DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Method and Apparatus for Acquiring Data for a Communication System.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology such as “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3, 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. Regarding claim 1, the omitted elements are: “wherein the information generation portion in the first device and the information reconstruction portion in the second device perform training by using the first data and the second data respectively; and when the first data are inputted, the trained information generation portion in the first device outputs data that are the second data or data that are similar to the second data, and when the second data are inputted, the trained information reconstruction portion in the second device outputs data that are the first data or data similar to the first data” (i.e. claim 4). These elements are essential because as described in the specification, e.g. see paragraph [0008] of the published application, “the inventor finds that a paired property of the two-sided model makes its training process require collaboration of a network device and a terminal equipment at both sides of an air interface, performing network model training via the air interface will cause huge air interface overhead.”; thus, it is essential for the claims to include elements that performs
training at both sides that show the collaboration between the network device (e.g. second device) and the terminal device (e.g. first device) without causing a huge air interface overhead because that is the problem the invention is attempting to solve. Claim 1 merely recites acquiring the first data and acquiring the second data (i.e. there is no training and collaboration that solves the issue). Claims 2-3, 5-16 are rejected because of their dependency to claim 1. Claim 17 (and therefore dependent claims 18-19) and claim 20 are also rejected because they have similar issues to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-10, 12-13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0013031 A1 (“Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an apparatus for acquiring data, configured in a second device (e.g. see base station, e.g. see 110-1 in Fig. 1 and base station in Fig. 4B, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), wherein an AI/ML model comprises an information generation portion (e.g. see AI/ML model, paragraphs [0089]-[0092], and see neural network #2 in Fig. 4C) located in a first device (e.g. see terminal/user equipment, e.g. see 130-1 in Fig. 1 and UE in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]) and an information reconstruction portion (e.g. see neural network #1 in Fig. 4C) located in the second device (e.g. see base station, e.g. see 110-1 in Fig. 1 and base station in Fig. 4B, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), the apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (e.g. see Fig. 2) configured to acquire first data inputted into the information generation portion (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); and to acquire second data corresponding to the first data and outputted from the information generation portion (e.g. see first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to input the second data into the information reconstruction portion (e.g. see first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175])) and train the information reconstruction portion by taking the first data as label data (e.g. see for training of the neural network #1 and/or the neural network #2, a ‘reference data set’ XREF commonly referenced by the base station and the terminal may be configured, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 3, Park further discloses wherein the first data are a part or all of data of a specific dataset inputted into the information generation portion (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), and the second data are corresponding data generated after the first data are inputted into the information generation portion (e.g. see first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses wherein the information generation portion in the first device and the information reconstruction portion in the second device perform training by using the first data (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]) and the second data respectively (e.g. see first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C); and when the first data are inputted, the trained information generation portion in the first device outputs data that are the second data or data that are similar to the second data (e.g. see ZREF in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), and when the second data are inputted, the trained information reconstruction portion in the second device outputs data that are the first data or data similar to the first data (e.g. see XREF,O in Fig. 4B, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175])).
Regarding claim 6, Park further discloses wherein one first data corresponds to multiple second data (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C corresponds to first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C, and also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 9, Park further discloses wherein the second data are carried by a control channel or a data channel and transmitted via an air interface, or the second data are generated via a data index according to a predefined rule, or an index of the second data is transmitted by the first device to the second device via an air interface (e.g. see the information of the reference data set XREF and/or the information of the first reference latent data set YREF may be shared between the base station and the terminal through a separate entity connected to the base station and/or the terminal, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 10, Park further discloses wherein the first data are pre-stored in the second device, or the first data are generated via a data index according to a predefined rule, or the first data are transmitted by the first device to the second device via an air interface, or an index of the first data is transmitted by the first device to the second device via an air interface (e.g. see the base station may transmit information of the reference data set XREF and/or information of the first latent data set YREF corresponding to the reference data set XREF to the terminal, e.g. see Fig. 2, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 12, Park further discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises: a transmitter configured to transmit an AI/ML-related capability query to the first device; and a receiver configured to receive an AI/ML-related capability response fed back by the first device (e.g. see Fig. 2 and see transmitting, to the second communication node, a first capability report indicating that the first communication node does not support a learning operation for isometric transformation characteristics of the first artificial neural network; and transmitting, to the second communication node, information of a first codebook corresponding to the first artificial neural network and first identification information, wherein the first identification information includes at least one of identification information of the first artificial neural network or identification of the first codebook, paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0020]-[0021], [0141]).
Regarding claim 13, Park further discloses wherein the AI/ML-related capability comprises at least one of the following: signal processing module information, AI/ML support information, AI/ML model identification information, version information, data configuration information, AI/ML support training capability information, or AI/ML upgrade capability information (e.g. see transmitting, to the second communication node, a first capability report indicating that the first communication node does not support a learning operation for isometric transformation characteristics of the first artificial neural network; and transmitting, to the second communication node, information of a first codebook corresponding to the first artificial neural network and first identification information, wherein the first identification information includes at least one of identification information of the first artificial neural network or identification of the first codebook, paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0020]-[0021], [0141]).
