DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 16 posted on 01/17/2025 are presently pending in the application and have been examined below, of which claims 1, 15 and 16 are presented in independent form.
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 17/850155, now patent No. 12271465, which is a continuation of application 16677500 now patent No. 11468162, which is a continuation of application 16427152 now patent No. 11120123, which claimed priority date from provisional application 62679841 dated by 06/03/2018. Accordingly, the effective priority date for the subject matter defined in the pending claims of the instant application is 06/03/2018.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/17/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 09/11/2025 has been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).[AltContent: rect]
Claims 1 – 16 rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12271465 (Reference Patent) in view of Wang (US 20180041479). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 – 17 of the Reference Patent anticipate the instant claims 1 – 16 as shown below for the first claim set where most of the limitations in claim 1 of instant application are anticipated by limitations in claims 1 and 16 of the reference patent.
Claim #
Instant Application
Reference Patent (12271465)
Claim #
1
A method comprising:
at a first electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices:
receiving, at the first electronic device, an indication that a second electronic device is in need of authentication credentials for a service;
in response to receiving the indication that the second electronic device is in need of authentication credentials for the service,
in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device meets respective criteria,
wherein the respective criteria include a requirement that the first electronic device is within a predetermined proximity to the second electronic device in order for the respective criteria to be met, displaying, via the display device,
a verification prompt that requires input of verification information on the first electronic device in order to proceed;
while displaying the verification prompt, receiving, via the one or more input devices, the verification information on the first electronic device; and in response to receiving the verification information,
initiating a process for sharing authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device.
A method comprising:
at an electronic device with a display device and one or more input devices:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a request to access a resource protected by a verification code;
after receiving the request to access the resource, receiving, at the electronic device, an electronic message;
after receiving the electronic message and while displaying, via the display device, a user interface for inputting the verification code, detecting selection of a text entry field; and in response to detecting selection of the text entry field: in accordance with a determination that the electronic message includes content that meets respective criteria,
wherein the respective criteria include a format requirement that the electronic message includes content that matches a predetermined format,
and a characteristic requirement that the text entry field has predetermined characteristics, displaying an insertion affordance that, when selected, automatically inserts the content that matches the predetermined format as a verification code in the user interface,
wherein the insertion affordance includes an indication of an application via which the electronic message was received.
1
The reference patent (12271465) discloses an efficient method for managing authentication credentials for user accounts. Comparison between instant application and reference patent indicates that both are based on the same SPECS using identical drawings with respective disclosure. Both, document sets, i.e., the instant application and the reference patent, have the same applicant/assignee and same inventor (M. G. Daum). Comparison of the claims indicates that both documents disclose: receiving request for device verification, checking credentials if predefined criteria are met, displaying the results and sending respective messages. The claim sets include only the following distinctive features: implementation of different criteria for authentication in both recited document sets, i.e., proof of matches the predetermined formats of the messages, i.e., verification information sets of the first and second devices (reference patent); and the requirement that the first electronic device is within a predetermined proximity to the second electronic device (instant application). However, prior art of Wang addresses the recited limitations. Accordingly, obviousness rejections in this office action are based on the application of Wang as indicated below, see MPEP § 804, § 2136, § 2137, § 2138, and § 2154.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim set in reference patent, in view of the teaching of Wang which discloses linking authentication to specified proximity positions, i.e. locations or addresses, in order to improve digital content management and security of authentication in the system.
The independent claim 1 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of double patenting as being directed to the same invention as that set forth in claim 1 of the United States Patent No. 12271465 in view of Wang. Independent claims 15 and 16 each encompass same or similar scope as claim 1 and rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
The dependent claims of the current application recite language similar to the dependent claims of the reference patent and are covered by the reference patent in view of Wang. Accordingly, the instant application is identified as obviousness-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented,
described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20180041479) (hereafter Wang).
As per claim 1 Wang discloses: A method comprising: at a first electronic device in communication with a display device and one or more input devices: receiving, at the first electronic device, an indication that a second electronic device is in need of authentication credentials for a service (Wang, in para. [0054-0055] discloses communication between devices requesting login to the system and exchanging respective content, i.e., indications);
in response to receiving the indication that the second electronic device is in need of authentication credentials for the service, in accordance with a determination that the first electronic device meets respective criteria, wherein the respective criteria include a requirement that the first electronic device is within a predetermined proximity to the second electronic device in order for the respective criteria to be met, displaying, via the display device, a verification prompt that requires input of verification information on the first electronic device in order to proceed; (Wang, in para. [0056] discloses authentication by the system 120, i.e., by the first device, of a login request from the front-end device 110, i.e., the second device; the authentication is based on a condition, i.e., criteria, that location of the front-end device is in the proximity to the device of the system 120)
while displaying the verification prompt, receiving, via the one or more input devices, the verification information on the first electronic device (Wang, in para. [0055-0056] discloses a procedure of login request, displaying respective prompt, and processing according to the predefined login criteria, i.e., location within a proximity of front-end device to the communication device); and in response to receiving the verification information, initiating a process for sharing authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0061] discloses generation of a login confirmation information and further swiping the display screen by communication with authentication system withing the network, i.e., sharing the credential information).
