Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herbold (DE 10 2007036318).
As to claim 1, Herbold discloses an electrically excited synchronous motor (Para 0002), comprising: a stator comprising a stator core and a stator winding (Fig. 1; Para 0024), wherein the stator core is provided with a plurality of stator slots uniformly distributed around a rotational axis of the electrically excited synchronous motor (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), and the stator winding is accommodated in the stator slots (Fig. 1); and a rotor comprising a rotor core and a rotor excitation winding (Fig. 1); wherein the stator slot is inclined relative to the rotational axis at a predetermined inclination angle (Fig. 2).
As to claim 2, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator core comprises a plurality of stator laminations stacked together in sequence (Para 0024), and the stator laminations are provided with slot holes for forming the stator slots (Fig. 2).
As to claim 3, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 2, wherein any one stator lamination among the plurality of stator laminations is rotated by a first rotation angle in a circumferential direction relative to a previous stator lamination (Fig. 2).
As to claim 5, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator core defines, in a radial inner portion thereof, an accommodation space for accommodating the rotor (Fig. 1), and the stator slots comprise opening portions leading to the accommodation space (Fig. 2), and the opening portions are inclined at a first inclination angle relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
As to claim 6, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator winding comprises a plurality of winding conductors (Fig. 1; Para 0002 “windings”), and the winding conductors comprise main body portions inserted into the stator slots (Fig. 1) and inclined relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
As to claim 10, Herbold discloses a drive system (Para 0018), comprising the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 1.
As to claim 11, Herbold discloses a vehicle (Para 0002), comprising the drive system according to claim 10.
As to claim 12, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 2, wherein the stator core defines, in a radial inner portion thereof, an accommodation space for accommodating the rotor (Fig. 1), and the stator slots comprise opening portions leading to the accommodation space (Fig. 2), and the opening portions are inclined at a first inclination angle relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
As to claim 13, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 2, wherein the stator winding comprises a plurality of winding conductors (Fig. 1; Para 0002 “windings”), and the winding conductors comprise main body portions inserted into the stator slots (Fig. 1) and inclined relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
As to claim 15, Herbold discloses a drive system (Para 0018), comprising the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 2.
As to claim 16, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 3, wherein the stator core defines, in a radial inner portion thereof, an accommodation space for accommodating the rotor (Fig. 1), and the stator slots comprise opening portions leading to the accommodation space (Fig. 2), and the opening portions are inclined at a first inclination angle relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
As to claim 17, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 3, wherein the stator winding comprises a plurality of winding conductors (Fig. 1; Para 0002 “windings”), and the winding conductors comprise main body portions inserted into the stator slots (Fig. 1) and inclined relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
As to claim 19, Herbold discloses a drive system (Para 0018), comprising the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbold.
As to claim 4, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 3, wherein the stator core is provided with n stator slots, wherein n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and a rotation angle.
Herbold fails to disclose the rotation angle of the last stator lamination among the plurality of stator laminations relative to the first is between 0 and 720/n.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They would merely depend on how one designs the rotation angle among the stator laminations. Furthermore, the instant specification fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the rotation angle of the last stator lamination among the plurality of stator laminations relative to the first is between 0 and 720/n.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Herbold, such that the rotation angle of the last stator lamination among the plurality of stator laminations relative to the first is between 0 and 720/n, to reduce torque ripple and improve magnetic efficiency.
As to claim 20, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 4, wherein the stator core defines, in a radial inner portion thereof, an accommodation space for accommodating the rotor (Fig. 1), and the stator slots comprise opening portions leading to the accommodation space (Fig. 2), and the opening portions are inclined at a first inclination angle relative to the rotational axis (Fig. 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbold and in view of Kasper (WO 2023227464).
As to claim 7, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 6.
