DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the Response to Election filed on 07/13/2026.
Claims 1-10 have been canceled.
Claims 18-27 have been added.
Claims 11-17 have been elected.
Claims 11-27 are pending.
Claims 11-27 have been examined.
Election/Restriction
The Applicant chose to elect Group II, claims 11-17 without traverse. Claims 1 to 10 are canceled without prejudice. New dependent claims 18-27 are added. The claims are entered on 07/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-27 are directed to a method, a system, or product which are one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: Yes).
Claims 11-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 11-27 are directed to an abstract idea, Method of Organizing Human Activity. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide generic computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 11, for instance, recites, A method comprising: analysing at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a first instance of a first process for achieving a first result; analysing the at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a second instance of the first process for achieving the first result; determining common elements of the first instance of the first process and second instance of the first process; mapping the common elements within the first processes to provide an estimated common process flow including potential causal links; determining a potential causal link for exploration, the causal link related to elements within the first instance of the first process that are not common to elements within the second instance of the first process wherein the first instance and the second instance have statistically different results; performing a test to see if the potential causal link is statistically causal; and when causal, including the potential causal link within the process as a causal link.. These limitations are directed to business process data analysis– business relations (commercial interactions). Hence, it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 17, for instance, recites, A method comprising: A method comprising: analysing at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a first instance of a first process for achieving a first result; analysing the at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a second instance of the first process for achieving the first result; determining common elements of the first instance of the first process and second instance of the first process; mapping the common elements within the first processes to provide an estimated common process flow including potential causal links; determining a potential causal link for exploration, the causal link related to a first element within the first instance of the first process that is not common to a second element within the second instance of the first process; performing a test to see if the potential causal link is statistically causal of a difference in outcome between the first instance and the second instance by performing some processes with the first element and other first processes with the second element and comparing results obtained with the first element against results obtained with the second element; and when causal, including the potential causal link within the first process as a causal link with an indication of which of the first element and the second element is preferred. These limitations are directed to business process data analysis– business relations (commercial interactions). Hence, it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements such as a system, a processor (specification, par. [0110]) recited at a high-level of generality (analyzing and determining) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea. Claims 11-27 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are merely performing the abstract idea on a generic device i.e., abstract idea and apply it. There is no improvement to computer technology or computer functionality MPEP 2106.05(a) nor a particular machine MPEP 2106.05(b) nor a particular transformation MPEP 2106.05(c). Given the above reasons, a generic processing device helps to perform data analytics is not an Inventive Concept. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims have been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because for the same reasoning as above and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The dependent claim 12 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite performing statistical analysis and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 13 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite performing statistical analysis and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 14 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite performing statistical analysis and analyzing process and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 15 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite a financial outcome and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 16 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite calculating risk analysis and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 18 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite displaying an ID and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 19 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite processing statistical model and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 20 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite adding steps to a statistical model and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 21 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite providing statistical model and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 22 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite first and second group and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 23 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite processing group of processes and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 24 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite depositing first portion of the real-time NIL payment and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 25 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite maintaining variables and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 26 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite prioritizing tasks and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a payment) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claim 27 has been given the full two-part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite deprioritizing results and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements (such as a system) of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Therefore, Claims 11-27 are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2022/0374736 A1) in view of Pandey et al. (US 11,392,969 B2).
