DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on 4/14/2025.
Claims 1-27 have been canceled.
Claims 28-41 are being considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 28,
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the malicious activity detection subsystem". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “a threat prediction subsystem responsive to the network interface and operative in connection with the processor and memory to predict information about future threat levels based on application of a trained predictive model to activity for addresses”. It is unclear how the threat prediction subsystem is implemented to predict future threat levels based on the trained predictive model to activity for addresses. According to Applicant’s detailed description, pages 8-9, the system applies machine learning to predict whether nodes will become malicious. Nowhere discloses a threat prediction subsystem responsive to the network interface and operative in connection with the processor and memory to predict information about future threat levels based on application of a trained predictive model to activity for addresses. Clarification is required.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “to derive the predicted threat information based at least in part on threats detected at proximate addresses and a measure of proximity between network addresses”. It is unclear what it means by deriving the predicted threat information based at least in part on threats detected at proximate addresses and a measure of proximity between network addresses. Does it mean using past proximate addresses and new proximate addressed to derive the predicted threat information? Applicant’s specification does not clearly set forth how the predicted threat information is derived. Clarification is required.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “the trained predictive model is applied to address proximity to derive the predicted threat information based at least in part on threats detected at proximate addresses and a measure of proximity between network addresses”. The terms “address proximity”/ “proximate addresses”/ “measure of proximity” are a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. These terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Clarification is required.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “a user interface operative to provide the scores to end users”. According to Applicant’s summary of the invention, page 2, the system can include a user interface area responsive to the scoring subsystem and the quantizer and operative to display the threat score. Nowhere discloses a user interface operative to provide the scores to end users. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 recites the limitation “a threat level quantizer responsive to the scoring subsystem and configured to quantize the weighted threat score for an address”. Regarding the detailed description of Applicant’s specification, nowhere discloses a threat level quantizer responsive to the scoring subsystem and configured to quantize the weighted threat score for an address. It is unclear how the system quantizes the weighted threat score for an address. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 41, claim 41 recites the limitation “wherein the user interface is provided through browser plugins”. Regarding the detailed description of Applicant’s specification, nowhere discloses the user interface is provided through browser plugins. Clarification is required.
Dependent claims 29-41 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 28 (set forth directly above) and are rejected accordingly.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12289320. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications disclose a common subject matter, such as, a network security system that includes a source of malicious addresses that lists network addresses associated with malicious activity, an address proximity engine responsive to the source of malicious activity data that is operative to determine a measure of physical or logical proximity between network addresses, and a threat scoring subsystem responsive to the address proximity engine and to the source of malicious addresses that is operative to derive a score for a particular network address based on its physical or logical proximity to at least one of the malicious addresses from the source of malicious addresses.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that each and every limitation of the instant claims appear to be substantially anticipated by the corresponding claims of the patent application.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that the instant claims and the claims of the patent application are not directed to patentably distinct inventions; thus, properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting, as further outlined below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 19029497
Patent Application 12289320
Claim 28:
A network security system including a processor and memory, comprising:
a network interface that connects the network security system to a public wide area network that can be accessed with addresses, a threat prediction subsystem responsive to the network interface and operative in connection with the processor and memory to predict information about future threat levels
based on application of a trained predictive model to activity for addresses on the public wide area network, and to store the predicted information that is determined to represent a threat,
wherein the trained predictive model is applied to address proximity to derive the predicted threat information based at least in part on threats detected at proximate addresses and a measure
of proximity between network addresses,
a scoring subsystem responsive to the information stored by the malicious activity detection subsystem and operative in connection with the processor and memory to provide
weighted machine-readable threat scores for each of a plurality of the addresses for accessing content on the public wide area network, wherein the scoring subsystem aggregates the machine-readable threat scores based on the stored predicted information that is determined to represent a threat to obtain the weighted machine-readable threat score for each of the plurality of addresses based on predetermined weightings for different threat types, and
a user interface operative to provide the scores to end users.
