Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 9, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches, “wherein in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including some upper bodies among the plurality of bodies, and a second area including some other upper bodies among the plurality of bodies, and select the first area closer to the center between the first area and the second area.” The underlined phrase has a lack of antecedent basis. Additionally center between first area and second area is not clear.
Claim 6 is rejected based on dependency.
Claims 9 and 19 recite, “wherein in the image display mode, the signal processing device is configured to,
in response to the display corresponding to the first aspect ratio, display an image including the first area, and
in response to the display corresponding to the second aspect ratio, display the second image of the second aspect ratio centered on the first area. “
The bold conditions are not clear; It is indefinite as the claim language is not understood.
Claim 14 recites, “wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract a plurality of areas including the upper body corresponding to a part of a body in the first image, and extract the remaining area other than an area having a size less than a reference value among the plurality of areas as the first area.” The phrase “the remaining area” has a lack of antecedent basis. Also the scope of the remaining area is not clear corresponding the limitation.
Claim 16 recites, “wherein the signal processing device is configured to display the image including the first area on the display in response to an aspect ratio of the display being switched to from the second aspect ratio the first aspect ratio by rotating the display.” The underlined condition is not readable. Therefore, the scope of the limitation is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2018026152, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches, An image display apparatus (Fig.1 element 100) comprising:
a display; (Display module 110) and
a signal processing device (arithmetic processing module) configured to
receive a first image of a first aspect ratio, extract a first area including an upper body corresponding to a part of a body in the first image, (see e.g. Fig. 1, par. [52], [53] and [62], disclosing a playback system 100 with a display module 110 and an operation processing module 150, which according to par [30] recognizes a main area in a landscape image, such as a face, as an area of interest Paragraph [86] also indicates detecting a face in Fiig, 7 which is first area.)and
display a second image of a second aspect ratio centered on the first area on the display in an image display mode. (see e.g. Fig. 7, par. [28] and [82]-[86], disclosing that in the portrait display mode, the area of interest adjacent to the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape scene video content is located at the center of the horizontal display area For example, the ROI tracking unit 164 May track the facial area of the performer of the landscape video content (content_landscape) as the ROI. The region of interest is not limited to only the face region of the performer but may be a fixed subject recognizable through image processing such as a moving subject, a building, or a natural product such as an animal or a vehicle. Meanwhile, as shown in FIG. 7, when the plurality of regions of interest 420, 410, and 430 exist, it is preferable to preferentially display the region of interest 410 located at the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content (content_landscape_1 ) in the setting of the first partial area area_partition_1 . To this end, the display area determiner 162 May determine the first partial area area_partition_1 as the display area area_present such that the first area of interest area_interior_1 adjacent to the central portion of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content content_landscape is located at the center of the horizontal display area.).
Regarding claim 18, An image display apparatus( Fig.1 element 100) comprising:
a display; (Display module 110) and
a signal processing device (arithmetic processing module) configured to
receive a first image of a first aspect ratio, extract coordinates for each body part in the first image, extract a first area corresponding to an upper body among a plurality of coordinates for each body part, ( see e.g. Fig. 1, par. [52], [53] and [62], disclosing a playback system 100 with a display module 110 and an operation processing module 150, which according to par [30] recognizes a main area in a landscape image, such as a face, as an area of interest Paragraph [86] also indicates detecting a face in Fiig, 7 which is first area . Paragraph [0082-0086] track the facial area of plurality of body and thus capture the position or coordinates of the body part of area. One of the areas is considered as the claimed first area. )and
output the second image of the second aspect ratio based on a center of the first area and a center of the second area corresponding to the second aspect ratio. . (see e.g. Fig. 7, par. [28] and [82]-[86], disclosing that in the portrait display mode, the area of interest adjacent to the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape scene video content is located at the center of the horizontal display area For example, the ROI tracking unit 164 May track the facial area of the performer of the landscape video content (content_landscape) as the ROI. The region of interest is not limited to only the face region of the performer, but may be a fixed subject recognizable through image processing such as a moving subject, a building, or a natural product such as an animal or a vehicle. Meanwhile, as shown in FIG. 7, when the plurality of regions of interest 420, 410, and 430 exist, it is preferable to preferentially display the region of interest 410 located at the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content (content_landscape_1 ) in the setting of the first partial area area_partition_1 . To this end, the display area determiner 162 May determine the first partial area area_partition_1 as the display area area_present such that the first area of interest area_interior_1 adjacent to the central portion of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content content_landscape is located at the center of the horizontal display area.”).