Claim 11. Chung teaches: A method comprising: analysing at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a first instance of a first process for achieving a first result (Chung et al. (US 2022/0374736 A1), see at least par. [0004] “ The system receives user profile data for a set of eligible users. For each eligible user from the set of eligible users, the system provides user profile data as input to a machine learning based model and determines an adherence rate for the eligible user. The system ranks the set of eligible users based on the predicted adherence rates. The system selects a set of users from the set of eligible users based on the ranking. For each selected user from the set of selected users, the system determines communication parameters for communicating with the selected user and sends a communication to the selected user based on the determined communication parameters.”) The first results correspond to ranked eligible users;
analysing the at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a second instance of the first process for achieving the first result; determining common elements of the first instance of the first process and second instance of the first process (Chung, see at least par. [0060] “n. For health care domain, the user profile data include members health care related values, for example, probabilities of use tobacco/alcohol, diet habits, exercise habits, and so on, and pharmacy related values, for example, adherence. The user profile data may be represented as numerical values or as categorical indexes.”) The health care metrics correspond to second instance of the first process;
mapping the common elements within the first processes to provide an estimated common process flow including potential causal links (Chung, see at least par. [0022] “If the user is out of supply of the medication and the user has not picked up new medication supply from the pharmacy, the system determines that the user is not in possession of the medication during this period and as a result, there is a gap in the user's medication. These are referred to as gap days. The user profile may store information describing the gap days of the user. If the computing system is used for reaching customers of a business, the user data store 140 may store the type of products/services that the customer has received in the past as well as interests of the user.”) The common element, such as gap, is mapped to the user profile when the type of product or service has been received;
determining a potential causal link for exploration, the causal link related to elements within the first instance of the first process that are not common to elements within the second instance of the first process wherein the first instance and the second instance have statistically different results (Chung, par. [0039]) The causal link related to the first element, such as variable X, is not common to variable Y if the correlation is less than a statistically significant value;
performing a test to see if the potential causal link is statistically causal (Chung, par. [0054] “The system may perform 380 testing of the system using techniques such as A/B testing. The A/B testing allows the system to be adjusted for optimizing various parameters. The system collects 390 feedback data to incorporate 393 feedback that requires low latency in order to optimize system resources and minimize costs as well as minimize user fatigue. The system monitors the quality of the input data as well as model outputs and may retrain 396 the machine learning based models based on the observations.”);
Chung does not teach the following; however, Pandey teaches:
and when causal, including the potential causal link within the process as a causal link (Pandey, Col. 6 ln 46-56, “The harmonized data is used to train the model with deep learning and machine learning algorithms for profiling the customer genome and predicting the target-variable. The customer genome may be a complex data structure that includes a set of domain-related behavioral traits with associated probabilities. The probability score of each customer genome marker is indicative of the contribution of the customer genome towards the overall behavioral intention. Examples of such genome markers comprise email propensity, risk aversion index, and market sensitivity. The system employs an automated set of training its models by comparing various error tracking metrics to select the best approach to make the prediction. As a result, an optimum sequence of digital and non-digital interactions, such as next best action, automated advisor prioritization, dynamic behavioural segmentation, prebuilt campaign lists for sales opportunity, early churn detection or campaign lists by product types, are identified for each customer based on the customer genome.”) Based on the genome, a causal link is established to locate the preferred product type or second element.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of including the potential causal link within the process as taught by Pandey with the invention disclosed by Chung to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 17. (Original) A method comprising: analysing at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a first instance of a first process for achieving a first result (Chung, see at least par. [0004] “ The system receives user profile data for a set of eligible users. For each eligible user from the set of eligible users, the system provides user profile data as input to a machine learning based model and determines an adherence rate for the eligible user. The system ranks the set of eligible users based on the predicted adherence rates. The system selects a set of users from the set of eligible users based on the ranking. For each selected user from the set of selected users, the system determines communication parameters for communicating with the selected user and sends a communication to the selected user based on the determined communication parameters.”) The first results correspond to ranked eligible users;
analysing the at least a data set to extract therefrom data related to a second instance of the first process for achieving the first result (Chung, see at least par. [0060] “n. For health care domain, the user profile data include members health care related values, for example, probabilities of use tobacco/alcohol, diet habits, exercise habits, and so on, and pharmacy related values, for example, adherence. The user profile data may be represented as numerical values or as categorical indexes.”) The health care metrics correspond to second instance of the first process;