Claim 1:
A network security system including a processor and memory, comprising: a network interface that connects the network security system to a public wide area network that can be accessed with addresses, a malicious activity detection subsystem operatively connected to the network interface and operative in connection with the processor and memory to extract information from language content of different textual sources accessed using addresses on the network, to analyze the extracted information to determine whether it represents information that represents a potential threat, and to store the information that is determined to represent a threat, a threat prediction subsystem responsive the network interface and operative in connection with the processor and memory to predict information about future threat levels based on application of a trained predictive model to activity addresses on the public wide area network, and to store the predicted information that is determined to represent a threat, a scoring subsystem responsive to the information stored by the malicious activity detection subsystem and operative in connection with the processor and memory to provide weighted machine-readable threat scores that include a weighted machine-readable threat score for each of a plurality of the addresses for accessing content on the public wide area network, wherein the scoring subsystem aggregates machine-readable threat levels for the stored predicted information that is determined to represent a threat and the stored information that is determined to represent a threat to obtain the weighted machine-readable threat score for each of the plurality of addresses based on predetermined weightings for different threat types for the stored predicted information that is determined to represent a threat and the stored information that is determined to represent a threat for the different textual sources for that address, and wherein the weighted machine-readable threat scores for at least some of the plurality of addresses are based on one or more of the predicted future threat levels.
Claim 10:
The network security system of claim 1, further, comprising: a source of malicious addresses that lists addresses for accessing content on the network associated with malicious activity, an address proximity engine responsive to the source of malicious activity data that is both configured to determine measures of logical proximity between addresses for accessing content on the network and configured to determine measures of physical proximity between where addresses for accessing content on the network reside, and wherein the scoring subsystem is responsive to the address proximity engine and to the source of malicious addresses that is operative to derive a machine-readable logical proximity score for each of at least some of the addresses for accessing content on the network based on the determined measure of logical proximity to at least one of the malicious addresses for accessing content on the network from the source of malicious addresses, and wherein at least some of the weighted machine-readable threat scores are based on one or more machine-readable logical proximity scores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-30 and 32-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 20140298460) (hereinafter Xue) in view of Maestas (US 20140283085) (hereinafter Maestas).
Regarding claim 28, Xue discloses a network security system including a processor and memory, comprising: a network interface that connects the network security system to a public wide area network that can be accessed with addresses (Xue: paragraphs 0021-0026, “an example environment 100 where a malicious URL detection module 102 detects that malicious URLs have been received by, or submitted to, a computing component. In this example environment 100, the malicious URLs may be received and displayed via a user interface 104”).
a threat prediction subsystem responsive to the network interface and operative in connection with the processor and memory to predict information about future threat levels based on application of a trained predictive model to activity for addresses on the public wide area network, and to store the predicted information that is determined to represent a threat, wherein the trained predictive model is applied to address proximity to derive the predicted threat information based at least in part on threats detected at proximate addresses and a measure of proximity between network addresses (Xue: paragraphs 0041-0042 and 0045-0047, “the training URLs may be determined in association with a list of selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources that are often targeted by cyber attacks. Accordingly, the techniques discussed herein can train the one or more classification models 228 specifically for the selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources”…“the machine learning algorithms 218 may be Support Vector Machine (SVM) used to train the classification models 228 (e.g., develop decision criteria for classifying whether an unknown URL is malicious, and if so, what legitimate entity or authentic resource it targets)….Example kernel functions used in SVM include, but are not limited to, radial basis function (RBF), Linear, Polynomia, Sigmoid and so forth. SVM also includes cross-validation that tunes parameters of the classification models 228 to improve prediction accuracy for classifying an unknown URL as a malicious URL that targets a legitimate entity or an authentic resource.”)… “lexical features 224 extracted by the features extraction module include 216 include a brand name edit distance (e.g., for the whole URL, for the domain of the URL, or for the path of the URL). As discussed above, cyber attackers often include "deceptive" brand name strings in malicious URLs that are similar, but not identical to, "real" brand name strings associated with an authentic entity or a benign URL (e.g., "conp.anyXYZ" is similar to "companyXYZ", "mitens" is similar to "mittens", "ompanyABC" is similar to "companyABC", and "awisome_shoes" is similar to "awesome_shoes", as illustrated in FIG. 1). Therefore, detection and analysis of a deceptive brand name string aids in malicious URL detection. In particular, determining an edit distance between a deceptive brand name string and a real brand name string.”),
a scoring subsystem responsive to the information stored by the malicious activity detection subsystem and operative in connection with the processor and memory to provide weighted machine-readable threat scores for each of a plurality of the addresses for accessing content on the public wide area network (Xue: paragraphs 0046 and 0054-0058, “The domain confidence level is directed towards determining a reliability indicator for a domain of a URL. Phishing attacks tend to use a same set of domains or second level domains for the malicious URLs.”…“Malicious URL detection is aided by determining a degree of difference between a deceptive brand name string and a real brand name string.”…“ For example, the feature extraction module 216 may extract other lexical features (e.g., in a model training process and/or a model application process) such as a domain token count, an average domain token length, a longest domain token, a path token count, an average path token length, a longest path token, and other lexical features.”… “Experiments that determine domain confidence level shows that domain confidence levels often fall within the range [0.2, 0.8]. In this way, the domain confidence level of 1.0 is reserved for the domains in a white list, and domain confidence level of 0.0 is reserved for the domains in a black list.”),
Xue does not explicitly disclose the following limitations which are disclosed by Maestas, wherein the scoring subsystem aggregates the machine-readable threat scores based on the stored predicted information that is determined to represent a threat to obtain the weighted machine-readable threat score for each of the plurality of addresses based on predetermined weightings for different threat types (Maestas: paragraphs 0005-0007 and 0022-0029, “the process assigns weights to various characteristics associated with an IP address and adjusts a risk score for the IP address by using a mathematical transformation.”… “The method further comprises determining an aggregate risk score for the IP addresses based on the adjusted confidence levels for the IP addresses and allowing traffic from each of the IP addresses having an aggregate risk score below an acceptable level of risk.”), and a user interface operative to provide the scores to end users (Maestas: paragraphs 0008 and 0037-0038, “a system for determining risk for a plurality of IP addresses received in real-time from a plurality of sources comprises a memory for storing a plurality of IP addresses and a date and a time, an assigned risk category, and a confidence level for each IP address. A graphical user interface displays a plurality of categories associated with each IP address and accepts input, including an acceptable risk level for each of the plurality of categories, from a user.”… “In each, GUI displays to a user a plurality of named risk categories, provides a series of "slider" input controls or the like, and provides a range of weighted values corresponding to each named risk category.”).
