DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim (Claim 3) and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (CN 117233954; see attached translation) in view of Yu (Research on Diffractive Optical Elements Applied to New Display Technologies, Chapter 4 pg. 53-84; see attached translation) and in further view DeLapp (US 20200166756).
Regarding Claim 1, Tan discloses:
A method for formulating a grating vector distribution target (Tan: Title – Method, Device, and Electronic Device for Optimizing Grating Waveguide Display Device), comprising steps of:
Sampling a plurality of sub-fields of view (Tan: Fig. 3A – plurality of fields of view; para. 79 – field of view of the grating waveguide display can be equally divided into 5 * 5 field of view areas);
recording a position of an eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view (Tan: Fig. 1: 1031, 1032 – non-effective region and effective region; para. 42 – the light beam coupled out by region 1031 does not belong to effective light beam and will not be observed, the partial light beam of region 1032 belongs to the effective light beam and can be observed by the human eye [i.e. 1032 is the eye movement range effective region of a given subfield]),
estimating a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to the position of the eye movement range effective region of the plurality of sub-fields of view and the grating vector, matching with the Bragg diffraction conditions, of the ray of the plurality of sub- fields of view (Tan: para. 64 – determine target grating area according to corresponding relationship between each area in the field of view area);
the sub-field of view refers to a collection of rays having the same incident angle that ultimately enter the entire field of view (Tan: Fig. 3A – plurality of fields of view; para. 79 – field of view of the grating waveguide display can be equally divided into 5 * 5 field of view areas; para. 45-46 – light beams in each field of view may be parallel light beams [same incidence angle]);
the eye movement range effective region refers to a region covered by the rays that ultimately enter the eye movement range on the volume holographic grating (Tan: Fig. 1: 1032 – light of region 1032 constitutes effective light which will be observed by the human eye, and thus enter the eye movement range).
Tan does not disclose: calculating a grating vector, matching with Bragg diffraction conditions, of a ray of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view; determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions; and the grating vector distribution has at least one change direction, the at least one change direction is the same as a direction of a surface component of the grating vector, and the surface component of the grating vector at different positions remains constant.
Tan and Yu are related in that they both disclose methods for improving the diffraction efficiency of a diffraction grating.
Yu discloses:
calculating a grating vector, matching with Bragg diffraction conditions, of a ray of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view (Yu: Equations 4.1 – definition of grating vector; para. 6-19 – grating vector calculated according to Bragg efficiency conditions and used to determine diffraction efficiency);
and the grating vector distribution has at least one change direction (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – multiple change directions shown),
the at least one change direction is the same as a direction of a surface component of the grating vector (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – change direction same as y-component [surface] direction),
and the surface component of the grating vector at different positions remains constant (Yu: para. 37 – every section of the SVVHG [spatial-variant volume holographic grating] must have the same Ky [y-component of grating vector K, which is a surface direction]).
As established by Yu, calculation of the grating vector for a diffraction grating according to Bragg conditions is useful in the field of holographic gratings, especially in application to diffraction efficiency (Yu: para. 6-19 – grating vector calculation used to determine diffraction efficiency) and field of view expansion (Yu: para. 41-42 – angular extent of field of view limited by requirement for total internal reflection and [the fact that] incident light must satisfy Bragg condition for local grating).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to calculate a grating vector, as taught by Yu, as a step in the method of Tan, in order to improve diffraction efficiency and expand the field of view.
Furthermore, the benefit of configuring a grating vector distribution to have at least one change direction in the same direction as that of a surface component of the grating vector, with that surface component being constant for different positions, would be to avoid image blurring in the image output, as taught by Yu (Yu: para. 37 – upon entering waveguide, light refracted by local gratings must share same
θ
o
u
t
, otherwise rays would fail to focus sharply into single point when entering human eyes, resulting in image blurring).
Therefore it would also be obvious for an ordinarily skilled artisan to configure the grating vector distribution in the method of Tan to have at least one change direction in the same direction as that of a surface component of the grating vector, with that surface component being constant for different positions, as taught by Yu, in order to avoid image blurring in the image output.
However, Tan-Yu does not disclose: determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions.
Tan-Yu and DeLapp are related in that they all disclose ways to maximize diffraction efficiency in diffraction gratings.
DeLapp discloses: determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions (DeLapp: para. 53 – the diffraction efficiency at each portion of grating 148 may be tailored [e.g., Bragg-matched] to the field angles that are incident on that portion of grating 148).
The benefit of determining a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of a sub-field of view, or any other location on the grating, would be to maximize diffraction efficiency at that location, as taught by DeLapp (DeLapp: para. 53 – maximum diffraction efficiency for a given wavelength may remain high even at different incident angles by ensuring that the Bragg condition is satisfied at each location on the grating).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the step of determining a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of a sub-field of view, as taught by DeLapp, into the method of Tan-Yu, in order to maximize diffraction efficiency at any chosen location on the diffraction grating.
