DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Each of claims 10 and 21, recites: “receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class”. However, it is unclear how a user “performs” an exercise class. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. Claims 11-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 10.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the following reason. Claim 14 recites: “receiving the exercise content from the content provider”, while claim 10, upon which claim 14 depends, recites: “generating exercise content…and delivering the generated exercise content”. However, it is unclear whether the “exercise content” is received, as recited in claim 14, or generated, as recited in claim 1. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9-10 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,554,293. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both are directed towards a system comprising: a database storing exercise content; and a platform server operable to facilitate delivery of the exercise content to an exercise apparatus, the platform server configured to: receive performance data, from the exercise apparatus, for a user participating in an exercise class, generate updated content associated with the exercise class, including computer-generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network, and deliver the updated content to the exercise apparatus; and A method comprising: receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class, generating exercise content that is based on the performance data using a neural network, and delivering the generated exercise content to an exercise apparatus associated with the user/A method, comprising: receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class, generating, via a neural network, exercise content that includes a combination of pre-existing content and computer-generated or computer modified content, and delivering the generated exercise content to an exercise apparatus associated with the user. Specifically, the limitations of claims 2-3 of current application, corresponds to the limitations of claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,554,293 B2, limitations of claims 4-7 of current application, corresponds to the limitations of claim 2 of US Patent No. 11,554,293 B2, limitations of claim 8 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 3 of US Patent No. 11,554,293 B2, limitations of claim 9 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,554,293 B2, limitations of claims 10-16 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 9 of US Patent No. 11,554,293 B2, and limitations of claims 17-21 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claims 10 and 17 of US Patent No. 11,554,293 B2.
Claims 2-14 and 16-21 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-11 and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,534,661 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both are directed towards a system comprising: a database storing exercise content; and a platform server operable to facilitate delivery of the exercise content to an exercise apparatus, the platform server configured to: receive performance data, from the exercise apparatus, for a user participating in an exercise class, generate updated content associated with the exercise class, including computer-generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network, and deliver the updated content to the exercise apparatus; and A method comprising: receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class, generating exercise content that is based on the performance data using a neural network, and delivering the generated exercise content to an exercise apparatus associated with the user/A method, comprising: receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class, generating, via a neural network, exercise content that includes a combination of pre-existing content and computer-generated or computer modified content, and delivering the generated exercise content to an exercise apparatus associated with the user. Specifically, limitations of claims 2-3 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claims 1 and 7 of US Patent No. 11,534,661 B2, limitations of claims 4-7 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claims 8-9 of US Patent No. 11,534,661 B2, limitations of claims 8-9 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 10 of US Patent No. 11,534,661 B2, and limitations of claims 10-14 and 16-21 of current application, corresponds to the limitations of claims 11 and 17-19 of US Patent No. 11,534,661 B2.
