DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on November 7, 2025, claims 1 and 3-6 have been amended, and claims 2 and 7 have been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1 and 3-6 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on November 7, 2025, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated August 11, 2025, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in each of Fig. 5, 6A, and 6B, the brackets referring to an overall structure and/or assembly of parts should each have a corresponding reference character. For example, in Fig. 5, reference character “10” could be associated with the bracket and used to refer to the overall combined goggle structure.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because at line 2, “said coupling seats” should read “said corresponding plurality of coupling seats”.
Claim 6 is objected to because at line 2, “lends” should read “lens”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088521 to Shiue (hereinafter “Shiue”), in view of US 2016/0327810 to Cross (hereinafter, “Cross”), and in view of USPN 6,138,286 to Robrahn et al. (hereinafter, “Robrahn”).
Regarding claim 1, Shiue teaches swimming goggles (See Shiue, Fig. 2A; swimming goggle mask (10); abstract), comprising: at least one lens (See Shiue, Fig. 2A; lenses (13)); a support frame for said at least one lens, the support frame comprising at least one annular frame element congruent with a perimeter of said at least one lens (See Shiue, Figs. 2A-2B; frame formed from elements (121) each corresponding with a perimeter of a respective lens (13); Examiner notes that the term "congruent" is very broad and merely means "corresponding; congruous" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)); a gasket configured to rest on a swimmer's face, the gasket comprising at least one annular gasket portion congruent with a perimeter of said at least one annular frame element, said at least one annular gasket portion having a shaped perimeter edge engaged in a fluid-tight manner with said at least one annular frame element (See Shiue, Figs. 2A-2B; water sealing skirt (14) having gasket portion (142) is configured to rest on a hypothetical swimmer’s face; water sealing skirt (14) includes annular gasket portions (141) congruent with respective perimeters of respective annular elements (121); each portion (142) includes shaped perimeter edge engageable in sealing manner with respective element (121); Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)), wherein said at least one lens comprising a reinforcement frame forming a periphery, the reinforcement frame equipped with fluid-tight clamping means for securing said at least one lens against said shaped perimeter edge of said at least one annular gasket portion (See Shiue, Fig. 2A; each lens (13) includes a respective frame (122) forming a periphery and having teeth for engaging corresponding recesses on elements (121) and securing the lens against water sealing skirt (14) when assembled, i.e., Fig. 2B), wherein said fluid-tight clamping means comprises at least a plurality of teeth engaged in a corresponding plurality of coupling seats provided in said at least one annular frame element (See Shiue, Fig. 2A; each respective frame (122) has teeth for engaging corresponding recesses on elements (121) and securing the respective lens against water sealing skirt (14) when assembled, i.e., Fig. 2B).
That said, although Shiue contemplates forming one or more parts of the lens and frame as single piece (See Shiue, [0025]), Shiue is silent to the lens and the reinforcement frame being formed as a single piece and the reinforcement frame forming a periphery of the single piece.
However, Cross, in a related swimming goggle art, is directed to a lens that is interchangeably removable form a frame (See Cross, Figs. 1-8; abstract). More specifically, Cross teaches the lens and the reinforcement frame being formed as a single piece and the reinforcement frame forming a periphery of the single piece (See Cross, Figs. 6-8; lens (1, 101) and lens frame (110) having toothed mating assembly extended therefrom can be formed integrally as a single piece; frame (110) forms a periphery of the single piece; [0050]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the lens and lens frame of Shiue to be a single, integral piece as disclosed by Cross for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, reducing a number of individual pieces required to be manufactured and assembled, and further since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B). Furthermore, as a result of the above modification, the modified swimming goggles of Shiue (i.e., Shiue in view of Cross, as discussed above) would further teach wherein said at least one lens is monolithically molded with said reinforcement frame and said fluid-tight clamping means (See Shiue, Fig. 2A; as discussed in the modification above, each lens (13) and frame (122) having teeth, i.e., the fluid-tight clamping means, would be integrally formed as a single piece, i.e., monolithic; Examiner notes that being “molded” is a product-by-process limitation; the resulting structure of the prior art, i.e., the lens, reinforcement frame, and fluid-tight clamping means being a monolithic, single piece, meets the structural requirements of the claim limitation).
That said, the modified swimming goggles of Shiue (i.e., Shiue in view of Cross, as discussed above) is silent to the lens and frame being formed of polycarbonate.
However, Robrahn, in a related swimming goggle art, is directed to a goggle having a replaceable plastic lens mounted in a flexible frame (See Robrahn, Figs. 1 and 3; abstract). More specifically, Robrahn teaches the lens and frame being formed of polycarbonate (See Robrahn, Figs. 1 and 3; lens (24) includes integral mounting teeth (102, 104) about a periphery frame, the entire structure being formed of polycarbonate; Col. 4, lines 45-51).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the integrally formed lens, frame, and teeth of the modified swimming goggles of Shiue from the polycarbonate material disclosed by Robrahn in order to form the entire lens structure from a hard, durable material that offers impact resistance while maintaining sufficient optical qualities (See Robrahn, Col. 6, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 3, the modified swimming goggles of Shiue (i.e., Shiue in view of Cross and Robrahn, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein said plurality of teeth is configured to reversibly engage said corresponding plurality of coupling seats from a front of said at least one annular frame element through elastic deformation (See Shiue, Fig. 2A; each lens (13) includes a respective frame (122) having teeth for engaging corresponding recesses on elements (121) and securing the lens against water sealing skirt (14) when assembled, i.e., Fig. 2B; teeth are capable of engaging the element (121) from a front of the frame and being reversibly disassembled).
Regarding claim 4, the modified swimming goggles of Shiue (i.e., Shiue in view of Cross and Robrahn, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein said reinforcement frame is formed as a peripheral thickening of said at least one lens (See Shiue, Figs. 2A-2C; frames (122) form thicker peripherals around respective lenses (13) in the modified swimming goggles as discussed above).
Regarding claim 5, the modified swimming goggles of Shiue (i.e., Shiue in view of Cross and Robrahn, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein said coupling seats are formed as blind recesses distributed along an internal annular surface of said annular frame element congruent with the perimeter of said at least one lens (See Shiue, Fig. 2A: recess distributed around internal annular surface of each frame element (121) are blind recesses and congruent with perimeter surface of respective lenses (13) when assembled).
Regarding claim 6, the modified swimming goggles of Shiue (i.e., Shiue in view of Cross, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the at least one lends comprises two lenses (See Shiue, Figs. 2A-2B; two lenses (13)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s apparent argument that the projections of Robrahn do not serve any function in relation to the fluid-tight peripheral sealing of the lens and does not teach a fluid-tight seal, Examiner notes that Robrahn is not relied upon for teaching a fluid-tight seal in the previous or current grounds of rejection. As discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, Shiue, not Robrahn, is relied upon for teaching a reinforcement frame equipped with fluid-tight clamping means, i.e., teeth, for forming a fluid-tight seal with a gasket. Robrahn is only relied upon for teaching the overall lens structure being formed from polycarbonate in the current grounds of rejection. Examiner further notes that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., reinforcement of the fluid-tight seal; the possibility of replacing the lens; and an expanded field of vision) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732