DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 13, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 state the qualifier “rich” after the components water and solvent respectively. This term is indefinite because the specification provides no guidance on what encompasses “rich” and one skilled would be unable to ascertain the specific meaning. Correction are required.
Claims 22-24contains the trademark/trade names. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe CAS #’s for specific compounds accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11-14, 18-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by DE (60120142).
DE ‘142 discloses a skin cleanser comprising at (0030):
Ethanol 30% 2,2,2-trichloroethanol 5% 2,4-diaminopyrimidine-3-N-oxide 1.5% Perfume 0.5% water ad 100. DE ‘142 further includes embodiments comprising additional components such as sulfate and nonionic surfactants; triethanolamine, betaines and additional solvents.
As this reference teach all of the instantly required it is considered anticipatory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (60120142) in view of Skee (6599370).
DE ‘142 is relied upon as set forth above. Specifically, DE ‘142 includes anionic and nonionic surfactants within the personal cleanser as described above. However, the acetylenic surfactant as claimed is silent to DE ‘142.
Skee discloses a hard surface cleanser utilizing nonionic surfactant such as acetylenic diols (col. 9, line 52) and trichloroethanol (claim 60).
One skilled in the art would further include a nonionic surfactant such as an acetylenic to further reduce the surface tension of a substrate while utilizing a solvent such as trichloroethanol since said combination have been readily utilized for said purposes.
Claim(s) 9-10, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (60120142) in view of Jonnson (4592787).
DE ‘142 lack a specific teaching of the alkanolamine as claimed. Johnson discloses a hard surface cleanser comprising glycol ether solvents and alkanolamines (abstract). Specific alkanolamine include DE ‘142 teaches amines having greater than 6 carbons where one skilled would have utilized said alkanolamines to further protect the substrates as suggested by Johnson (col. 4, lines 3-19).
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE (60120142) in view of McDermott et al (7267727).
DE ‘142 is relied upon as set forth above. Specifically, DE ‘142 is silent with respect to the specific carbonate solvent as a secondary solvent.
McDermott et al disclose a hard surface cleanser comprising solvents such as ethylene and propylene carbonate (col. 20, line 67-col. 21, line 1).
One skilled in the art would have utilized ethylene or propylene carbonate as secondary solvent in DE ‘142 since DE ‘142 invites the use of secondary solvents and McDermott et al teach that said carbonates aid in stripping additional layers one skilled would have been motivated to include said solvent in an additive or cumulative manner with similar expectations of success.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761