Herbold fails to disclose wherein the plurality of winding conductors comprise at least one or more of a first winding conductor, a second winding conductor and a third winding conductor, wherein the first winding conductor comprises the main body portion and winding end portions located at two ends of the main body portion; the second winding conductor comprises two main body portions respectively inserted into different stator slot, a connecting portion located at one end of each of the main body portions and connecting the two main body portions together, and two winding end portions respectively located at the other ends of the two main body portions; and the third winding conductor comprises a plurality of main body portions respectively inserted into different stator slots, wherein one main body portion is sequentially connected to front and rear main body portions at two ends thereof through connecting portions.
Kasper discloses wherein the plurality of winding conductors comprise at least one or more of a first winding conductor, a second winding conductor and a third winding conductor (Fig. 4a), wherein the first winding conductor comprises the main body portion and winding end portions located at two ends of the main body portion (Fig. 4a); the second winding conductor comprises two main body portions respectively inserted into different stator slot (Fig. 4a), a connecting portion located at one end of each of the main body portions and connecting the two main body portions together (Fig. 4a), and two winding end portions respectively located at the other ends of the two main body portions (Fig. 4a); and the third winding conductor comprises a plurality of main body portions respectively inserted into different stator slots (Fig. 4a), wherein one main body portion is sequentially connected to front and rear main body portions at two ends thereof through connecting portions (Fig. 4a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor of Herbold with the plurality of winding conductors comprise at least one or more of a first winding conductor, a second winding conductor and a third winding conductor, wherein the first winding conductor comprises the main body portion and winding end portions located at two ends of the main body portion; the second winding conductor comprises two main body portions respectively inserted into different stator slot, a connecting portion located at one end of each of the main body portions and connecting the two main body portions together, and two winding end portions respectively located at the other ends of the two main body portions; and the third winding conductor comprises a plurality of main body portions respectively inserted into different stator slots, wherein one main body portion is sequentially connected to front and rear main body portions at two ends thereof through connecting portions, as disclosed by Kasper, to optimize power factor and efficiency.
Claims 8-9, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbold and in view of Kameda (WO 2023162403).
As to claim 8, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 1.
Harbold fails to disclose an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot.
Kameda discloses an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot (“the stator 1 according to the present embodiment, between the stator core 2 and the rectangular wire coil 3, specifically, between the slot 7 of the stator core 2 and the slot insertion portion 3C of the rectangular wire coil 3, insulation is provided between the two. Insulating paper 8 can be included as an example of the insulating member. As for the specific material and shape of this insulating paper 8, well-known materials can be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor of Herbold with an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot, as disclosed by Kameda, to electrically isolate the windings from the laminations, resulting in improved performance.
As to claim 9, the combination of Herbold and Kameda discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 8, wherein the insulating member is formed by folding insulating paper and has a twisted hexahedral shape (“As for the specific material and shape of this insulating paper 8, well-known materials can be used” Kameda).
As to claim 14, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 2.
Harbold fails to disclose an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot.
Kameda discloses an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot (“the stator 1 according to the present embodiment, between the stator core 2 and the rectangular wire coil 3, specifically, between the slot 7 of the stator core 2 and the slot insertion portion 3C of the rectangular wire coil 3, insulation is provided between the two. Insulating paper 8 can be included as an example of the insulating member. As for the specific material and shape of this insulating paper 8, well-known materials can be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor of Herbold with an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot, as disclosed by Kameda, to electrically isolate the windings from the laminations, resulting in improved performance.
As to claim 18, Herbold discloses the electrically excited synchronous motor according to claim 3.
Harbold fails to disclose an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot.
Kameda discloses an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot (“the stator 1 according to the present embodiment, between the stator core 2 and the rectangular wire coil 3, specifically, between the slot 7 of the stator core 2 and the slot insertion portion 3C of the rectangular wire coil 3, insulation is provided between the two. Insulating paper 8 can be included as an example of the insulating member. As for the specific material and shape of this insulating paper 8, well-known materials can be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor of Herbold with an insulating member inserted into the stator slot and accommodating the stator winding, wherein the insulating member is configured to fit the stator core in the stator slot, as disclosed by Kameda, to electrically isolate the windings from the laminations, resulting in improved performance.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834