determining common elements of the first instance of the first process and second instance of the first process (Chung, see at least par. [0006] “The system determines the timing for sending the communication to the selected user based on a predicted gap for the user. A gap indicates a time interval when the user is not in possession of an item, for example, medication.”) a gap corresponds to common element between the instances;
mapping the common elements within the first processes to provide an estimated common process flow including potential causal links (Chung, see at least par. [0022] “If the user is out of supply of the medication and the user has not picked up new medication supply from the pharmacy, the system determines that the user is not in possession of the medication during this period and as a result, there is a gap in the user's medication. These are referred to as gap days. The user profile may store information describing the gap days of the user. If the computing system is used for reaching customers of a business, the user data store 140 may store the type of products/services that the customer has received in the past as well as interests of the user.”) The common element, such as gap, is mapped to the user profile when the type of product or service has been received;
determining a potential causal link for exploration, the causal link related to a first element within the first instance of the first process that is not common to a second element within the second instance of the first process (Chung, par. [0039]) The causal link related to the first element, such as variable X, is not common to variable Y if the correlation is less than a statistically significant value;
performing a test to see if the potential causal link is statistically causal of a difference in outcome between the first instance and the second instance by performing some processes with the first element and other first processes with the second element and comparing results obtained with the first element against results obtained with the second element (Chung, par. [0054] “The system may perform 380 testing of the system using techniques such as A/B testing. The A/B testing allows the system to be adjusted for optimizing various parameters. The system collects 390 feedback data to incorporate 393 feedback that requires low latency in order to optimize system resources and minimize costs as well as minimize user fatigue. The system monitors the quality of the input data as well as model outputs and may retrain 396 the machine learning based models based on the observations.”);
Chung does not disclose the following; however, Pandey teaches:
and when causal, including the potential causal link within the first process as a causal link with an indication of which of the first element and the second element is preferred (Pandey, Col. 6 ln 46-56, “The harmonized data is used to train the model with deep learning and machine learning algorithms for profiling the customer genome and predicting the target-variable. The customer genome may be a complex data structure that includes a set of domain-related behavioral traits with associated probabilities. The probability score of each customer genome marker is indicative of the contribution of the customer genome towards the overall behavioral intention. Examples of such genome markers comprise email propensity, risk aversion index, and market sensitivity. The system employs an automated set of training its models by comparing various error tracking metrics to select the best approach to make the prediction. As a result, an optimum sequence of digital and non-digital interactions, such as next best action, automated advisor prioritization, dynamic behavioural segmentation, prebuilt campaign lists for sales opportunity, early churn detection or campaign lists by product types, are identified for each customer based on the customer genome.”) Based on the genome, a causal link is established to locate the preferred product type or second element.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of including the potential causal link within the process as taught by Pandey with the invention disclosed by Chung to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 12. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: (Currently amended) The method of claim 11. Furthermore, Chung teaches: wherein determining that the first instance and the second instance have statistically different results is performed by performing the test (Chung, par. [0054] “The system may perform 380 testing of the system using techniques such as A/B testing. The A/B testing allows the system to be adjusted for optimizing various parameters. The system collects 390 feedback data to incorporate 393 feedback that requires low latency in order to optimize system resources and minimize costs as well as minimize user fatigue. The system monitors the quality of the input data as well as model outputs and may retrain 396 the machine learning based models based on the observations.”).
Claim 13. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: (Currently amended) The method of claim 11. Chung further teaches: wherein determining that the first instance and the second instance have statistically different results is performed by performing a test of results achieved with the elements that are not common included in the first process compared to results achieved absent the elements relative to each other and to an expected result (Chung, see at least par. [0055] “For example, a health care system may identify a user for communicating regarding picking up medication. The system accesses 420 user profile data for the user, for example, from the user data store 140. The system extracts 430 features from the user profile data generate a feature vector based on the user profile data for the user. The system provides the feature vector as input to the machine learning based model as input and executes 440 the machine learning based model using the feature vector to determine communication channel for use for the user. In an embodiment, the system executes multiple machine learning based models, one for each communication channel, to determine the likelihood of the user performing an expected action based on the communication using the channel. For example, for a health care system reaching out to a user regarding medication prepared for the user, the expected action is that the user picks up the medication prepared for the user. The system selects the communication channel with the highest likelihood of the user performing the expected action based on the output of the machine learning based models. The system communicates 450 with the user using the communication channel selected based on the output of the machine learning based model.”).
