DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 17, 30-32, 35, 36, 49, 53, and 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2016/0060945 to Weiss et al. (“Weiss”).
Regarding claim 1, Weiss discloses a method of attaching a retention member 10, 20, or 200 to an insulating glazing unit comprising: placing a spacer unit 26 between a first pane 12 and a second pane 27 to form the insulating glazing unit; applying an adhesive composition 25a or 220 to at least one of a perimeter of the insulating glazing unit; and the retention member; and mounting the retention member onto perimeter edges of at least one of the first pane and the second pane.
Regarding claim 10, Weiss discloses that after the operation of mounting the retention member 200 to the perimeter edges, further comprising applying pressure to an outside surface of the retention member toward the adhesive composition 220. Pressure would necessarily be applied to adhere retention member 200 because adhesive 220 is a pressure sensitive adhesive (Weiss par [0047]) that requires pressure to adhere. Weiss in par [0056] also discloses a roll of retention member 10 is pressed into place along the edge of the insulated glass assembly.
Regarding claim 17, Weiss discloses applying a secondary sealant 25, 31 around a perimeter of the insulating glazing unit prior to applying the adhesive composition. See steps shown in Figs. 7A-7D where 25 and 31 are first applied prior to application of the retention member.
Regarding claim 30, Weiss discloses that the retention member 200 comprising a fibrous support layer (Weiss par [0045]).
Regarding claim 31, Weiss discloses that the retention member 200 further comprising a polymer disposed on the fibrous support layer (Weiss par [0046]).
Regarding claim 32, Weiss discloses the retention member 200 comprising a fiberglass fabric (Weiss par [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 35, Weiss discloses applying an adhesive composition 220, 25a to both of the perimeter of the insulating glazing unit; and the retention member.
Regarding claim 36, Weiss discloses that applying an adhesive composition to the perimeter of the insulating glazing unit comprises applying an adhesive composition 220 to a perimeter of the first pane and the second pane.
Regarding claim 49, Weiss discloses applying an adhesive composition to a perimeter of the insulating glazing unit comprises applying a skim coat of adhesive composition over a pre-existing adhesive composition (Weiss, par [0050]).
Regarding claim 53, Weiss discloses method of attaching a retention member to an insulating glazing unit comprising: obtaining the insulating glazing unit, the insulating glazing unit comprising a first pane 12, a second pane 27, and a spacer unit 200 disposed between the first pane and the second pane; applying an adhesive composition 220 to at least one of a perimeter of the insulating glazing unit or the retention member; and applying the retention member to the perimeter edges of the first pane and the second pane.
Regarding claim 90, Weiss discloses that applying an adhesive composition to the perimeter of the insulating glazing unit comprises applying an adhesive composition 220 to a perimeter of the first pane and the second pane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,333,428 to Taylor et al. (“Taylor”).
Regarding claims 7 and 61, Weiss does not disclose removing excess adhesive composition from the first pane and the second pane.
Taylor discloses a method of making an insulated glass unit that includes removing excess adhesive composition from the first pane and the second pane (Taylor; col 3, ln 34-38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the glazing assembly of Weiss to remove excess adhesive composition from the first pane and the second pane as taught in Taylow with a reasonable expectation of success to predictably produce a clear insulating glass unit.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss.
Regarding claim 11, Weiss discloses that the retention member 10, 20, or 200 is pushed into the adhesive composition in applying pressure (par 0056) but does not disclose pushing sufficiently far so that a distance between an adjacent side of a fibrous support structure of the retention member and an outer peripheral edge of the first and second pane is approximately 0.04 to 0.16 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to push sufficiently far so that a distance between an adjacent side of a fibrous support structure of the retention member and an outer peripheral edge of the first and second pane is approximately 0.04 to 0.16 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. When one of ordinary skill would recognize the known effect attributed to a claimed parameter, then it is logical to conclude that changes to that parameter produce expected results. In this case, it is expected that pushing far enough would ensure sufficient adhesion.
Claim(s) 38, 39, 41, and 92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,998,680 to Flint (“Flint”).
Regarding claims 38 and 92, Weiss does not disclose applying an adhesive composition to the perimeter of the insulating glazing unit comprises applying the adhesive composition into a channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit, wherein the volume of adhesive composition applied is greater than the volume of the channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit.
Flint discloses laminated panels applying an adhesive composition 16 to the perimeter of the insulating glazing unit comprises applying the adhesive composition into a channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit, wherein the volume of adhesive composition applied is greater than the volume of the channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit to promote a stronger bond by encapsulating a portion of end edges of the panes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the glazing assembly of Weiss to apply the adhesive composition into a channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit, wherein the volume of adhesive composition applied is greater than the volume of the channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit as taught in Flint with a reasonable expectation of success because such method of assembly promotes a stronger bond by encapsulating a portion of end edges of the panes.
Regarding claim 39, Weiss in view of Flint discloses that the volume of adhesive composition applied is greater than the volume of the channel disposed between the first pane and the second pane and to the outside of the spacer unit.
Regarding claim 41, Weiss in view of Flint discloses applying the adhesive composition into the channel comprising applying the adhesive composition adjacent to the spacer unit.
Claim(s) 107 and 108 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0139165 to Prete et al. (“Prete”).
Regarding claims 107 and 108, Weiss does not disclose that the adhesive composition is applied using a nozzle configured to lay a shaped bead of adhesive composition comprising a raised central portion.
Prete discloses a method of constructing an insulating glass unit wherein an adhesive composition is applied using a nozzle configured to lay a shaped bead of adhesive composition comprising a raised central portion (Prete, par 0012).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the glazing unit of Weiss to have that the adhesive composition is applied using a nozzle configured to lay a shaped bead of adhesive composition comprising a raised central portion as taught in Prete with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for automation of the adhesive application process.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10-11, 17, 30-32, 35-36, 38-39, 41, 49, 53, 90, and 92 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,541. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each limitation in the pending claims are recited in and thus within the scope of the patented claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633