DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavell et al. (US 2023/0360562) in view of Romero (US 2014/0017650).
Regarding claims 1, 14, Lavell discloses a simulation system comprising a simulated wound within a recess of a simulated torso. See paragraph 0110.
Lavell discloses a simulated blood reservoir with a pump and valves and lumen to control simulated blood flow to the wound. See paragraphs 0150 and 0169.
Lavell discloses wherein the controlled flow to the wound is stopped upon application of appropriate pressure or packing material or an appropriate tourniquet. See paragraph 0175. It is not entirely clear how the pressure sensor is configured - it appears to sense flow pressure, and although this could reasonably also be a form of sensing applied pressure, it is not explicitly disclosed as such. Nevertheless, sensing applied pressure and packing pressure, and controlling blood flow based thereon, is well-established, as is disclosed by the wound simulation system of Romero in paragraphs 0268-0269. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the system of Lavell, in order to effectively control the simulation.
Regarding claims 2-4, 9, 15, Romero discloses controlling the simulated blood flow based upon application of pressure to the wound, which is sensed with a pressure sensor (i.e. proper pressure stops/reduces flow as per claim 4). See paragraph 0268. The use of such a scheme would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Lavell discloses a simulated pulse which is adjusted based upon sensed pressure in paragraphs 0173 and 0175.
Regarding claims 6, 10, Lavell discloses various thresholds for the blood flow, as described in paragraph 0175 (e.g. the flow will be lessened or stopped at an appropriate pressure points).
Regarding claims 7-8, 11-12, 17-18, Lavell discloses wherein the system controls blood flow based upon packing material and applied pressure associated with pressure sensors. See paragraphs 0268-0269. The use of such a scheme would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Lavell discloses wherein the system monitors pressure applied by a torso tourniquet in paragraph 0269. The use of such a scheme would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 1.
Conclusion
TIMOTHY A. MUSSELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715