DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,751,299 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference thereof merely involves with description language that would been deemed obvious variations of forms of representation to a person skilled in the art.
Instant applicant 19/029,535
U.S Patent No 11,751,299 B2
1. An electrical load controller comprising: a controllably conductive device; and controller circuitry coupled to the controllably conductive device, the controller circuitry to: transition the controllably conductive device between a conductive state and a non-conductive state for each alternating current (AC) half cycle to provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receive, from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device.
2. The electrical load controller of claim 1, wherein to receive, from the operatively coupled accessory load controller, the one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the controller circuitry to further: receive at least one of: a first signal to cause the controllably conductive device to transition between the conductive state and the non-conductive state; a second signal to cause an increase in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device; or a third signal to cause a decrease in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
3. The electrical load controller of claim 2, wherein to receive, from the operatively coupled accessory load controller, the one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the controller circuitry to further: receive one or more signals that include an alternating current (AC) input signal.
4. The electrical load controller of claim 3 wherein the controller circuitry to further: compare the AC input signal to a high threshold value and a low threshold value.
5. The electrical load controller of claim 4 wherein, responsive to the accessory load controller disposed on the line side of the electrical load, the controller circuitry to further, receive at least one of: the first signal, wherein the first signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage less than the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; the second signal, wherein the second signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; or the third signal, wherein the third signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle.
6. The electrical load controller of claim 4 wherein, responsive to the accessory load controller disposed on the load side of the electrical load, the controller circuitry to further, receive at least one of: the first signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; the second signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle; and the third signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle.
7. The electrical load controller of claim 4 wherein the controller circuitry dynamically sets at least one of the high threshold value or the low threshold value based on the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
8. An electrical load control method, comprising: causing, by controller circuitry, a controllably conductive device to transition between a conductive state and a non-conductive state for each alternating current (AC) half cycle to provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receiving by the controller circuitry from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein receiving the one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, further comprises: receiving by the controller circuitry, at least one of: a first signal to cause the controllably conductive device to transition between the conductive state and the non-conductive state; a second signal to cause an increase in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device; or a third signal to cause a decrease in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein receiving, the one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the controller circuitry to further: receiving by the controller circuitry, one or more signals that include an alternating current (AC) input signal.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: comparing by the controller circuitry, the AC input signal to a high threshold value and a low threshold value.
12. The method of claim 11 wherein, responsive to the accessory load controller disposed on the line side of the electrical load: receiving by the controller circuitry at least one of: the first signal, wherein the first signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage less than the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; the second signal, wherein the second signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; or the third signal, wherein the third signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein, responsive to the accessor load controller disposed on the load side of the electrical load: receiving by the controller circuitry at least one of: the first signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; the second signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle; and the third signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle.
14. The method of claim 11 further comprising: dynamically setting by the controller circuitry, at least one of the high threshold value or the low threshold value based on the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
15. A non-transitory, machine readable, storage device that includes instructions that, when executed by controller circuitry in an electrical load controller, cause the controller circuitry to: cause a controllably conductive device to transition between a conductive state and a non-conductive state for each alternating current (AC) half cycle to provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receive from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device.
16. The non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 15, wherein the instructions that cause the controller circuitry to receive the one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, further cause the controller circuitry to: receive at least one of: a first signal to cause the controllably conductive device to transition between the conductive state and the non-conductive state; a second signal to cause an increase in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device; or a third signal to cause a decrease in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
17. The non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 16, wherein the instructions that cause the controller circuitry to receive the one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, further cause the controller circuitry to: receive one or more signals that include an alternating current (AC) input signal.
18. The non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller circuitry, further cause the controller circuitry to: compare the AC input signal to a high threshold value and a low threshold value.
19. The non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 18 wherein, the instructions, when executed by the controller circuitry, further cause the controller circuitry to, responsive to the accessory load controller disposed on the line side of the electrical load: receive at least one of: the first signal, wherein the first signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage less than the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; the second signal, wherein the second signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; or the third signal, wherein the third signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle.
20. The non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 18, wherein, the instructions, when executed by the controller circuitry, further cause the controller circuitry to, responsive to the accessor load controller disposed on the load side of the electrical load: receive at least one of: the first signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle; the second signal alternates between a voltage greater than the high threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle; and the third signal alternates between a voltage less than the low threshold value during the positive half of the AC voltage cycle and a voltage between the high threshold value and the low threshold value during the negative half of the AC voltage cycle.