Claim 14. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: (Currently amended) The method of claim 11. Furthermore, Chung teaches: wherein determining that the first instance and the second instance have statistically different results is performed by performing a test of results achieved with the elements that are not common included in the first process compared to results achieved absent the elements relative to each other (Chung, par. [0056]) The training adds a new step that is a new user. The added user is not a common step for the training.
Claim 18. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 11. Chung further teaches: wherein the common elements form a framework for the first process, and comprising: determining first differences between the first instance of the first process and the second instance of the first process; wherein performing a test comprises: proposing A/B tests, where some first processes are implemented according to Process A and some first processes are implemented according to Process B, Process B including at least one uncommon element from the first instance of the first process and the second instant of the first process that is other than included in Process A, for determining a first difference from the first differences that is statistically controllable through varying the first process during execution between Process A and Process B (Chung, par. [0054] “The system may perform 380 testing of the system using techniques such as A/B testing. The A/B testing allows the system to be adjusted for optimizing various parameters. The system collects 390 feedback data to incorporate 393 feedback that requires low latency in order to optimize system resources and minimize costs as well as minimize user fatigue. The system monitors the quality of the input data as well as model outputs and may retrain 396 the machine learning based models based on the observations.”);when the first difference is statistically controllable, selecting between Process A and Process B the process that is a statistically improved version of the first process; and storing the improved version of the first process as the improved first process (Chung, see at least par. [0055] “For example, a health care system may identify a user for communicating regarding picking up medication. The system accesses 420 user profile data for the user, for example, from the user data store 140. The system extracts 430 features from the user profile data generate a feature vector based on the user profile data for the user. The system provides the feature vector as input to the machine learning based model as input and executes 440 the machine learning based model using the feature vector to determine communication channel for use for the user. In an embodiment, the system executes multiple machine learning based models, one for each communication channel, to determine the likelihood of the user performing an expected action based on the communication using the channel. For example, for a health care system reaching out to a user regarding medication prepared for the user, the expected action is that the user picks up the medication prepared for the user. The system selects the communication channel with the highest likelihood of the user performing the expected action based on the output of the machine learning based models. The system communicates 450 with the user using the communication channel selected based on the output of the machine learning based model.”).
Claim 19. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 18. Furthermore, Chung teaches: wherein Process B is a process similar to Process A but absent a step (Chung, see at least par. [0056] “The system performs the causality analysis, for example, the causality analysis performed by the time series analysis module 230. The system determines a measure representing whether the event time series for the user is caused by the communication time series describing communications using the particular communication channel. The system determines label for the user for the communication channel based on the result of the causality analysis. Accordingly, the user is assigned a score indicating a high likelihood of performing the expected user action if the user receives a communication sent via the communication channel if the causality analysis Repeating the above steps for each user and for each communication channel for each user allows the system to generate labeled training data.”) The training is for the existing user .
Claim 20. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 19. Chung further teaches: comprising: when a current instance of Process B is detected in execution, providing an indication to a user to add the missing step to the current instance (Chung, par. [0056]) The training adds a new step that is a new user.
Claim 21. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 19. Furthermore, Chung teaches: comprising: when a plurality of instances of Process B are detected, providing an indication to a user to add the missing step to a first group of processes comprising some of the plurality of instances of Process B and to not add the missing step to a second group of processes comprising others of the plurality of instances of Process B different from the instances in the first group; and comparing an outcome of the first group and the second group; and when the outcome indicates a statistical likelihood that the missing step affects the outcome of the processes, providing an indication to the user of the statistical effect of the missing step (Chung, see par. [0040] “The p-value represents the probability of obtaining results at least as extreme as the observed results of a statistical hypothesis test, assuming that the null hypothesis is correct. The system compares the p-value of the causality analysis with a threshold, (for example, 0.05) to determine a binary label for the user. For example, the binary label may of one or, indicating that the communication channel is effective (e.g., if p<0.05) or not effective (e.g., p>0.05) respectively. In an embodiment, the system performs causality analysis for all users in training set to obtain the binary label for each user.” & par. [0044] “ The gap days prediction module 285 determines a metric gap representing gap days that describes the number of days the member is without a desired prescription in a time interval, for example, in the prediction year. The gap days prediction module 285 determines the gap days based on previous prescription end date and current prescription start date or prediction date. Along with healthcare profile data the gap days prediction module 285 takes historical refill data as input to make prediction”).