Claims 2-21 are further rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-7 and 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both are directed towards a system comprising: a database storing exercise content; and a platform server operable to facilitate delivery of the exercise content to an exercise apparatus, the platform server configured to: receive performance data, from the exercise apparatus, for a user participating in an exercise class, generate updated content associated with the exercise class, including computer-generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network, and deliver the updated content to the exercise apparatus; and A method comprising: receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class, generating exercise content that is based on the performance data using a neural network, and delivering the generated exercise content to an exercise apparatus associated with the user/A method, comprising: receiving performance data associated with a user performing an exercise class, generating, via a neural network, exercise content that includes a combination of pre-existing content and computer-generated or computer modified content, and delivering the generated exercise content to an exercise apparatus associated with the user. Specifically, limitations of claim 2 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 3 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claims 4-6 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 7 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 8 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 9 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claims 10-11 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claims 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 12 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 13 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 14 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 15 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, limitations of claim 16-20 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claims 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2, and limitations of claim 21 of current application, corresponds to limitations of claims 12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,259 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward et al. (US 2020/0047055 A1) in view of and Li et al. (US 10,726,738 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Ward teaches a system, comprising:
a database storing exercise content (¶ [43], since stored video can be received by an exercise machine display, a database storing such exercise content has to exist); and
a platform server operable to facilitate delivery of the exercise content to an exercise apparatus (Fig. 1, ¶ [42], [48], i.e., exercise apparatus 200, 702), the platform server configured to:
receive performance data, from the exercise apparatus, for a user participating in an exercise class (Figs. 1 and 10B, ¶ [40]-[44], the display can present a user training videos, interactive simulated or live person video for training. Trainers can also be selected by the user. Such presentation of the interactive simulated or live person video for training to the user by a user selected trainer is considered participation of the user in an exercise class);
generate updated content associated with the exercise class, including computer-generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through machine learning systems (Figs. 6A, 7-10B, ¶ [43], [47], [62], [64]-[67], augmented reality graphics can be superimposed on the user image to provide guidance for improving user position. The backing display can provide continuously updated textual, graphical or video information that is positioned on the screen based at least in part on user position. Textual information (604A) can be placed above the user’s image, target positions (614A) for arm/hand position can be illustrated and arrows (612A) direct the user to adopt a proper exercise position. Similarly arrows (610A) can indicate to a user the need to widen stance, which can also be textually indicated, provided by audio directions, and/or provided by video directions. The system can also provide dynamically modifiable exercise scripts to support force profiles of exercises or exercise routines); and
deliver the updated content to the exercise apparatus (¶ [43], [47], [62], [64]-[67]).
Ward is silent about the updated content including computer generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches a system comprising: a server (col. 3 lines 46-67), the server configured to: receive performance data for a user exercising (col. 2 line 60 – col 3 lines 67); generate updated content, including computer generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network (Figs. 8 and 9B, col. 13 line 34 – col. 14 line 51, a feedback module is constructed using a machine learning technique. The learning machine can be implemented using a decision tree, a neural network, etc.); and deliver the updated content to a user’s device (Figs. 8-9B, col. 13 line 34 – col. 14 line 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ward’s invention such that the updated content including computer generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network, as taught by Li in order to generate the updated content with enhanced speed and creativity at lower cost.
Regarding claim 3, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the performance data includes sensor data, user performance metrics, or user preference data for a user of the exercise apparatus (Ward: Figs. 1, 6A, 7-9 and 10B, ¶ [41]; Li: Figs. 1, 2B and 8, col. 2 line 60 – col. 3 line 7).
Regarding claim 4, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the exercise content includes computer-generated content comprising computer generated music or computer-generated video (Ward: ¶ [47] lines 1-6, [62] lines 6-16).
Regarding claim 5, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the computer-generated or computer-modified media content is generated in real-time during transmission of the exercise class (Ward: ¶ [43], [47] lines 1-6, [66]; Li: Fig. 8, col. 14 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 6, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the computer-generated or computer-modified media content changes in response to changes in the performance data (Ward: ¶ [40]-[44], [47], [62], [64]-[67]).
Regarding claim 7, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the performance data includes cadence data, speed data, or heart rate data (Li: Figs. 9A-9B, col. 5 line 60-66, speed data, cadence data).
Regarding claim 8, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the exercise content includes exercise class content including audio cues from an exercise instructor, video content of the exercise instructor, or scenery within the exercise class (Ward: 105 in Fig. 1, Fig. 10A; Li: Fig. 8, col. 13 lines 55-57).
Regarding claim 9, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the updated content associated with the exercise class is delivered to the exercise apparatus by an application provider through an application facilitating the exercise class running on an application server (Ward: ¶ [42], [89]; Li: col. 13 lines 34-67); and wherein the application facilitating the exercise class generates session content for delivery to the exercise apparatus (Ward: Fig. 1, ¶ [42], [89]; Li: Fig. 8, col. 13 lines 34-67).