21. The non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller circuitry, further cause the controller circuitry to: dynamically set at least one of the high threshold value or the low threshold value based on the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
1. An electrical load controller, comprising: a controllably conductive device; multi-location circuitry to receive a signal from an accessory electrical load controller; and control circuitry operatively coupled to the controllably conductive device and communicatively coupled to the multi-location circuitry, the control circuitry to: transition the controllably conductive device between conductive and non-conductive states during each half-cycle of an applied AC voltage to control power delivered to an electrical load; enable the multi-location circuitry to receive a signal from the accessory electrical load controller for at least a portion of the cycle when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state; receive, from the multi-location circuitry data representative of one of a plurality of patterns in a signal received from the accessory load controller, the received pattern indicative of a user command received as an input by the accessory load controller; and responsive to receipt of the data representative of the detected pattern, selectively adjust a duration of the conductive state of the controllably conductive device based on the user command received by the accessory load controller.
2. The load controller of claim 1 wherein to receive, from the multi-location circuitry data representative of one of a plurality of patterns, the control circuitry to further: receive, from the multi-location circuitry data representative of one of the following patterns: a first pattern indicative of a request to decrease the power provided by the controllably conductive device; a second pattern indicative of a user request to increase the power output provided by the controllably conductive device; and a third pattern indicative of a user request to terminate the power output provided by the controllably conductive device.
3. The load controller of claim 1 wherein to receive the data representative of one of the plurality of patterns in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the control circuitry to further: receive, from the multi-location circuitry data representative of one of a plurality of patterns in a signal received from the accessory load controller, the received one of the plurality of patterns received over a plurality of cycle portions when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state.
4. The load controller of claim 1 wherein to enable the multi-location circuitry to receive the signal from the accessory electrical load controller for at least the portion of the cycle when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state, the control circuitry to further: enable the multi-location circuitry after expiration of a delay period commencing with the transition of the controllably conductive device between the conductive and the non-conductive states.
5. An electrical load control method to control the power delivered to an electrical load, the method comprising: transitioning, by load control circuitry, a controllably conductive device coupled between an AC voltage source and the electrical load between conductive and non-conductive states during each half-cycle of the applied AC voltage to control power delivered to an electrical load; enabling, by the load control circuitry, multi-location circuitry to receive a signal from an accessory electrical load controller for at least a portion of the AC voltage cycle when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state; receiving, by the load control circuitry from the multi-location circuitry, data representative of a pattern in a signal received from the accessory load controller, the pattern indicative of a user command received as an input by the accessory load controller; and adjusting, by the load control circuitry, a duration of the conductive state of the controllably conductive device based on the user command received by the accessory load controller responsive to receipt of the data representative of the detected pattern.
6. The method of claim 5 wherein receiving the data representative of the pattern in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the pattern indicative of the user command received as the input by the accessory load controller, further comprises: receiving, by the load control circuitry from the multi-location circuitry, data representative of one of the following patterns: a first pattern indicative of a request to decrease the power provided by the controllably conductive device; a second pattern indicative of a user request to increase the power output provided by the controllably conductive device; and a third pattern indicative of a user request to terminate the power output provided by the controllably conductive device.
7. The method of claim 5 wherein receiving the data representative of the pattern in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the pattern indicative of the user command received as the input by the accessory load controller, further comprises: receiving, from the multi-location circuitry, the data representative of one of a plurality of patterns in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the received one of the plurality of patterns received over a plurality of cycle portions when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state.
8. The load controller of claim 1 wherein enabling the multi-location circuitry to receive the signal from the accessory electrical load controller for at least the portion of the AC voltage cycle when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state, further comprises: enabling the multi-location circuitry after expiration of a delay period commencing with the transition of the controllably conductive device between the conductive and the non-conductive states.
9. A non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device that includes instructions that, when executed by electrical load control circuitry, causes the electrical load control circuitry to: cause a controllably conductive device coupled between an AC voltage source and the electrical load to reversibly transition between conductive and non-conductive states during each half-cycle of the applied AC voltage to control power delivered to an electrical load; generate an output to enable multi-location circuitry to receive a signal from an accessory electrical load controller for at least a portion of the AC voltage cycle when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state; receive, from the multi-location circuitry, data representative of a pattern in a signal received from the accessory load controller, the pattern indicative of a user command received as an input by the accessory load controller; and adjust a duration of the conductive state of the controllably conductive device based on the user command received by the accessory load controller responsive to receipt of the data representative of the detected pattern.
10. The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 9 wherein the instructions that cause the electrical load control circuitry to receive the data representative of the pattern in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the pattern indicative of the user command received as the input by the accessory load controller, further cause the load control circuitry to: receive data representative of one of the following patterns: a first pattern indicative of a request to decrease the power provided by the controllably conductive device; a second pattern indicative of a user request to increase the power output provided by the controllably conductive device; and a third pattern indicative of a user request to terminate the power output provided by the controllably conductive device.