Regarding claim 20, An image display apparatus (Fig.1 element 100) comprising:
a display; (Display module 110) and
a signal processing device (arithmetic processing module) configured to
receive a first image of a first aspect ratio, extract a first area corresponding to an upper body in a body in the first image, (see e.g. Fig. 1, par. [52], [53] and [62], disclosing a playback system 100 with a display module 110 and an operation processing module 150, which according to par [30] recognizes a main area in a landscape image, such as a face, as an area of interest Paragraph [86] also indicates detecting a face in Fiig, 7 which is first area.)and
display a second image of a second aspect ratio centered on the first area on the display. (see e.g. Fig. 7, par. [28] and [82]-[86], disclosing that in the portrait display mode, the area of interest adjacent to the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape scene video content is located at the center of the horizontal display area For example, the ROI tracking unit 164 May track the facial area of the performer of the landscape video content (content_landscape) as the ROI. The region of interest is not limited to only the face region of the performer, but may be a fixed subject recognizable through image processing such as a moving subject, a building, or a natural product such as an animal or a vehicle. Meanwhile, as shown in FIG. 7, when the plurality of regions of interest 420, 410, and 430 exist, it is preferable to preferentially display the region of interest 410 located at the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content (content_landscape_1 ) in the setting of the first partial area area_partition_1 . To this end, the display area determiner 162 May determine the first partial area area_partition_1 as the display area area_present such that the first area of interest area_interior_1 adjacent to the central portion of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content content_landscape is located at the center of the horizontal display area.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to
extract coordinates for each body part in the first image, ( . (see e.g. Fig. 7, par. [28] and [82]-[86], disclosing that in the portrait display mode, the area of interest adjacent to the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape scene video content is located at the center of the horizontal display area For example, the ROI tracking unit 164 May track the facial area of the performer of the landscape video content (content_landscape) . Fig. 7 multiple body parts are tracked and thus extracted the position or coordinates of these body parts)
extract the first area corresponding to an upper body among a plurality of coordinates for each body part, ( Fig. 7 first area is considered area corresponding to element 420) and
output the second image of the second aspect ratio based on a center of the first area and a center of the second area corresponding to the second aspect ratio. ( Fig. 7 bottom center image shows the second image corresponding to the element 420, center of first area and center of the second image is same)
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches, wherein in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including some upper bodies among the plurality of bodies, and a second area including some other upper bodies among the plurality of bodies, and select the first area closer to the center between the first area and the second area. (In Fig. 7 there are multiple upper bodies corresponding to element 410, 420 and 430. The area of resuspending to 420 is considered as the first area.)
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to display a second image of a second aspect ratio centered on the selected first area on the display. (bottom central picture of Fig,7 7 shows a second area which is centered at the center of the first area.)
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Kim teaches, wherein in the image display mode, the signal processing device is configured to, in response to the display corresponding to the first aspect ratio, display an image including the first area, and in response to the display corresponding to the second aspect ratio, display the second image of the second aspect ratio centered on the first area. ([82]…..“Meanwhile, the first partial area area_partition_1 st shown for the first time in the portrait display mode mode_portrait may be variously set according to embodiments. The central portion 210 of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video is most likely to be most important. Accordingly, the display area determiner 162 May determine the first partial area area_partition_1 st as the display area area_present such that the central portion of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content content_landscape is located at the center of the horizontal display area so that the area initially viewed is the central portion of the landscape video content content_landscape. The central portion of the horizontal pixel data refers to a middle portion of the landscape video content (content_landscape) in the horizontal direction. The center of the horizontal display area refers to a central portion of the display module 110 in the horizontal direction in the portrait display mode (mode_portrait).”)
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches, wherein in response to the display corresponding to the first aspect ratio the signal processing device is configured to display an image in which the first area is more enlarged than the first image in the image display mode. (Fig. 7, bottom center image is showing the enlarged first area which is area 410.)