Regarding claims 10-13 and 16-21, Ward in view of Li teaches the methods reciting same/similar limitations as those of claims 1-7 (see rejection of claims 1-7 above for details, the same cited portions of Ward and Li above also apply to limitations of claims 10-13 and 16-21).
Regarding claim 14, Ward in view of Li teaches the method further comprising: forwarding the performance data to a content provider, and receiving the exercise content from the content provider (Ward: ¶ [65]-[66], since real-time live feedback based on sensor and other data collected can be provided, such performance data/sensor and other data collected has is forwarded to a content provider (i.e., trainer) and exercise content/feedback is provided by the content provider).
Regarding claim 15, Ward in view of Li teaches wherein the performance data is based on movement of a portion of the exercise apparatus during the exercise class (Ward: Fig. 5, ¶ [41], [56], [61]).
Claims 2, 10 and 21 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN107737439A, a translation copy of this document has been provided with this Office Action. The cited paragraphs are with respect to the translation) in view of Ward et al. (US 2020/0047055 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches a system, comprising:
a database storing exercise content (¶ [19], [26], [28], [58], [60], [71], i.e., library/repository); and
a platform server operable to facilitate delivery of the exercise content to a user terminal (¶ [10]-[11], [28], [48]-[49], [72], note user terminal includes management terminal, data acquisition termina, a wearable terminal and a field terminal associated with the location of the user and including a display terminal), the platform server configured to:
receive performance data, from the user terminal, for the user participating in an exercise (¶ [11]-[12], [15], [25], [33], [50], [61], [69], [72]);
generate updated content associated with the exercise, including computer- generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through a neural network (¶ [30]-[32], [52], [62], [73]); and
deliver the updated content to the user terminal (¶ [30]-[33], [52], [62], [73]).
Xu is silent about an exercise apparatus from which performance data is received and to which exercise/updated content is delivered, and the updated content being associated with an exercise class in which the user is participating.
Regarding claim 2, Ward teaches a system, comprising: a database storing exercise content (¶ [43], since stored video can be received by an exercise machine display, a database storing such exercise content has to exist); and a platform server operable to facilitate delivery of the exercise content to an exercise apparatus (Fig. 1, ¶ [42], [48], i.e., exercise apparatus 200, 702), the platform server configured to: receive performance data, from the exercise apparatus, for a user participating in an exercise class (Figs. 1 and 10B, ¶ [40]-[44], the display can present a user training videos, interactive simulated or live person video for training. Trainers can also be selected by the user. Such presentation of the interactive simulated or live person video for training to the user by a user selected trainer is considered participation of the user in an exercise class); generate updated content associated with the exercise class, including computer-generated or computer-modified media content generated from the performance data through machine learning systems (Figs. 6A, 7-10B, ¶ [43], [47], [62], [64]-[67], augmented reality graphics can be superimposed on the user image to provide guidance for improving user position. The backing display can provide continuously updated textual, graphical or video information that is positioned on the screen based at least in part on user position. Textual information (604A) can be placed above the user’s image, target positions (614A) for arm/hand position can be illustrated and arrows (612A) direct the user to adopt a proper exercise position. Similarly arrows (610A) can indicate to a user the need to widen stance, which can also be textually indicated, provided by audio directions, and/or provided by video directions. The system can also provide dynamically modifiable exercise scripts to support force profiles of exercises or exercise routines); and deliver the updated content to the exercise apparatus (¶ [43], [47], [62], [64]-[67]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu’s invention with an exercise apparatus from which performance data is received and to which exercise/updated content is delivered, and the updated content being associated with an exercise class in which the user is participating, as taught by Ward in order to enable users at different geographical locations exercise together and with friends and thereby keep the users motivated to exercise.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Xu in view of Ward teaches the methods reciting same/similar limitations as those of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above for details, the same cited portions of Xu and Ward above also apply to limitations of claims 10 and 21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0056132 A1 to Foley (pertinent to claims 2-21) and US 2019/0295429 A1 to McHugh et al. (pertinent to claims 2, 10 and 21).
/SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784