DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,237,831. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain substantially similar subject matter (see chart below).
Claims 2-8, 10-14 and 16-20 are also rejected as being dependent on claims 1, 9, 15 and may also correspond to claims 2-5, 7-11 and 13-16 of the ‘831 patent.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,237,831
1. A multi-die system, comprising: a processing circuit disposed on a first die; and a network-on-chip disposed at least in part on the first die, wherein the network- on-chip is configurable to facilitate memory transactions between the first die and a second die, wherein the network-on-chip comprises a plurality of data channels, wherein a first subset of data channels of the plurality of data channels are configurable to transmit data between portions of the processing circuit via the network-on-chip, and wherein a second subset of data channels of the plurality of data channels are configurable to transmit data between the first die and the second die.
1. A multi-die system, comprising: a processing circuit disposed on a first die; and a network-on-chip disposed at least in part on the first die, wherein the network-on-chip is configurable to facilitate memory transactions between the first die and a second die, wherein the network-on-chip comprises a plurality of data lanes (channels), wherein the network-on-chip is configurable to transmit data between the first die and the second die via a bus formed from the plurality of data lanes (channels), and wherein the network-on-chip is configurable to reduce power consumed at least in part by reducing a width of the bus based on traffic latency and bandwidth.
4. The multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the network-on-chip comprises a first set (subset) of data lanes (channels) of the plurality of data lanes and a second set (subset) of data lanes (channels) of the plurality of data lanes.
9. A method, comprising: operating a programmable interconnect network at a first data width, wherein the programmable interconnect network is configurable to span multiple die of a same package; reprogramming a first data channel of the programmable interconnect network; and operating a subset of the programmable interconnect network at a second data width lower than the first data width, wherein the second data width excludes a width of the first data channel.
6. A method, comprising: operating a programmable interconnect network at a first data width, wherein the programmable interconnect network is configurable to span multiple die of a same package; determining, (reprogramming) based on memory latency, to reduce a power state of the programmable interconnect network; and reducing the power state of the programmable interconnect network at least in part by operating the programmable interconnect network at a second data width less than (lower) the first data width.
15. An integrated circuit, comprising: a first set of channels of a plurality of channels of a network-on-chip; and a second set of channels of the plurality of channels, wherein the second set of channels and the first set of channels are configurable to facilitate communication between a first die and a second die.
12. An integrated circuit, comprising: a first set of lanes (channels) of a plurality of lanes corresponding to a network-on-chip; and a second set of lanes (channels) of the plurality of lanes corresponding to the network-on-chip, wherein the second set of lanes (channels) and the first set of lanes are configurable to facilitate memory transactions (communication) between a first die and a second die, and wherein using the first set of lanes to transmit data while the second set of lanes is inactive is based on memory latency and reduces power consumed by the network-on-chip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Swarbrick et al. (US 2019/0266125).
In regards to claim 1, Swarbrick discloses of a multi-die system, comprising: a processing circuit (for example 410) disposed on a first die; and a network-on-chip (for example 105) disposed at least in part on the first die, wherein the network- on-chip (105) is configurable to facilitate memory transactions between the first die and a second die, wherein the network-on-chip (105) comprises a plurality of data channels, wherein a first subset of data channels of the plurality of data channels are configurable to transmit data between portions of the processing circuit (410) via the network-on-chip (105, see Fig 4), and wherein a second subset of data channels of the plurality of data channels are configurable to transmit data between the first die and the second die (for example between 405A-B via 105, see Fig 4).
In regards to claim 2, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the second subset of data channels is configured to couple to the second die via an interface block (see Fig 4).
In regards to claim 3, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuit comprises programmable logic fabric (see Paragraph 0026).
In regards to claim 4, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 3, wherein the first subset of data channels is configured to enable communications between a first portion of the programmable logic fabric and a second portion of the programmable logic fabric (for example see Fig 4).
In regards to claim 5, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the network-on-chip is configurable to reduce power consumed at least in part by reducing a width of a bus formed based on the plurality of data channels based on traffic latency and bandwidth (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress which would result in power conservation).
In regards to claim 6, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the network-on-chip is configurable to reduce power consumed at least in part by reducing a width of a bus formed based on the plurality of data channels based on memory latency (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress which would result in power conservation).
In regards to claim 7, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the second subset of data channels is configured to receive data associated with a memory transaction (for example via 415) of the second die (for example see Fig 4 and Paragraphs 0039-0044).
In regards to claim 8, Swarbrick discloses of the multi-die system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of data channels comprises four data channels, and wherein the second subset of data channels comprises one of the four data channels (for example see Fig 4).
In regards to claim 9, Swarbrick discloses of a method, comprising: operating a programmable interconnect network at a first data width, wherein the programmable interconnect network is configurable to span multiple die of a same package (for example see Fig 4); reprogramming a first data channel of the programmable interconnect network; and operating a subset of the programmable interconnect network at a second data width lower than the first data width, wherein the second data width excludes a width of the first data channel (see Paragraphs 0037-0038, 0042, 0052 with respect to the data width adjustments).
In regards to claim 10, Swarbrick discloses of the method of claim 9, comprising determining to reduce a power state of the programmable interconnect network at least in part by determining to repurpose the first data channel of the programmable interconnect network (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress which would result in power conservation).
In regards to claim 11, Swarbrick discloses of the method of claim 10, comprising reducing the power state of the programmable interconnect network at least in part by operating the subset of the programmable interconnect network at the second data width lower than the first data width (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress which would result in power conservation).
In regards to claim 12, Swarbrick discloses of the method of claim 9, comprising determining to repurpose the first data channel of the programmable interconnect network based on memory latency (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress).
In regards to claim 13, Swarbrick discloses of the method of claim 9, comprising determining to repurpose the first data channel of the programmable interconnect network based on traffic latency and bandwidth (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress).
In regards to claim 14, Swarbrick discloses of the method of claim 9, comprising: generating a data packet associated with a memory transaction (for example via 415); and sending the data packet via the first data channel (see Fig 4 and Paragraphs 0039-0044).
In regards to claim 15, Swarbrick discloses of an integrated circuit, comprising: a first set of channels of a plurality of channels of a network-on-chip (104); and a second set of channels of the plurality of channels, wherein the second set of channels and the first set of channels are configurable to facilitate communication between a first die and a second die (for example see Fig 4 and Paragraphs 0039-0042).
In regards to claim 16, Swarbrick discloses of the integrated circuit of claim 15, wherein, for a first communication, the second set of channels are configured to transmit data between the first die and second die (for example see Fig 4).
In regards to claim 17, Swarbrick discloses of the integrated circuit of claim 16, wherein, for a second communication, the second set of channels are configured to be used with the first set of channels to transmit data between a first portion of circuitry of the first die and a second portion of circuitry of the first die (see Fig 4).
In regards to claim 18, Swarbrick discloses of the integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein using the second set of channels with the first set of channels for the second communication is determined based on memory latency (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress).
In regards to claim 19, Swarbrick discloses of the integrated circuit of claim 16, wherein the first communication corresponds to a memory transaction (for example via 415) associated with a memory disposed external to the network-on-chip (104, see Fig 4 and Paragraphs 0039-0044).
In regards to claim 20, Swarbrick discloses of the integrated circuit of claim 16, wherein using the second set of channels separate from the first set of channels for the first communication is determined based on traffic latency and bandwidth (for example see Paragraphs 0031-0052, adjustments made with regards to frequency, traffic with respective to its ingress and egress).
Conclusion
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844