Xue and Maestas are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, network protection. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xue and Maestas before him or her, to modify the system of Xue to include a subsystem that aggregates machine-readable threat scores based on stored predicted information that is determined to represent a threat to obtain weighted machine-readable threat score for each of the plurality of addresses based on predetermined weightings for different threat types and a user interface operative to provide scores to end users of Maestas. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to block high-risk IP connections in real-time while allowing users to tailor their acceptable risk profiles to match the security requirements of their network resources (Maestas: paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 29, Xue as modified discloses further including a threat level quantizer responsive to the scoring subsystem and configured to quantize the weighted threat score for an address (Maestas: paragraphs 0007 and 0022-0026, “In addition, the method includes determining source characteristics for each of the received IP addresses, and assigning weighting factors to the source characteristics, and mathematically transforming the weighted source characteristics to adjust a risk confidence level for each of the received IP addresses”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 30, Xue as modified discloses wherein the user interface includes a user interface display area responsive to the scoring subsystem and the quantizer and configured to display the quantized weighted threat score (Maestas: paragraphs 0008 and 0037-0038, “a system for determining risk for a plurality of IP addresses received in real-time from a plurality of sources comprises a memory for storing a plurality of IP addresses and a date and a time, an assigned risk category, and a confidence level for each IP address. A graphical user interface displays a plurality of categories associated with each IP address and accepts input, including an acceptable risk level for each of the plurality of categories, from a user.”… “In each, GUI displays to a user a plurality of named risk categories, provides a series of "slider" input controls or the like, and provides a range of weighted values corresponding to each named risk category.”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 32, Xue as modified discloses wherein the user interface includes a user interface display area responsive to the scoring subsystem and configured to display the weighted threat score (Maestas: paragraphs 0008 and 0037-0038, “a system for determining risk for a plurality of IP addresses received in real-time from a plurality of sources comprises a memory for storing a plurality of IP addresses and a date and a time, an assigned risk category, and a confidence level for each IP address. A graphical user interface displays a plurality of categories associated with each IP address and accepts input, including an acceptable risk level for each of the plurality of categories, from a user.”… “In each, GUI displays to a user a plurality of named risk categories, provides a series of "slider" input controls or the like, and provides a range of weighted values corresponding to each named risk category.”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 33, Xue as modified discloses further including a further user interface area that is configured to display at least some of the different threat levels from which the displayed weighted threat score was derived (Maestas: paragraphs 0008 and 0037-0038, “a system for determining risk for a plurality of IP addresses received in real-time from a plurality of sources comprises a memory for storing a plurality of IP addresses and a date and a time, an assigned risk category, and a confidence level for each IP address. A graphical user interface displays a plurality of categories associated with each IP address and accepts input, including an acceptable risk level for each of the plurality of categories, from a user.”… “In each, GUI displays to a user a plurality of named risk categories, provides a series of "slider" input controls or the like, and provides a range of weighted values corresponding to each named risk category.”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 34, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem is configured to detect malicious activity associated with an IP address (Maestas: paragraphs 0008 and 0037-0038, “a system for determining risk for a plurality of IP addresses received in real-time from a plurality of sources comprises a memory for storing a plurality of IP addresses and a date and a time, an assigned risk category, and a confidence level for each IP address. A graphical user interface displays a plurality of categories associated with each IP address and accepts input, including an acceptable risk level for each of the plurality of categories, from a user.”… “In each, GUI displays to a user a plurality of named risk categories, provides a series of "slider" input controls or the like, and provides a range of weighted values corresponding to each named risk category.”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 35, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem is configured to detect malicious activity associated with a URL Xue: paragraphs 0041-0042 and 0045-0047, “the training URLs may be determined in association with a list of selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources that are often targeted by cyber attacks. Accordingly, the techniques discussed herein can train the one or more classification models 228 specifically for the selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources”…“the machine learning algorithms 218 may be Support Vector Machine (SVM) used to train the classification models 228 (e.g., develop decision criteria for classifying whether an unknown URL is malicious, and if so, what legitimate entity or authentic resource it targets)….Example kernel functions used in SVM include, but are not limited to, radial basis function (RBF), Linear, Polynomia, Sigmoid and so forth. SVM also includes cross-validation that tunes parameters of the classification models 228 to improve prediction accuracy for classifying an unknown URL as a malicious URL that targets a legitimate entity or an authentic resource.”)… “lexical features 224 extracted by the features extraction module include 216 include a brand name edit distance (e.g., for the whole URL, for the domain of the URL, or for the path of the URL). As discussed above, cyber attackers often include "deceptive" brand name strings in malicious URLs that are similar, but not identical to, "real" brand name strings associated with an authentic entity or a benign URL (e.g., "conp.anyXYZ" is similar to "companyXYZ", "mitens" is similar to "mittens", "ompanyABC" is similar to "companyABC", and "awisome_shoes" is similar to "awesome_shoes", as illustrated in FIG. 1). Therefore, detection and analysis of a deceptive brand name string aids in malicious URL detection. In particular, determining an edit distance between a deceptive brand name string and a real brand name string.”)
