DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 3, figures 4-5 and 8-10, claims 1, 3-6, 10-17, 19 and 20 in the reply filed on 8/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 9 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Connor, Jr., US 2009/0007371 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 12, Connor, Jr. a surface covering having a first portion (2) including a first fastener housing (12, 16), a second portion (4) including a second fastener housing (46, 48), and a fastening system (38, 54, 60). The system comprises an insertion portion (38) and a receiving portion (58). The insertion portion includes a base portion (24, 26, 32) and a stem portion (30, figure 2) with a radially extending cap portion (30, 36, 38) protruding from the stem portion (figure 2), i.e., both side ends of the cap portion form radially extending portions from the top of the stem. The base portion (24) is disposed within the first fastener housing 16, figure 2). The receiving portion (58) includes a flange
portion and a collar portion (see annotated drawing on the subsequent page) forming a receiving orifice (figure 2).
The flange portion is disposed within the second fastener housing (44, 46, 48). The cap portion (38) is configured to be removably received through the receiving orifice (60) of the receiving portion to fasten the first portion to the second portion (figures 2-3).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Connor, Jr. discloses the base portion with a flange (32) extending radially outward and a stem portion extending axially away from the flange portion (30, figure 2). A cap portion (38) is disposed on top of the stem portion.
Regarding claim 7, Connor, Jr., discloses the base diameter at the flange portion being larger than the stem diameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor, US 2009/0007371 A1 in view of Nagata, JP 61060341 A. Conner discloses attaching the flange portion of the base portion (20, 32) to the top of the first portion of the surface covering (2). The claim requires that the flange portion of the base be configured to be disposed with the first fastener cavity of the first portion of the surface covering, which is not found in Conner. However, this form of attaching and reinforcing the coupling between a surface and the flange portion of a fastener is taught by Nagata (figure 1).
Nagata discloses securing the flange portion of a base portion of the insertion portion (4) within a first fastener cavity of a first fastener housing (3). Please see the annotated drawing. This is done for at least two reasons: 1.) to reinforce the coupling between the surface covering (2) and the insertion portion (4) and 2.) to provide a means to easily remove the insertion portion if it needs replacing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide Connor, Jr.’s covering with a first fastener housing that removably and reliably secures the insertion potion thereto.
Claims 6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor, US 2009/0007371 A1. Regarding claims 6 and 15, Connor fails to disclose a cap portion being larger that the stem diameter of the stem portion. Connor discloses that the cap portion is about the same width as the stem. However, the cap portion is grasped by a user’s finger to help with the insertion process and to turn the cap once received in the receiving portion. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that enlarging a turnable switch to improve the ergonomics between the user and the switch is old and well known. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to enlarge Connor’s cap to be larger than the stem to improve the ergonomics of the lock.
Regarding claim 16, Connor, Jr., discloses the base diameter at the flange portion being larger than the stem diameter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10-11, 17, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677