11. The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 9 wherein the instructions that cause the electrical load control circuitry to receive the data representative of the pattern in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the pattern indicative of the user command received as the input by the accessory load controller, further cause the load control circuitry to: receive, from the multi-location circuitry, the data representative of one of a plurality of patterns in the signal received from the accessory load controller, the received one of the plurality of patterns received over a plurality of cycle portions when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state.
12. The non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 9 wherein the instructions that cause the electrical load control circuitry to enable the multi-location circuitry to receive the signal from the accessory electrical load controller for at least the portion of the AC voltage cycle when the controllably conductive device is in the non-conductive state, further cause the load control circuitry to: enable the multi-location circuitry after expiration of a delay period commencing with the transition of the controllably conductive device between the conductive and the non-conductive states.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosebrook et al [US 2010/0138067 A1].
In regards to claims 1. Mosebrook discloses an electrical load controller (Fig. 5, 500) comprising:
a controllably conductive device (Fig. 5a, 510 or 514); and
controller circuitry (Fig. 5a, 518) coupled to the controllably conductive device (Fig. 5a, 510 and 514), the controller circuitry (Fig. 5a, 518) to:
transition the controllably conductive device (Fig. 5a, 510 or 514) between a conductive state (Paragraph [0070-74] “The controller 518 determines when to turn on the triacs 510, 514 each half-cycle”) and a non-conductive state (Paragraph [0071-73]) for each alternating current (AC) half cycle (Paragraph [0024]) to
Mosebrook does not specify in Fig. 5 provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receive, from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device.
Mosebrook discloses Fig. 8 provide a phase controlled voltage (Paragraph [0088]) such that: the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle (Paragraph [0085]); and the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) is in a non-conductive state (Paragraph [0086]) for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle (Paragraph [0088]); and receive (Paragraph [0086-87]), from an operatively coupled accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803), one or more signals (Paragraph [0090-92]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) including a pattern indicative of a user command (Paragraph [0091]) received at the accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803 or 804) to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Fig. 8 of Mosebrook with Fig. 5 to teaches or discloses provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receive, from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device for purpose of operable to control the controllably conductive device in response to the electrical characteristic sensed by the sensing device, so as to control the amount of power delivered to the load by rendering the controllably conductive device conductive to conduct the load current through the second terminal when the three-way switch is in the first state, and by rendering the controllably conductive device conductive to conduct the load current through the third load terminal when the three-way switch is in the second state as disclosed by (Mosebrook).
In regards to claims 2. Mosebrook discloses the electrical load controller of claim 1, wherein (Fig. 8, 829 and 814) to receive (Paragraph [0091]), from the operatively coupled accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803 or 804), the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) to further: receive at least one of: a first signal to cause the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) to transition between the conductive state and the non-conductive state (Claim 5, “wherein the sensing circuit is operable to generate a control signal representative of whether the charging current is flowing in the power supply and the controller is operable to change the controllably conductive device between the conductive and non-conductive states in response to the control signal.”); a second signal to cause an increase in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device; or a third signal to cause a decrease in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
In regards to claims 3. Mosebrook discloses the electrical load controller of claim 2, wherein (Fig. 8, 829 and 814) to receive (Paragraph [0091]), from the operatively coupled accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803 or 804), the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) to further: receive one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) that include an alternating current (AC) input signal (Fig. 8, 806).
In regards to claims 8. Mosebrook discloses an electrical load control (Fig. 5, 500) method, comprising:
causing, by controller circuitry (Fig. 5a, 518), a controllably conductive device (Fig. 5a, 510 or 514) to transition between a conductive state (Paragraph [0070-74] “The controller 518 determines when to turn on the triacs 510, 514 each half-cycle”) and a non-conductive state (Paragraph [0071-73]) for each alternating current (AC) half cycle (Paragraph [0024]) to
Mosebrook does not specify in Fig. 5 provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receiving by the controller circuitry from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device.
Mosebrook discloses Fig. 8 provide a phase controlled voltage (Paragraph [0088]) such that: the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle (Paragraph [0085]); and
the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) is in a non-conductive state (Paragraph [0086]) for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle (Paragraph [0088]); and
receiving (Paragraph [0086-87]) by the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) from an operatively coupled accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803), one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) including a pattern indicative of a user command (Paragraph [0091]) received at the accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803 or 804) to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Fig. 8 of Mosebrook with Fig. 5 to teaches or discloses provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receiving by the controller circuitry from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device for purpose of operable to control the controllably conductive device in response to the electrical characteristic sensed by the sensing device, so as to control the amount of power delivered to the load by rendering the controllably conductive device conductive to conduct the load current through the second terminal when the three-way switch is in the first state, and by rendering the controllably conductive device conductive to conduct the load current through the third load terminal when the three-way switch is in the second state as disclosed by (Mosebrook).