Regarding claim 36, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem is configured to detect malicious activity associated with an Internet Domain Name Xue: paragraphs 0041-0042, 0045-0047 and 0056, “The TLD is the domain token at the highest level in the hierarchical Domain Name System (DNS) of the Internet. In the example URL (ii) listed above with respect to FIG. 1, the TLD is `com`. Thus, the SLD in the exemplary URL is `ompanyABC`.”…“the training URLs may be determined in association with a list of selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources that are often targeted by cyber attacks. Accordingly, the techniques discussed herein can train the one or more classification models 228 specifically for the selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources” … “lexical features 224 extracted by the features extraction module include 216 include a brand name edit distance (e.g., for the whole URL, for the domain of the URL, or for the path of the URL). As discussed above, cyber attackers often include "deceptive" brand name strings in malicious URLs that are similar, but not identical to, "real" brand name strings associated with an authentic entity or a benign URL (e.g., "conp.anyXYZ" is similar to "companyXYZ", "mitens" is similar to "mittens", "ompanyABC" is similar to "companyABC", and "awisome_shoes" is similar to "awesome_shoes", as illustrated in FIG. 1). Therefore, detection and analysis of a deceptive brand name string aids in malicious URL detection. In particular, determining an edit distance between a deceptive brand name string and a real brand name string.”)
Regarding claim 37, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem applies the trained predictive model to logical address proximity (Xue: paragraphs 0041-0042 and 0045-0047, “the training URLs may be determined in association with a list of selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources that are often targeted by cyber attacks. Accordingly, the techniques discussed herein can train the one or more classification models 228 specifically for the selected legitimate entities and/or authentic resources”…“the machine learning algorithms 218 may be Support Vector Machine (SVM) used to train the classification models 228 (e.g., develop decision criteria for classifying whether an unknown URL is malicious, and if so, what legitimate entity or authentic resource it targets)….Example kernel functions used in SVM include, but are not limited to, radial basis function (RBF), Linear, Polynomia, Sigmoid and so forth. SVM also includes cross-validation that tunes parameters of the classification models 228 to improve prediction accuracy for classifying an unknown URL as a malicious URL that targets a legitimate entity or an authentic resource.”)… “lexical features 224 extracted by the features extraction module include 216 include a brand name edit distance (e.g., for the whole URL, for the domain of the URL, or for the path of the URL). As discussed above, cyber attackers often include "deceptive" brand name strings in malicious URLs that are similar, but not identical to, "real" brand name strings associated with an authentic entity or a benign URL (e.g., "conp.anyXYZ" is similar to "companyXYZ", "mitens" is similar to "mittens", "ompanyABC" is similar to "companyABC", and "awisome_shoes" is similar to "awesome_shoes", as illustrated in FIG. 1). Therefore, detection and analysis of a deceptive brand name string aids in malicious URL detection. In particular, determining an edit distance between a deceptive brand name string and a real brand name string.”).