Regarding Claim 2, Tan-Yu-DeLapp discloses:
The method according to claim 1 (Tan: Fig. 1, 3A, para. 64; Yu: para. 6-19, 24-30, 37; DeLapp: para. 53),
wherein the grating vector distribution is a one-dimensional distribution or a two-dimensional distribution (Tan: Fig. 3A, 3B – grating vector distribution extends in two-dimensions).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Tan and in further view of DeLapp.
Regarding Claim 3, Yu discloses:
A volume holographic grating (Yu: Chapter title – Design of Space-Variant Volume Holographic Gratings for Holographic Waveguide Displays), wherein
a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating is estimated by sampling a grating vector, matching with Bragg diffraction conditions, of a ray thereof (Yu: Equations 4.1 – definition of grating vector; para. 6-19 – grating vector calculated according to Bragg efficiency conditions and used to determine diffraction efficiency),
and wherein the grating vector distribution has at least one change direction (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – multiple change directions shown),
the at least one change direction is the same as a direction of a surface component of the grating vector (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – change direction same as y-component [surface] direction),
and the surface component of the grating vector at different positions remains constant (Yu: para. 37 – every section of the SVVHG [spatial-variant volume holographic grating] must have the same Ky [y-component of grating vector K, which is a surface direction]);
Yu does not disclose: wherein a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating is estimated by sampling a position of an eye movement range effective region of a plurality of sub-fields of view; the sub-field of view refers to a collection of rays having the same incident angle that ultimately enter the entire field of view; and the eye movement range effective region refers to a region covered by the rays that ultimately enter the eye movement range on the volume holographic grating.
Yu and Tan are related in that they both disclose methods for improving the diffraction efficiency of a diffraction grating.
Tan discloses:
wherein a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating is estimated by sampling a position of an eye movement range effective region of a plurality of sub-fields of view (Tan: Fig. 1: 1031, 1032 – non-effective region and effective region; para. 42 – the light beam coupled out by region 1031 does not belong to effective light beam and will not be observed, the partial light beam of region 1032 belongs to the effective light beam and can be observed by the human eye [i.e. 1032 is the eye movement range effective region of a given subfield]);
the sub-field of view refers to a collection of rays having the same incident angle that ultimately enter the entire field of view (Tan: Fig. 3A – plurality of fields of view; para. 79 – field of view of the grating waveguide display can be equally divided into 5 * 5 field of view areas; para. 45-46 – light beams in each field of view may be parallel light beams [same incidence angle]);
and the eye movement range effective region refers to a region covered by the rays that ultimately enter the eye movement range on the volume holographic grating (Tan: Fig. 1: 1032 – light of region 1032 constitutes effective light which will be observed by the human eye, and thus enter the eye movement range).
The benefit of sampling an eye movement range effective region of a plurality of sub-fields of view would be to control the energy diffraction efficiency of each diffraction order in a targeted manner, as taught by Tan (Tan: para. 121 – according to the different propagation paths of different fields of view, the energy diffraction efficiency of each diffraction order can be controlled in a targeted manner, thereby achieving the purpose of flexibly controlling the energy coupling out of each field of view.)
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to configure the volume holographic grating of Yu to sample an eye movement range effective region of a plurality of sub-fields of view, as taught by Tan, in order to control the diffraction efficiency of each diffraction in order for a given field of view in a targeted manner.
However, Yu-Tan does not disclose: determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions.
Yu-Tan and DeLapp are related in that they all disclose ways to maximize diffraction efficiency in diffraction gratings.
DeLapp discloses: determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions (DeLapp: para. 53 – the diffraction efficiency at each portion of grating 148 may be tailored [e.g., Bragg-matched] to the field angles that are incident on that portion of grating 148).
The benefit of determining a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of a sub-field of view, or any other location on the grating, would be to maximize diffraction efficiency at that location, as taught by DeLapp (DeLapp: para. 53 – maximum diffraction efficiency for a given wavelength may remain high even at different incident angles by ensuring that the Bragg condition is satisfied at each location on the grating).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the step of determining a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of a sub-field of view, as taught by DeLapp, into the method of Yu-Tan, in order to maximize diffraction efficiency at any chosen location on the diffraction grating.
Regarding Claim 4, Yu-Tan-DeLapp discloses:
The volume holographic grating according to claim 3 (Yu: para. 6-19, Fig. 4.4; Tan: Fig. 1, 3A, para. 121),
wherein the grating vector distribution is formulated using a method for formulating a grating vector distribution target, comprising steps of
calculating a grating vector, matching with Bragg diffraction conditions, of a ray of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view (Yu: Equations 4.1 – definition of grating vector; para. 6-19 – grating vector calculated according to Bragg efficiency conditions and used to determine diffraction efficiency);
and the grating vector distribution has at least one change direction, (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – multiple change directions shown)
the at least one change direction is the same as a direction of a surface component of the grating vector (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – change direction same as y-component [surface] direction),
and the surface component of the grating vector at different positions remains constant (Yu: para. 37 – every section of the SVVHG [spatial-variant volume holographic grating] must have the same Ky [y-component of grating vector K, which is a surface direction]).
