DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1–5 and 7–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi (JP 2012-021112 A) in view of Masahiko (JP 2014-133841 A).
Hiroshi teaches the formation of a prepreg, wherein the prepreg comprises a carbon fiber-reinforced composite material that include a matrix resin composition of epoxy resin, a polycarbonate resin, and a curing agent. Hiroshi abstract. The polycarbonate resin has a glass transition temperature of 80oC or higher. Id. The curing agent may comprise dicyandiamide. Id. Example 1. The matrix resin composition may preferably comprise 10–45 parts by weight of polycarbonate resin relative to 100 partis by mass of epoxy resin. Id. Description of Embodiments. The prepreg may comprise a resin composition content in the range of 15–60 weight percent. Id. As such, the prepreg also comprises 40–85 weight percent carbon fibers. Accordingly, the prepreg of Hiroshi has a mass ratio of the matrix resin composition relative to the mass of carbon fibers within the claimed range. The carbon fibers of the Hiroshi prepreg may be in the form of a unidirectional fabric, wherein the aligned fibers of the fabric are impregnated with the matrix resin composition. Id. Example 1. The prepreg may be formed by pressing the prepreg at a temperature of 150oC. Id.
Hiroshi fails to teach that the polycarbonate resin is an aliphatic polycarbonate resin.
Masahiko teaches the formation of a carbon fiber-reinforced polycarbonate-based prepreg high in resin impregnation, strength retention when exposed to high temperatures, and excellent in moldability. Masahiko abstract. The polycarbonate is preferably aliphatic and derived from a hydroxy compound and has a degree of biomass. Id. Technical Field. The dihydroxy compound is represented by the claimed structure of Formula (1) and specific examples of preferred dihydroxy compounds used to make the polycarbonate are 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and tricyclodecanedimethanol based upon their light resistance. Id. Description of Embodiments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have looked to Masahiko for guidance as to a suitable polycarbonate in order to successfully practice the invention of Hiroshi and provide the prepreg with light resistance. The polycarbonate resin of Masahiko is derived from a hydroxy compound containing a specific structure, such as isosorbide, which is a biomass resource with a high glass transition temperature, provides high resin impregnation into carbon fibers and retains strength at high temperatures. Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected as obvious as it would be desirable to have the matrix resin composition to have a biomass degree of 5% or more as naturally-based resins have a lower carbon footprint and are renewable.
Claim(s) 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi and Masahiko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of and Choi (US 2015/0166790 A1).
Hiroshi and Masahiko fail to teach the use of an imidazole compound as a curing agent.
Choi teaches the formation of an aliphatic polycarbonate and epoxy composition, wherein the composition further comprises an imidazole curing agent. Choi abstract, ¶¶ 6, 24, 45, 52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected an imidazole-based compound as a curing agent for the combined teachings of Hiroshi and Masahiko motivated by the desire to select a curing agent that specifically used for aliphatic polycarbonate compositions.
Claim(s) 14–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi and Masahiko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of and Choi (US 2015/0166790 A1).
Hiroshi teaches the formation of a prepreg, wherein the prepreg comprises a carbon fiber-reinforced composite material that include a matrix resin composition of epoxy resin, a polycarbonate resin, and a curing agent. Hiroshi abstract. The polycarbonate resin has a glass transition temperature of 80oC or higher. Id. The curing agent may comprise dicyandiamide. Id. Example 1. The matrix resin composition may preferably comprise 10–45 parts by weight of polycarbonate resin relative to 100 partis by mass of epoxy resin. Id. Description of Embodiments. The prepreg may comprise a resin composition content in the range of 15–60 weight percent. Id. As such, the prepreg also comprises 40–85 weight percent carbon fibers. Accordingly, the prepreg of Hiroshi has a mass ratio of the matrix resin composition relative to the mass of carbon fibers within the claimed range. The carbon fibers of the Hiroshi prepreg may be in the form of a unidirectional fabric, wherein the aligned fibers of the fabric are impregnated with the matrix resin composition. Id. Example 1. The prepreg may be formed by pressing the prepreg at a temperature of 150oC. Id.
Hiroshi fails to teach that the polycarbonate resin includes a structural unit derived from a dihydroxy compound represented by Formula (1).
Masahiko teaches the formation of a carbon fiber-reinforced polycarbonate-based prepreg high in resin impregnation, strength retention when exposed to high temperatures, and excellent in moldability. Masahiko abstract. The polycarbonate is preferably aliphatic and derived from a hydroxy compound and has a degree of biomass. Id. Technical Field. The dihydroxy compound is represented by the claimed structure of Formula (1) and specific examples of preferred dihydroxy compounds used to make the polycarbonate are 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and tricyclodecanedimethanol based upon their light resistance. Id. Description of Embodiments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have looked to Masahiko for guidance as to a suitable polycarbonate in order to successfully practice the invention of Hiroshi and provide the prepreg with light resistance.
Hiroshi and Masahiko fail to teach the use of an imidazole compound as a curing agent.
Choi teaches the formation of an aliphatic polycarbonate and epoxy composition, wherein the composition further comprises an imidazole curing agent. Choi abstract, ¶¶ 6, 24, 45, 52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected an imidazole-based compound as a curing agent for the combined teachings of Hiroshi and Masahiko motivated by the desire to select a curing agent that specifically used for aliphatic polycarbonate compositions.
The polycarbonate resin of Masahiko is derived from a hydroxy compound containing a specific structure, such as isosorbide, which is a biomass resource with a high glass transition temperature, provides high resin impregnation into carbon fibers and retains strength at high temperatures. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected as obvious as it would be desirable to have the matrix resin composition to have a biomass degree of 5% or more as naturally-based resins have a lower carbon footprint and are renewable.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786