In regards to claims 9. Mosebrook discloses the method of claim 8, wherein (Fig. 8, 829 and 814) receiving (Paragraph [0091]) the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), further comprises: receiving by the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814), at least one of: a first signal to cause the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) to transition between the conductive state and the non-conductive state (Claim 5, “wherein the sensing circuit is operable to generate a control signal representative of whether the charging current is flowing in the power supply and the controller is operable to change the controllably conductive device between the conductive and non-conductive states in response to the control signal.”); a second signal to cause an increase in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device; or a third signal to cause a decrease in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
In regards to claims 10. Mosebrook discloses the method of claim 9, wherein (Paragraph [0091]) receiving (Fig. 8, 829 and 814), the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) to further: receiving by the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814), one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) that include an alternating current (AC) input signal (Fig. 8, 806).
In regards to claims 15. Mosebrook discloses (Fig. 5, 500) a non-transitory, machine readable, storage device (Fig. 5, 532) that includes instructions that, when executed by controller circuitry (Fig. 5a, 518) in an electrical load (Fig. 5a, 508) controller (Fig. 5, 500), cause the controller circuitry (Fig. 5a, 518) to:
cause a controllably conductive device (Fig. 5a, 510 or 514) to transition between a conductive state (Paragraph [0070-74] “The controller 518 determines when to turn on the triacs 510, 514 each half-cycle”) and a non-conductive state (Paragraph [0071-73]) for each alternating current (AC) half cycle (Paragraph [0024]) to
Mosebrook does not specify in Fig. 5 provide a phase controlled voltage such that:
the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and
the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and
receive from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device.
Mosebrook discloses in Fig. 8 provide a phase controlled voltage (Paragraph [0088]) such that:
the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle (Paragraph [0085]); and
the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) is in a non-conductive state (Paragraph [0086]) for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle (Paragraph [0088]); and
receive (Paragraph [0086-87]) from an operatively coupled accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803), one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) including a pattern indicative of a user command (Paragraph [0091]) received at the accessory load controller (Fig. 8, 803 or 804) to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Fig. 8 of Mosebrook with Fig. 5 to teaches or discloses provide a phase controlled voltage such that: the controllably conductive device is in a conductive state for a portion of each AC half-cycle; and the controllably conductive device is in a non-conductive state for the remaining portion of each AC half cycle; and receive from an operatively coupled accessory load controller, one or more signals during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle, the one or more signals including a pattern indicative of a user command received at the accessory load controller to adjust an operating parameter of the controllably conductive device for purpose of operable to control the controllably conductive device in response to the electrical characteristic sensed by the sensing device, so as to control the amount of power delivered to the load by rendering the controllably conductive device conductive to conduct the load current through the second terminal when the three-way switch is in the first state, and by rendering the controllably conductive device conductive to conduct the load current through the third load terminal when the three-way switch is in the second state as disclosed by (Mosebrook).
In regards to claims 16. Mosebrook discloses the non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 15, wherein the instructions that cause the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 829 and 814) to receive the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), further cause the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) to: receive at least one of: a first signal to cause the controllably conductive device (Fig. 8, 710) to transition between the conductive state and the non-conductive state (Claim 5, “wherein the sensing circuit is operable to generate a control signal representative of whether the charging current is flowing in the power supply and the controller is operable to change the controllably conductive device between the conductive and non-conductive states in response to the control signal.”); a second signal to cause an increase in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device; or a third signal to cause a decrease in the firing angle of the controllably conductive device.
In regards to claims 17. Mosebrook discloses the non-transitory, machine readable, storage device of claim 16, wherein the instructions that cause the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) to receive the one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) during the remaining portion of the AC half-cycle (Fig. 8, 803 and 806), further cause the controller circuitry (Fig. 8, 814) to: receive one or more signals (Paragraph [0088-91]) that include an alternating current (AC) input signal (Fig. 8, 806).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 11-14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
“wherein the controller circuitry to further: compare the AC input signal to a high threshold value and a low threshold value.” as shown in claim 4.
“comparing by the controller circuitry, the AC input signal to a high threshold value and a low threshold value.” as shown in claim 11.
“wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller circuitry, further cause the controller circuitry to: compare the AC input signal to a high threshold value and a low threshold value.” as shown in claim 18.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845