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract a plurality of areas including the upper body corresponding to a part of a body in the first image and extract an area closest to a center among the plurality of areas as the first area in response to the plurality of areas being spaced apart from each other. (Fig. 7 and [0086]…..“Meanwhile, as shown in FIG. 7, when the plurality of regions of interest 420, 410, and 430 exist, it is preferable to preferentially display the region of interest 410 located at the center of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content (content_landscape_1 ) in the setting of the first partial area area_partition_1 . To this end, the display area determiner 162 May determine the first partial area area_partition_1 as the display area area_present such that the first area of interest area_interior_1 adjacent to the central portion of the horizontal pixel data of the landscape video content content_landscape is located at the center of the horizontal display area.”)
Claim 14 recites, “wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract a plurality of areas including the upper body corresponding to a part of a body in the first image, (Fig. 7 top image having multiple face image) and extract the remaining area other than an area having a size less than a reference value among the plurality of areas as the first area. (this portion is indefinite)”
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to display the second image of the second aspect ratio centered on the first area on the display in response to an aspect ratio of the display is switched to from the first aspect ratio to the second aspect ratio by rotating the display. (“[0021].The present invention has been made in an effort to solve the above problems, and an objective of the present invention is to improve user convenience by displaying an entire area of a landscape video as a display area in a landscape display mode of a portable terminal such as a smartphone, and displaying a partial area of a landscape video in a portrait display mode, so that a user can easily enlarge and enjoy a landscape video by rotating the terminal, and a user can enjoy a landscape video without changing a location of a hand in a portrait display mode suitable for a hand grip of the smartphone without changing the location of the hand” landscape display has a different aspect ratio than that of portrait display mode))
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to display the image including the first area on the display in response to an aspect ratio of the display being switched to from the second aspect ratio the first aspect ratio by rotating the display. ((“[0021].The present invention has been made in an effort to solve the above problems, and an objective of the present invention is to improve user convenience by displaying an entire area of a landscape video as a display area in a landscape display mode of a portable terminal such as a smartphone, and displaying a partial area of a landscape video in a portrait display mode, so that a user can easily enlarge and enjoy a landscape video by rotating the terminal, and a user can enjoy a landscape video without changing a location of a hand in a portrait display mode suitable for a hand grip of the smartphone without changing the location of the hand” )
[122]Meanwhile, it is preferable to switch between the landscape display mode (mode_landscape) and the portrait display mode (mode_portrait) even during the playback of the landscape video content (content_landscape).”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Publication: 20180196472, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim doesn’t expressly teach, wherein in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and displays the second image of the second aspect ratio centered on the first area.
However, Lee teaches, in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, (Fig. 6 [0083] Referring to FIG. 6, the electronic device according to an embodiment may obtain a first image 610 by using a first camera (e.g., the first camera 431). The electronic device may display the first image 610 on a display (e.g., the display 420). The electronic device may analyze the first image 610 to detect a face in the first image 610. When a plurality of faces is included in the first image 610 and located within a specified distance, the electronic device may detect a first area 611 including the plurality of faces.) and
display the second image of the second aspect ratio centered on the first area. (right fig of Fig. 6 displays the second image centered on the first area).
Kim and Lee are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in eth art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have I modified Kim to have included in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and display the second image of the second aspect ratio centered on the first area as taught by Lee.
The motivation to include the modification is to create a second image by including all the important content of first image for better visibility.
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Lee teaches, wherein in response to a size of the first area being less than a size of the second area corresponding to the second aspect ratio, the signal processing device is configured to output the second image of the second aspect ratio based on the second area including the first area. (Lee Fig 6 has first area 611 whose size is less than the second image or second area, so the second image includes all content of first area.)
The motivation for the modification is to enlarge the content of the first area.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract a plurality of areas including the upper body corresponding to a part of a body in the first image, ( Paragraph [82-86] and Fig.7 extracts plurality of face areas 410, 420, 430) but doesn’t expressly teach extract the first area including the plurality of areas in response to the plurality of areas being adjacent to each other.
