This is the first Office Action for the serial number 19/029,671, CONVERTIBLE TODDLER CHAIR AND STANDING PLATFORM, filed on 1/17/25.
EXAMINER'S AMENDMENT
An examiner’s amendment to the record appears below. Should the changes and/or additions be unacceptable to applicant, an amendment may be filed as provided by 37 CFR 1.312. To ensure consideration of such an amendment, it MUST be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee.
The application has been amended as follows:
Claim 14, line 1, “claim 12” has been changed to ---claim 13---;
Claim 15, line 1, “claim 12” has been changed to ---claim 13---.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group/species II (claims 1-9 and 13-16) in the reply filed on 6/19/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a search of group II would overlap groups II-VII and that there is no serious burden for such a search”. This is not found persuasive because there are plurality different designs of feature for the convertible toddler chair and standing platform which put a serious burden on examiner to search outside of his art unit for a specific parts of the convertible toddler chair and standing platform which are not found in class 297.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2020/0397150 to Li.
Li teaches a convertible toddler chair and standing platform comprising a frame assembly having a front leg (11) and a rear leg (12). The front and rear legs are being pivotally connected and configured to enable movement of the legs about a folding axis between folded and unfolded configurations. The platform includes a seat assembly (20, 24) disposed above the platform and moveably connected to the frame assembly by an elevating frame (30). The seat assembly including a seating panel and a pivotally coupled backrest panel. The platform includes a seat linkage having a primary link (40) and a secondary link (131). The seat linkage interconnecting the seating panel and the frame assembly. The seat linkage coordinating movement of the seat panel toward a standing mode with elevating frame movement in a first direction, and coordinating movement of the seating panel with elevating frame movement in a second direction opposite the first direction. The seat linkage is configured to restrain the seating panel and the elevating frame in the standing mode in an over-center alignment. The platform further comprise a platform panel (22) pivotally connected to the front leg and moveable between folded and unfolded positions. The platform is moveable between the folded and unfolded positions while the seating panel is positioned in either the standing mode or the seating mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 2, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1-2 especially with “wherein the primary link pivotally connects a first end thereof to the seating panel, the primary link having a slot adjacent to a second end, the slot engaging the first guide”. Regarding claim 6, the prior arts fail to teach the limitations from claims 1 and 6 especially with “wherein the elevating frame further comprises a telescoping connection with the front leg”. Regarding claim 8, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1,7 and 8 especially with “further comprising a platform link interconnecting the platform panel and the rear leg”. Regarding claim 13, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations especially with “the backrest panel connected to the elevating frame”.
Conclusion
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 7/10/26