As per claim 2 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein initiating the process for sharing authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device includes: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs to share authentication credentials for the service (Wang, in para. [0050] discloses processing of multiple inputs of user devices communicating with a server); and in response to detecting the sequence of one or more inputs, sharing authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0061] discloses generation of a login confirmation information and further swiping the display screen by communication with authentication system withing the network, i.e., sharing the credential information).
As per claim 3 Wang discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein receiving the sequence of one or more inputs includes: displaying, via the display device, a service list including a plurality of service affordances respectively corresponding to a plurality of services respectively associated with a plurality of authentication credentials; and detecting, via the one or more inputs devices, a user input corresponding to a selection of one of the plurality of service affordances corresponding to the service associated with the authentication credentials for the service (Wang, in para. [0050] discloses processing of multiple inputs from user devices communicating with a server for authentication including displaying the relevant credential information on display screens).
As per claim 4 Wang discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein displaying the service list includes sorting the service list based at least in part on relevance of the respective services (Wang, in para. [0031] discloses ordering the procession step according to a preset configuration).
As per claim 5 Wang discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein sharing the authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device includes transmitting, from the first electronic device to the second electronic device, the authentication credentials for the service wirelessly over a secure connection (Wang, in para. [0056] discloses authentication by the system 120, i.e., by the first device, of a login request from the front-end device 110, i.e., the second device; the authentication is based on a condition, i.e., criteria, that location of the front-end device is in the proximity to the device of the system 120).
As per claim 6 Wang discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein sharing the authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0061] discloses generation of a login confirmation information and further swiping the display screen by communication with authentication system withing the network, i.e., sharing the credential information) includes sharing a user identifier and a password from the first electronic device to the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0043] discloses processing of identifiers associated with respective user and equipment).
As per claim 7 Wang discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein sharing the authentication credentials for the service from the first electronic device to the second electronic device includes: obtaining, via the one or more input devices, authentication information; and authenticating a user based on the authentication information (Wang, in para. [0056] discloses authentication by the system 120, i.e., by the first device, of a login request from the front-end device 110, i.e., the second device; the authentication is based on a condition, i.e., criteria, that location of the front-end device is in the proximity to the device of the system 120).
As per claim 8 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising, in accordance with determination that the first electronic device does not meet the respective criteria, forgoing display of the verification prompt (Wang, in para. [0056] discloses a procedure of login request, displaying respective prompt, and processing according to the predefined login criteria).
As per claim 9 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the respective criteria include a requirement that the first electronic device is within a proximity to a third electronic device that is associated with the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0055-0056] discloses a procedure of login request, displaying respective prompt, and processing according to the predefined login criteria, i.e., location within a proximity of front-end device to the communication device).
As per claim 10 Wang discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the second electronic device is a media playback device and the third electronic device is a remote control for the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0056] discloses authentication in a communication system including remote login options).
As per claim 11 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the verification prompt is for establishing a secure connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein receiving the verification information on the first electronic device includes receiving an input (Wang, in para. [0050] discloses processing of multiple inputs of user devices communicating with a authentication server) that satisfies conditions for establishing the secure connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0064] discloses two-factors authentication procedure to improve security of communication in the system).
As per claim 12 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to receiving the indication that the second electronic device is in need of authentication credentials for the service: displaying, on the display device, a sharing confirmation notification including a sharing confirmation affordance that (Wang, in para. [0061] discloses generation of a login confirmation information and further swiping the display screen by communication with authentication system withing the network, i.e., sharing the credential information), when selected, causes display of the verification prompt; and detecting, via the one or more input devices, a user input corresponding to selection of the sharing confirmation affordance (Wang, in para. [0050] discloses processing of multiple inputs from user devices communicating with a server for authentication including displaying the relevant credential information on display screens).
As per claim 13 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising, after the process for sharing the authentication credentials for the service, displaying, on the display device, a notification indicating that the process for sharing the authentication credentials for the service is completed (Wang, in para. [0061] discloses generation of a login confirmation information and further swiping the display screen by communication with authentication system withing the network, i.e., sharing the credential information)
As per claim 14 Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the verification information is displayed by the second electronic device (Wang, in para. [0050] discloses processing of multiple inputs from user devices communicating with a server for authentication including displaying the relevant credential information on display screens).
As per claim 15, claim 15 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
As per claim 16, claim 16 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Deshpande US_20180183596, Hamilton US_10803461, O’Malley US_12094018, Ziraknejad US_9876788
/VLADIMIR I GAVRILENKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2431