However, Lee teaches, extract the first area including the plurality of areas in response to the plurality of areas being adjacent to each other (Fig. 6 [0083] Referring to FIG. 6, the electronic device according to an embodiment may obtain a first image 610 by using a first camera (e.g., the first camera 431). The electronic device may display the first image 610 on a display (e.g., the display 420). The electronic device may analyze the first image 610 to detect a face in the first image 610. When a plurality of faces is included in the first image 610 and located within a specified distance, the electronic device may detect a first area 611 including the plurality of faces.)
Kim and Lee are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in eth art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to have included extract the first area including the plurality of areas in response to the plurality of areas being adjacent to each other as taught by Lee.
The motivation to include the modification is to create a second image by including all the important contents of first image for better visibility.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park et al. (US Patent Publication: 20160343116. “Park”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the signal processing device is configured to, in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and display a second image of a second aspect ratio including the extracted first area and a surrounding area of the extracted first area on the display, and wherein the surrounding area of the first area includes a part of the first area or an area in which the part of the first area is inverted.
However, Park teaches, in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and display a second image of a second aspect ratio including the extracted first area and a surrounding area of the extracted first area on the display, and wherein the surrounding area of the first area includes a part of the first area or an area in which the part of the first area is inverted. (. (Refer to Fig. 5 and 6, and Paragraph [0077], area 520 and 620 are inverted or reversed surrounding the area having three animals. Here the space ratio of first area which is the area covering the animals is different than aspect ratio of displayed whole image.)
Kim and Park are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the area before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Kim to have included wherein the signal processing device is configured to, in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and display a second image of a second aspect ratio including the extracted first area and a surrounding area of the extracted first area on the display, and wherein the surrounding area of the first area includes a part of the first area or an area in which the part of the first area is inverted as taught by Park.
The motivation for the above is to provide proper background surrounding area of the main content in the second image.
Regarding claim 8, Kim doesn’t expressly teach, wherein in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and perform blur processing of the surrounding area of the first area in the second image based on the first area in response to an aspect ratio of the extracted first area being different from the second aspect ratio.
However, Park teaches, , wherein in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and perform blur processing of the surrounding area of the first area in the second image based on the first area in response to an aspect ratio of the extracted first area being different from the second aspect ratio. (Refer to Fig. 5 and 6 and Paragraph {0077] , area 520 and 620 are blurred surrounding the area having three animals. Here the space ratio of first area which is the area covering the animals is different than aspect ratio of displayed whole image.)
Kim and Park are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the area before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Kim to have included in response to a plurality of bodies being included in the first image, the signal processing device is configured to extract the first area including the upper body corresponding to each of the plurality of bodies, and perform blur processing of the surrounding area of the first area in the second image based on the first area in response to an aspect ratio of the extracted first area being different from the second aspect ratio as taught by Park.
The motivation for the above is to provide proper background surrounding area of the main content in the second image.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zeng et al. (US Patent Publication: 20210200990, “Zeng”).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches, wherein the signal processing device is configured to extract a plurality of areas including the upper body corresponding to a part of a body in the first image ( Paragraph [82-86] and Fig.7 extracts plurality of face areas 410, 420, 430) but doesn’t expressly teach, and extract an area having the greatest size among the plurality of areas as the first area.
Zeng teaches, extract an area having the greatest size among the plurality of areas as the first area ([0021] In one example, the step of performing a face detection process on each image frame may further include the step of extracting the face area having a greatest size when determining a plurality of the face areas within the image frame.”)
Kim and Zeng are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to include extracting an area having the greatest size among the plurality of areas as the first area as taught by Zeng.
The motivation to include the modification is to select area that has more focus for second display.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of KIM et al. (US Patent Publication: 20190311697” “Kim2”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim doesn’t expressly teach, an interface configured to receive the first image from a mobile terminal.
However, Kim 2 teaches, an interface configured to receive the first image from a mobile terminal. ([0205] Meanwhile, the second mobile terminal 600a may receive the second image from the mobile terminal 600b, perform signal processing of the second image, and display the second image which has been signal-processed.”)
Kim and Kim2 are analogous as they are from the field of image processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to have included an interface configured to receive the first image from a mobile terminal as taught by Kim2.
The motivation to include the modification is to include alternative sources of first image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ozawa et al. (US patent Pub: 2015/0055835, “Ozawa”) Para [0147] determines a first area comprising multiple body part in an image
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615