Regarding claim 17, Park further discloses an apparatus for acquiring data, configured in a first device (e.g. see terminal/user equipment, e.g. see 130-1 in Fig. 1 and UE in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), wherein an AI/ML model comprises an information generation portion (e.g. see AI/ML model, paragraphs [0089]-[0092], and see neural network #2 in Fig. 4C) located in the first device (e.g. see terminal/user equipment, e.g. see 130-1 in Fig. 1 and UE in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]) and an information reconstruction portion located in a second device (e.g. see base station, e.g. see 110-1 in Fig. 1 and base station in Fig. 4B, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), the apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (e.g. see Fig. 2) configured to acquire first data outputted by the information reconstruction portion (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); and to acquire second data inputted into the information reconstruction portion and corresponding to the first data (e.g. see first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 18, Park further discloses wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to input the first data into the information generation portion (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]) and train the information generation portion by taking the second data as label data (e.g. see for training of the neural network #1 and/or the neural network #2, a ‘reference data set’ XREF commonly referenced by the base station and the terminal may be configured, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 19, Park further discloses wherein the second data are data inputted into the information reconstruction portion and corresponding to the first data (e.g. see first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C), and the first data are a part or all of a specific dataset and are generated after the second data are inputted into the information reconstruction portion (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses a communication system (e.g. see communication system 100 in Fig. 1), wherein an AI/ML model comprises a channel state information generation portion (e.g. see AI/ML model, e.g. auto-encoder-based CSI feedback scheme, paragraphs [0089]-[0092], and see neural network #2 in Fig. 4C) located in a terminal equipment (e.g. see terminal/user equipment, e.g. see 130-1 in Fig. 1 and UE in Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]) and a channel state information reconstruction portion (e.g. see AI/ML model, e.g. auto-encoder-based CSI feedback scheme, paragraphs [0089]-[0092], and see neural network #1in Fig. 4B) located in a network device (e.g. see base station, e.g. see 110-1 in Fig. 1 and base station in Fig. 4B, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), the system comprising: the network device configured to acquire a specific codebook vector inputted into the channel state information generation portion, and acquire channel state information bit information outputted from the channel state information generation portion and corresponding to the codebook vector (e.g. see The base station may receive the first feedback information transmitted from the terminal. The base station may decode the first feedback information transmitted from the terminal using the decoder #1 of the neural network #1 configured for the CSI feedback procedure. Through decoding in the decoder #1, first output data XO,1 may be generated. The first output data XO,1 generated in the above-described manner may correspond to a result of reconstructing the second input data XI,2 input to the encoder #2 in the terminal. Through this, the base station may receive the CSI feedback in a compressed (or dimensionally reduced) form from the terminal, paragraphs [0109]-[0110], and see feedback information such as precoding matrix indicator (PMI) expressed based on a pre-agreed codebook, for example type 1 code book and type 2 codebook, paragraphs [0065]-[0073])); and the terminal equipment configured to acquire a codebook vector outputted by the channel state information reconstruction portion (e.g. see the terminal may input second input data XI,2 for generating CSI feedback information, paragraphs [0109]-[0110], such as precoding matrix indicator (PMI) expressed based on a pre-agreed codebook, for example type 1 code book and type 2 codebook, paragraphs [0065]-[0073]), and acquire channel state information bit information inputted into the channel state information reconstruction portion and corresponding to the codebook vector (e.g. see the terminal may configure first feedback information for CSI feedback using the encoder #2 of neural network #2. The terminal may transmit the first feedback information to the base station. The first feedback information transmitted in the above-described manner may correspond to second latent data Z2 output from encoder #2, paragraphs [0109]-[0110]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of US 2025/0300903 A1 (“Park2”).
Regarding claim 5, although Park discloses wherein the first data and the second data are paired datasets (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I and reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C, paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]), it is noted Park differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose the paired datasets having model identification information. Park2 however, teaches the paired datasets having model identification information (e.g. see model identification, Table 8).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Park and Park2 before him/her, to modify the Method and apparatus for artificial neural network based feedback of Park with the teachings of Park2 in order to provide a method of efficiently performing wireless signal transmission/reception.
Regarding claim 7, although Park discloses wherein the processor circuitry further obtains the first data and/or the second data from interior of the second device or from exterior of the second device (e.g. see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference input data set XREF,I expressed as reference input data XC,I as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. and/or first reference latent data set YREF as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C outputted as second reference latent data ZREF in Fig. 4C paragraphs [0097]-[0108], [0119]-[0122], [0158]-[0161], [0172]-[0175]); also see reference data set XREF corresponding to a reference output data set XREF,O expressed as reference output data XC,O as shown in Fig. 4B and Fig. 4C), it is noted Park differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose according to identification information related to the information generation portion. Park2 however, teaches according to identification information related to the information generation portion (e.g. see model identification, Table 8). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 5 applies here.
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Park2 further teaches wherein the identification information related to the information generation portion comprises: a model identifier and/or version information to which the information generation portion corresponds, and/or data configuration information of a model to which the information generation portion corresponds (Park2: e.g. see model identification, Table 8). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 5 applies here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0220480 A1, Zhang, COMMUNICATION DEVICE AND METHOD FOR DETERMINING CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION REPORT BASED ON ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE/MACHINE LEARNING
US 2024/0048207 A1, Park et al., METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING FEEDBACK INFORMATION BASED ON ARTIFICIAL NEURAL NETWORK
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619