Yu does not disclose: Sampling a plurality of sub-fields of view; recording a position of an eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view, estimating a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to the position of the eye movement range effective region of the plurality of sub-fields of view and the grating vector, matching with the Bragg diffraction conditions, of the ray of the plurality of sub- fields of view; and determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution; and that the sub-field of view refers to a collection of rays having the same incident angle that ultimately enter the entire field of view; the eye movement range effective region refers to a region covered by the rays that ultimately enter the eye movement range on the volume holographic grating.
Yu and Tan are related in that they both disclose methods for improving the diffraction efficiency of diffraction gratings.
Tan discloses:
Sampling a plurality of sub-fields of view (Tan: Fig. 3A – plurality of fields of view; para. 79 – field of view of the grating waveguide display can be equally divided into 5 * 5 field of view areas);
recording a position of an eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view (Tan: Fig. 1: 1031, 1032 – non-effective region and effective region; para. 42 – the light beam coupled out by region 1031 does not belong to effective light beam and will not be observed, the partial light beam of region 1032 belongs to the effective light beam and can be observed by the human eye [i.e. 1032 is the eye movement range effective region of a given subfield]),
estimating a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to the position of the eye movement range effective region of the plurality of sub-fields of view and the grating vector, matching with the Bragg diffraction conditions, of the ray of the plurality of sub- fields of view (Tan: para. 64 – determine target grating area according to corresponding relationship between each area in the field of view area);
the sub-field of view refers to a collection of rays having the same incident angle that ultimately enter the entire field of view (Tan: Fig. 3A – plurality of fields of view; para. 79 – field of view of the grating waveguide display can be equally divided into 5 * 5 field of view areas; para. 45-46 – light beams in each field of view may be parallel light beams [same incidence angle]);
the eye movement range effective region refers to a region covered by the rays that ultimately enter the eye movement range on the volume holographic grating (Tan: Fig. 1: 1032 – light of region 1032 constitutes effective light which will be observed by the human eye, and thus enter the eye movement range).
The benefit of sampling an eye movement range effective region of a plurality of sub-fields of view would be to control the energy diffraction efficiency of each diffraction order in a targeted manner, as taught by Tan (Tan: para. 121 – according to the different propagation paths of different fields of view, the energy diffraction efficiency of each diffraction order can be controlled in a targeted manner, thereby achieving the purpose of flexibly controlling the energy coupling out of each field of view.)
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the steps of sampling an eye movement range effective region of a plurality of sub-fields of view and using them to estimate a grating vector distribution, as taught by Tan, into the method of Yu on the volume holographic grating of Yu, in order to control the diffraction efficiency of each diffraction in order for a given field of view in a targeted manner.
However, Yu-Tan does not disclose: determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions.
Yu-Tan and DeLapp are related in that they all disclose ways to maximize diffraction efficiency in diffraction gratings.
DeLapp discloses: determining a grating vector distribution of the volume holographic grating according to the estimated grating vector distribution using the principle that a grating vector at a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of each of the plurality of sub-fields of view precisely matches with the Bragg diffraction conditions (DeLapp: para. 53 – the diffraction efficiency at each portion of grating 148 may be tailored [e.g., Bragg-matched] to the field angles that are incident on that portion of grating 148).
The benefit of determining a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of a sub-field of view, or any other location on the grating, would be to maximize diffraction efficiency at that location, as taught by DeLapp (DeLapp: para. 53 – maximum diffraction efficiency for a given wavelength may remain high even at different incident angles by ensuring that the Bragg condition is satisfied at each location on the grating).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to include the step of determining a grating vector distribution of a volume holographic grating according to a coupling tail end of the eye movement range effective region of a sub-field of view, as taught by DeLapp, into the method of Yu-Tan, in order to maximize diffraction efficiency at any chosen location on the diffraction grating.
Regarding Claim 5, Yu-Tan-DeLapp discloses:
The volume holographic grating according to claim 4 (Yu: para. 6-19, Fig. 4.4; Tan: Fig. 1, 3A, para. 121; DeLapp: para. 53),
wherein the volume holographic grating comprises a coupling-in region (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – in-coupling SVVHG [spatial-variant volume holographic grating]),
a deflecting region (in the alternative) and/or
a coupling-out region (Yu: Fig. 4.4 – out-coupling SVVHG [spatial-variant volume holographic grating]; also in the alternative).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US-20250284045-A1) – discloses volume holographic grating and arrangement of grating vectors to decrease noise/interference, para. 25 surface components of grating vectors
Ma (CN-117538971-A) – discloses apparatus and method for manufacturing a volume holographic grating, Fig. 1-3 Apparatus
Fei (Diffraction Angular Bandwidth Broadening of Volume Holographic Grating by Multiplex Structures, pages 090901-1 to 090901-5) – discloses method for widening bandwidth and field of view of volume holographic grating, Sections 3.1-3.3 Grating Vectors and determination of sub-fields of view
/C.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871