Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts found to be relevant to applicant’s invention during current search
US20110074926 A1 (hereinafter Khan)
US 20140294361 A1 (hereinafter Acharya)
US 20010043738 A1 (Sawhney)
US 20030095711 A1 (Fig.1, 6: multi-camera pose estimation with foreknowledge)
US 20080262718 A1 (Fig.4, 5 multi-camera pose estimation with foreknowledge)
US 20100045701 A1 (Scott, para 49, describe camera based and sensor-based pose estimation are combined for higher accuracy: also see para 46-47, 5, 22-24)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Acharya.
Regarding Claim 1. Khan teaches a method, comprising: receiving data from a plurality of cameras configured to capture a scene:[(Fig.1 para 36)] for each of the plurality of cameras, determining a relative pose of a given camera with respect to the scene for a frame based at least in part on sensor data associated with that camera for the frame [(para 36, “capturing devices can be equipped with one or more of a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, a gyroscope, accelerometer, a compass, etc., to obtain the location coordinates (latitude, longitude and altitude) and orientation information of the video capturing device. Moreover, the video capture device can determine the distance to the object being photographed with a rangefinder or from the camera zoom/focus information”. In para 47 “each frame may have different orientation, time, and location information. In these situations, adding metadata to individual frames can result in a more accurate measurement of the associated information.”; Fig.11A )] determining relative poses of cameras with respect to one or more other cameras comprising the plurality of cameras for the frame based on independently determined relative poses of individual cameras with respect to the scene for the frame:[(Fig.11B)] and generating at least a partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame based on received image data and determined relative camera poses for the frame. [(para 11)]
Khan does not explicitly show that the pose estimate is based on received image data
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Acharya teaches the pose estimate is based on received image data in addition to sensor data [(para 27, 66)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would enhance the pose estimation [(Acharya para 27, 66)]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cameras is independently operated [(para 37)]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein no foreknowledge exists of relative poses of cameras with respect to the scene and with respect to each other. [(the distance between is camera is determined from the obtained information {para 81, 37}, i.e. the distance and other pose was not known beforehand; the cameras are freely move anywhere and locations are based on freely roamed positions/pose para 53-63: and relative pose is determined {para 71} )]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein relative poses of cameras with respect to the scene and with respect to each other are not fixed and are time variant. [(para 47, para 53-63)]:
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame comprises determining correspondences between images comprising the frame captured by the plurality of cameras [(para 73-74, 65)] .
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame comprises rectifying images comprising the frame captured by the plurality of cameras. [(para 44 compress decompress)]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame comprises estimating depths in images comprising the frame captured by the plurality of cameras. [(para 69)]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame comprises generating at least a corresponding portion of a point cloud for the frame.[[(para 59)]
Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 10. The method of claim 1, wherein determining relative pose of a given camera with respect to the scene for the frame comprises determining a first estimate of camera pose with respect to the scene based on image data received from the given camera and a second estimate of camera pose with respect to the scene based on sensor data received from the given camera. [(Acharya para 27, 66)]
Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 11. The method of claim 10, wherein the second estimate is employed to verify and provide a parallel estimate to the first estimate. [(Acharya from the image data line-of-sight/pose is determined using SfM {para 5-6}: “gyroscope-derived rotational matrix may be combined with that of an SfM-estimated camera pose.” “due to inherent noise in the gyroscope sensor, SfM alignment may be periodically rerun, resetting this noise, and maintaining a bounded inaccuracy (relative to the last frame-to-model alignment). Moreover, since SfM alignment itself is prone to some error, this input from gyroscope can be used to inform a hysteresis across multiple alignment attempts” {para 66}:)]
Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 12. The method of claim 10, wherein the second estimate is employed to fill gaps in pose estimation when pose cannot be determined from the first estimate. [(Acharya para 68-69)]
Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 13. The method of claim 1, wherein determined relative pose of a given camera with respect to the scene is with respect to features or fiducials of the scene. [(Acharya para 47, 62)]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 14. The method of claim 1, wherein data is received, relative poses are determined, and at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene is generated for each of a plurality of times slices or frames.[[(Fig.9)]
Khan additionally teaches, with regards to claim 15. The method of claim 1, wherein received image data comprises frames of a video recording of the scene. [(para 13)]
Khan in view of Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 16. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame is based on synchronizing received data from the plurality of cameras that have captured different perspectives of the scene. [(Khan Fig.9; Acharya para 42)]
Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 17. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame is based on correspondence between sets of features seen in common among multiple cameras. [(Acharya para 61-62)]
Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 18. The method of claim 1, wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame is based on establishing correspondence of features between frames of a video sequence. [(Acharya para 61-62)]
Khan in view of Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 19. A system, comprising: a processor configured to: receive data from a plurality of cameras configured to capture a scene: for each of the plurality of cameras, determine a relative pose of a given camera with respect to the scene for a frame based at least in part on image data captured by that camera and sensor data associated with that camera for the frame: determine relative poses of cameras with respect to one or more other cameras comprising the plurality of cameras for the frame based on independently determined relative poses of individual cameras with respect to the scene for the frame: and generate at least a partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame based on received image data and determined relative camera poses for the frame: and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide instructions to the processor. [(see analysis of claim 1 and Khan para 42 Acharya para 104-105)]
Khan in view of Acharya additionally teaches, with regards to claim 20. A computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions for: receiving data from a plurality of cameras configured to capture a scene: for each of the plurality of cameras, determining a relative pose of a given camera with respect to the scene for a frame based at least in part on image data captured by that camera and sensor data associated with that camera for the frame: determining relative poses of cameras with respect to one or more other cameras comprising the plurality of cameras for the frame based on independently determined relative poses of individual cameras with respect to the scene for the frame: and generating at least a partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame based on received image data and determined relative camera poses for the frame. [(see analysis of claim 1 and Khan para 42 Acharya para 104-105)]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Acharya in view of Sawhney.
Regarding Claim 6. Khan in view of Acharya does not explicitly show wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame comprises facilitating registration of images comprising the frame captured by the plurality of cameras by feature correspondence between nearest neighbor cameras.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Sawhney teaches wherein generating at least the partial three-dimensional reconstruction of the scene for the frame comprises facilitating registration of images comprising the frame captured by the plurality of cameras by feature correspondence between nearest neighbor cameras. [(para 8, 44 and 32)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to improve pose estimation
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12368833. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claim 1 is obvious over limitations of patented claims 1, 2 and 15. Other instant claims are obvious permutations and variations of the patented claims 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11212510 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claim 1 subset of patented claim 1 with obvious variation (method vs system). Other instant claims are obvious permutations and variations of the patented claims 1-18.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. US 10791319 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claim 1 subset of patented claim 1 with obvious variation (method vs system) . Other instant claims are obvious permutations and variations of the patented claims 1-24.
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426