove sludge thereby reading on wherein the at least one first nozzle is supplied with water from the inlet pipe of the pump.[0019] [col 6 lines 50-60]
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the pump to be between 0mm and 3000mm from the outlet of the blade cutter through routine optimization and experimentation for effective removal of water and fluidized sludge.(MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711