Regarding claim 38, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem applies the trained predictive model to physical address proximity (Maestas: paragraphs 0027-0029, “in an embodiment the source and/or destination weighting factor takes into account geographic proximity instead of or in addition to country filtering. Geographic proximity relates to how close the IP address is to other IP addresses that are listed as high-risk. This method is not the same as country filtering, although there may be some overlap between the two methods. This technique uses mathematical formulas to determine the proximity of a potentially high-risk IP address to the nearest cluster of high risk IP addresses. The distance to the cluster is combined with the weighted threat score of the cluster to determine the risk for the IP address not associated with the cluster. The closer the IP address is to the cluster, the higher the risk score assigned to the IP address. Beneficially, this geographic proximity method provides better results when the cluster and the IP address are close in proximity, but in different countries, such as near the border. For example, an IP address located 10 miles from Blaine, Wash., could be associated with clusters located in neighboring cities such as Seattle, Wash., United States or Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. If the cluster is located in Seattle and the IP address is located in White Rock, British Columbia, Canada, it would not be listed as a threat when a country filter (e.g., the United States) is utilized. However, by using geographic proximity, the existence of the United States-Canada border between the cluster and the IP address is irrelevant and the IP address would be a higher threat risk given its proximity to the cluster located in Seattle.”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 39, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem applies the trained predictive model to both logical and physical address proximity (Maestas: paragraphs 0027-0029, “in an embodiment the source and/or destination weighting factor takes into account geographic proximity instead of or in addition to country filtering. Geographic proximity relates to how close the IP address is to other IP addresses that are listed as high-risk. This method is not the same as country filtering, although there may be some overlap between the two methods. This technique uses mathematical formulas to determine the proximity of a potentially high-risk IP address to the nearest cluster of high risk IP addresses. The distance to the cluster is combined with the weighted threat score of the cluster to determine the risk for the IP address not associated with the cluster. The closer the IP address is to the cluster, the higher the risk score assigned to the IP address. Beneficially, this geographic proximity method provides better results when the cluster and the IP address are close in proximity, but in different countries, such as near the border. For example, an IP address located 10 miles from Blaine, Wash., could be associated with clusters located in neighboring cities such as Seattle, Wash., United States or Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. If the cluster is located in Seattle and the IP address is located in White Rock, British Columbia, Canada, it would not be listed as a threat when a country filter (e.g., the United States) is utilized. However, by using geographic proximity, the existence of the United States-Canada border between the cluster and the IP address is irrelevant and the IP address would be a higher threat risk given its proximity to the cluster located in Seattle.”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Regarding claim 40, Xue as modified discloses wherein the threat prediction subsystem employs a Support Vector Machine supervised learning model (Xue: paragraph 0042, “In various embodiments, the machine learning algorithms 218 may be Support Vector Machine (SVM) used to train the classification models 228 (e.g., develop decision criteria for classifying whether an unknown URL is malicious, and if so, what legitimate entity or authentic resource it targets). In at least one embodiment, SVM is a classification technique that is based on a Structural Risk Minimization theory, and therefore, SVM finds the largest distance to the nearest training data points of any class, called functional margin. Moreover, SVM may comprise a kernel function that maps an input vector associated with extracted features into a high dimension hyperspace so that similarities between samples can be determined. Example kernel functions used in SVM include, but are not limited to, radial basis function (RBF), Linear, Polynomia, Sigmoid and so forth. SVM also includes cross-validation that tunes parameters of the classification models 228 to improve prediction accuracy for classifying an unknown URL as a malicious URL that targets a legitimate entity or an authentic resource.”)
Regarding claim 41, Xue as modified discloses wherein the user interface is provided through browser plugins (Maestas: paragraphs 0005 and 0021, “aspects of the invention permit blocking high-risk IP connections in real-time while allowing users to tailor their acceptable risk profiles to match the security requirements of their network resources. IP threat information is acquired from one or more providers via a feed (e.g., based on eXtensible Markup Language (XML) or JavaScript Object Notation (JSON)).”). The same motivation to modify Xue in view of Maestas, as applied in claim 28 above, applies here.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Maestas, and further in view of Roytman (US 20150237062 A1) (hereinafter Roytman).
Regarding claim 31, Xue in view of Maestas does not explicitly disclose the following limitation which is disclosed by Roytman, wherein the user interface includes an area responsive to the scoring subsystem and configured to display the weighted threat score in a color that conveys a level of the threat score (Roytman: paragraph 0082, “displaying a color that corresponds to the criticality of the risk score (i.e. threat score)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xue as modified by Maestas to incorporate the teachings of Roytman, with a motivation to indicate a criticality of a risk score (i.e. threat score) to a customer (Roytman: paragraph 0081).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the enclosed PTO-892 form.
/TRANG T DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431