Claim 22. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 21. Chung further teaches: comprising: ensuring that the first group and the second group are sufficiently large and diverse to provide statistically relevant results regarding the missing step (Chung, see at least par. [0038] “The use of causality analysis allows the system to convert large amount of time series data into a simple value (e.g., a scalar value) that represents an attribute of the user. This simplifies the processing of the machine learning based models since it is easier to process a scalar attribute of a user compared to a large number of values of a time series data.”.
Claim 23. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 19. Furthermore, Chung teaches: comprising: when a plurality of instances of Process B are detected, providing an indication to a user to add the missing step to a first group of processes comprising some of the plurality of instances of Process B and to not add the missing step to a second group of processes comprising others of the plurality of instances of Process B different from the instances in the first group (Chung, see at least par. [0063] “Embodiments improve the computational efficiency of the processing of the time series data compared to systems such as those based on recurrent neural networks that are typically used for making predictions based on time series data. This is so because the techniques use efficient techniques to process the time series data to determine correlation between time series before providing the information as input to the machine learning based model.”) ; and comparing an outcome of the first group and the second group; and when the outcome indicates a statistical likelihood that the missing step affects the outcome positively adding the missing step into the framework of the first process for future instances thereof (Chung, see at least par. [0056] “The system uses the training data for training machine learning based model for determining communication channel to be used for communicating with a new user that is identified.”).
Claim 24. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 18. Furthermore, Chung teaches: comprising: During execution maintaining at least some variables same between Process A and Process B (Chung, par. [0039] “X variable is maintained and used to predict Y variable”)..
Claim 25. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 18. However, Pandey teaches: comprising: maintaining all variables other than the missing step approximately same between Process A and Process B (Pandey, Col. 6 ln 26-33 “. A salient feature of the present invention is to maintain a test and a control set—allowing internal A/B testing with rules defined by the business. This allow to see how the prediction engine works. The system enables to use deep reinforcement learning to penalize/reward itself in case the lift/precision underperform/beats the previous prediction cycle.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of including the potential causal link within the process as taught by Pandey with the invention disclosed by Chung to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 26. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 18. Furthermore, Pandey teaches: comprising: prioritising a first test between a first Process A and a first Process B over a second test between a second Process A and a second Process B (Pandey, see at least Col. 6 ln 58-64 “As a result, an optimum sequence of digital and non-digital interactions, such as next best action, automated advisor prioritization, dynamic behavioural segmentation, prebuilt campaign lists for sales opportunity, early churn detection or campaign lists by product types, are identified for each customer based on the customer genome.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of including the potential causal link within the process as taught by Pandey with the invention disclosed by Chung to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 27. Chung in view of Pandey teaches: The method of claim 26. Furthermore, Pandey teaches: comprising: when the first Process A and the first Process B achieve similar results, deprioritising the first test relative to the second test (Pandey, Col. 8 ln 23-26 “The system process is governed by the master controller (104), which ensures all the processes extraction, transformation, validation, re-training, and re-calibration, are being executed as scheduled”) Deprirotizing corresponds to retraining model.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of including the potential causal link within the process as taught by Pandey with the invention disclosed by Chung to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2022/0374736 A1) in view of Pandey et al. (US 11,392,969 B2) in further view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0058483 A1).
Claim 15. Chung in view of Pandey teaches:(Currently amended) The method of claim 11 wherein the results relate to a financial outcome(Liu, par. [0015]) Cited portion discloses financial data analysis to predict an outcome.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of results related to a financial outcome as taught by Liu with the invention disclosed by Chung in view of Pandey to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claim 16. Chung in view of Pandey teaches (Currently amended) The method of claim 11 wherein the results relate to a risk associated with the process (Liu, par. [0017]) Cited portion discloses risk analysis for the process.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of results related to a risk association as taught by Liu with the invention disclosed by Chung in view of Pandey to help better predict the outcome as the model is updated. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Conclusion
/TOAN DUC BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3693
/CHO YIU KWONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693