DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 01/17/2025 and 01/30/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detection circuitry” in claims 1 and 15, of which claims 2-14 and 16-20 are dependent.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,466,896 to Murakami et al. (Murakami).
As to claim 1, Murakami discloses a position detection device, comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes extending in a first direction (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-25, Individual loop coils-11-0 to 11-23); and
detection circuitry including a first common terminal, to which first terminals of the plurality of first electrodes are couplable coupled (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23), and a second common terminal, to which second terminals of the plurality of first electrodes are couplable (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, common ground), in a state of electromagnetic inductive coupling with a pointer (Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line, 2; Col. 10, line 61-Col. 11, line 3; coordinate detection; Claim 1).
As to claim 2, Murakami discloses the position detection device according to claim 1, wherein the detection circuitry is configured to simultaneously select two adjacent first electrodes, from the plurality of first electrodes, to detect a position indicated by the pointer (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, where a selection from each group is made, Claim 1).
As to claim 4, Murakami discloses the position detection device according to claim 2, wherein:
a first terminal of a first of the two adjacent first electrodes is couplable to the first common terminal (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23),
a second terminal of the first of the two adjacent first electrodes is couplable to a first terminal of a second of the two adjacent first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23), and
a second terminal of the second of the two adjacent first electrodes is couplable to the second common terminal (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, Switching terminals of analog switches 21, 22 and 23 have a common connection to a switching terminal of analog switch 24).
As to claim 5, Murakami discloses the position detection device according to claim 2, wherein the first terminals of the two adjacent first electrodes are couplable to the first common terminal (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23) and the second terminals of the two adjacent first electrodes are couplable to the second common terminal (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, common ground).
As to claim 6, Murakami discloses the position detection device according to claim 2, wherein
the detection circuitry, at a first timing, simultaneously selects Kth first electrode and (K+1)th first electrode as the two adjacent first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, where a selection from each group is made, Claim 1), and
the detection circuitry, at a second timing, simultaneously selects the (K+1)th first electrode and (K+2)th first electrode as the two adjacent first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, where a selection from each group is made, Claim 1).
As to claim 15, Murakami discloses a control device of a position detection device, wherein
the position detection device includes a plurality of first electrodes extending in a first direction (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-25, Individual loop coils-11-0 to 11-23) and includes detection circuitry which, using the plurality of first electrodes, detects a position indicated by a pointer based on electromagnetic inductive coupling with the pointer (Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line, 2; Col. 10, line 61-Col. 11, line 3; coordinate detection; Claim 1), and
the control device is configured to couple first terminals of the plurality of first electrodes to a first common terminal of the detection circuitry(Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23) and couple second terminals of the plurality of first electrodes to a second common terminal of the detection circuitry (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23).
As to claim 16, Murakami discloses the control device according to claim 15, which is configured to simultaneously select two adjacent first electrodes, from the plurality of first electrodes, to detect the position indicated by the pointer (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, where a selection from each group is made, Claim 1).
As to claim 17, Murakami discloses the control device according to claim 16, wherein the control device couples a first terminal of a first of the two adjacent first electrodes to the first common terminal (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23), couples a second terminal of the first of the two adjacent first electrodes to a first terminal of a second of the two adjacent first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, analog switches 21, 22 and 23), and couples a second terminal of the second of the two adjacent first electrodes to the second common terminal (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, Switching terminals of analog switches 21, 22 and 23 have a common connection to a switching terminal of analog switch 24).
As to claim 18, Murakami discloses the control device according to claim 16, which
at a first timing, simultaneously selects Kth first electrode and (K+1)th first electrode as the two adjacent first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, where a selection from each group is made, Claim 1), and
at a second timing, simultaneously selects the (K+1)th first electrode and (K+2)th first electrode as the two adjacent first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-45, where a selection from each group is made, Claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 12, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0176486 to Lee et al. (Lee).
As to claim 8, Murakami discloses the position detection device according to claim 1, which comprises:
a sensor including the plurality of first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-25, Individual loop coils-11-0 to 11-23),
wherein the detection circuitry is coupled to the sensor and configured to:
detect a position indicated by the pointer on the sensor based on the electromagnetic inductive coupling between the sensor and the pointer (Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line, 2; Col. 10, line 61-Col. 11, line 3; coordinate detection; Claim 1).
Murakami does not expressly disclose detect a second position indicated by a second pointer on the sensor based on capacitive coupling between the sensor and the second pointer.
Lee teaches detect a second position indicated by a second pointer on the sensor based on capacitive coupling between the sensor and the second pointer (Para. 0009, 0015, 0024, 0047, capacitance sensing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the position detection device of Murakami to include the capacitive sensing of Lee because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the position detection device of Murakami as modified by the capacitive sensing of Lee can yield a predictable result of implementing a hybrid touch panel by combining a projective capacitive touch panel and a pressure-sensitive touch panel with each other. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the position detection device of Murakami to use the capacitive sensing of Lee since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 12, Murakami and Lee disclose the position detection device according to claim 8. Murakami additionally discloses wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes is a loop electrode, and one of two ends of the loop electrode is made an open terminal to enable detection of the second position indicated by the second pointer on the sensor based on the capacitive coupling between the sensor and the second pointer (Fig. 2).
As to claim 14, Murakami discloses the position detection device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first electrodes do not overlap with each other(Fig. 2), but does not expressly disclose the position detection device comprises: a plurality of second electrodes extending in a second direction that crosses the first direction, wherein the plurality of second electrodes do not to overlap with each other.
Lee teaches a plurality of second electrodes extending in a second direction that crosses the first direction, wherein the plurality of second electrodes do not to overlap with each other (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the position detection device of Murakami to include the capacitive sensing of Lee because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the position detection device of Murakami as modified by the capacitive sensing of Lee can yield a predictable result of implementing a hybrid touch panel by combining a projective capacitive touch panel and a pressure-sensitive touch panel with each other. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the position detection device of Murakami to use the capacitive sensing of Lee since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 19, Murakami discloses the control device according to claim 16, wherein
the position detection device includes a sensor which includes the plurality of first electrodes (Fig. 2; Col. 4, lines 4-25, Individual loop coils-11-0 to 11-23), and the detection circuitry is coupled to the sensor and configured to:
detect the position indicated by the pointer on the sensor based on the electromagnetic inductive coupling between the sensor and the pointer(Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line, 2; Col. 10, line 61-Col. 11, line 3; coordinate detection; Claim 1), but does not expressly disclose detect a second position indicated by a second pointer on the sensor based on capacitive coupling between the sensor and the second pointer.
Lee teaches detect a second position indicated by a second pointer on the sensor based on capacitive coupling between the sensor and the second pointer (Para. 0009, 0015, 0024, 0047, capacitance sensing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the position detection device of Murakami to include the capacitive sensing of Lee because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the position detection device of Murakami as modified by the capacitive sensing of Lee can yield a predictable result of implementing a hybrid touch panel by combining a projective capacitive touch panel and a pressure-sensitive touch panel with each other. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the position detection device of Murakami to use the capacitive sensing of Lee since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 9-11, 13, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LISA S LANDIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2626