DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to amendment received August 12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemec et al., U.S. Patent No. 8,688,306 (referred to hereafter as Nemec) in view of Denise, U.S. Patent No. 8,417,448.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, Nemec teaches a method, medium and system comprising:
determining, by a navigation application executing on a computing device, a first route between an origin and a destination (see col. 15 lines 38-40);
displaying, by the navigation application, a first set of information corresponding to the first route as the computing device moves along the first route, the first set of information being displayed on a map (see fig. 5-6);
based on a current location of the computing device, determining that the computing device has deviated from the first route (see col. 16 lines 55-col. 17 lines 11); and
responsive to determining that the computing device has deviated from the route: (see col. 16 lines 55-col. 17 lines 11 and fig. 11);
executing the rerouting operation to determine a second route from the current location to the destination (see col. 16 lines 55-67); and
displaying a second set of information corresponding to the second route, the second set of information being displayed on the map (see col. 16 lines 55-67, alternate route is displayed to the driver).
Nemec does not explicitly teach prior to displaying the second route, displaying a label indicating that the rerouting operation is being performed.
However, Denise teaches a system and method for displaying routes and determining if a driver missed a turn. In response to the determination, prior to displaying the second route, displaying a label indicating that the rerouting operation is being performed (see col. 3 lines 52-67).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to displaying a label indicating that the rerouting operation is being performed prior to the displaying step in Nemec as taught by Denise. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Denise that doing so would assist the user more effectively by perceiving description of the direction that the driver is supposed to follow.
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, Nemec in view of Denise teach the method, medium and system of claims 1, 8 and 15. Nemec further teaches the label is displayed subsequent to removing the first set of information corresponding to the first route from the map (see fig. 6, 8 and 10-11, route is initially displayed. If user deviates, then display in fig. 11 is generated).
As to claims 3, 10 and 17, Nemec in view of Denise teach the method, medium and system of claims 1, 8 and 15. Nemec further teaches the label is displayed prior to displaying the second set of information on the map (see fig. 6, 8 and 10-11).
As to claims 4, 11 and 18, Nemec in view of Denise teach the method, medium and system of claims 1, 8 and 15. Nemec further teaches the operations further comprise: while displaying the label, displaying the current location of the computing device on the map (see fig. 7 and 10).
As to claims 5, 12 and 19, Nemec in view of Denise teach the method, medium and system of claims 1, 8 and 15. Nemec further teaches no route information is displayed on the map while displaying the label (see fig. 7 and 10).
As to claims 6, 13 and 20, N Nemec in view of Denise teach the method, medium and system of claims 1, 8 and 15. Nemec further teaches displaying, by the navigation application, a presentation of the first route on a display of the computing device; displaying the label on the display while displaying the presentation (see fig. 5).
As to claims 7 and 14, Nemec in view of Denise teach the method, medium and system of claims 6 and 13. Nemec further teaches subsequent to executing the rerouting operation: displaying a second presentation of the second route (see col. 16 lines 55-67).
3. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669