DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/17/2025 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: “coupling-out pupil” should read “coupling-out grating”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvenpaa (US20230324682A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Jarvenpaa discloses a method for improving display uniformity of a volume holographic optical waveguide (Fig. 1A-- element 10, apparatus; [0066]), comprising:
providing the volume holographic optical waveguide (Fig. 1A-- element 10, apparatus; [0066]) with a switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]), wherein a partial region ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled) of the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]) is directionally selected (Figs. 3A- 3I show the input image being processed sequentially via scan lines from left to right; [0116]: each scan line will switch on the number of relevant sections of element 103 2) as a coupling region ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled) thereof, in a way that a light beam from a light source (Fig. 2—element 104a, laser; [0111]) is only capable of being coupled out (Fig. 2—light is emitted by element 104 a and emitted out of element 103) of the coupling region ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled) at the maximum diffraction efficiency thereof ([0130]: output beams may be optimized for maximizing efficiency via element 103); and
continuously switching (Figs. 3A- 3I show the input image being processed sequentially via scan lines from left to right; [0116]: each scan line will switch on the number of relevant sections of element 103 2) the coupling region ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled) on the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]), wherein a process in which the continuously switched coupling region covers all the regions ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on the totality of element 103 2 and independently controlled) of the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]) is taken as one scanning ([0116]: images may be divided into scan lines and each line will switch the number of relevant sections of element 103 2 ).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the time for one scanning is not more than a visual retention time of human eyes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the scanning time lower than the visual retention time of human eyes, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to Claim 2, Jarvenpaa discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]) is a grating array ([0079]: element 103 is divided into a plurality of sub-gratings) formed by a plurality of sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) arranged directionally (Fig. 1—the sub-gratings are arranged from left to right), and the coupling region ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled) of the grating array ([0079]: element 103 is divided into a plurality of sub-gratings) is directionally selected by controlling opening or closing of part ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled; this information is used to switch gratings on and off) of the sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) in the grating array ([0079]: element 103 is divided into a plurality of sub-gratings); and
wherein the scanning manner is sequential scanning (Figs. 3A- 3I show the input image being processed sequentially via scan lines from left to right) or random scanning, and at least one of the sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) is opened each time during sequential scanning or random scanning ([0116]: images may be divided into scan lines and each line will switch on the number of relevant sections of element 103 2).
With respect to Claim 3, Jarvenpaa discloses a volume holographic optical waveguide display apparatus, which is configured to conduct the method according to claim 1 to improve display uniformity thereof, the apparatus comprises:
an optical mechanical system (Fig. 2—elements 104a and 104c; [0111]), configured to emit a collimated light beam ([0111]: element 104c collimates the light from element 104a and emits it towards the diffractive elements);
a waveguide system (Fig. 1A-- elements 100, 101, 102, and 103; [0066]), comprising a waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]) and a grating structure (Fig. 1A-- elements 101, 102, and 103; [0068]) arranged in the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]), the grating structure (Fig. 1A-- elements 101, 102, and 103; [0068]) at least comprising a coupling-in grating (Fig. 1A-- element 101,incoupling grating ; [0069]) and a coupling-out grating (Fig. 1A-- element 103, outcoupling grating ; [0069]), wherein the collimated light beam is coupled into the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]) through the coupling-in grating (Fig. 1A-- element 101,incoupling grating ; [0069]), propagated towards the coupling-out grating (Fig. 1A-- element 103, outcoupling grating ; [0069]), and then subjected to pupil expansion ([0110], [0132]: element 103 expands and outcouples the input image) by the coupling-out grating (Fig. 1A-- element 103, outcoupling grating ; [0069]) and coupled out of the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]); and
a control system (Fig. 11-- element 1201, controller; [0182]),
wherein the coupling-out grating (Fig. 1A-- element 103, outcoupling grating ; [0069]) is a switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]); and the control system (Fig. 11-- element 1201, controller; [0182]) is configured to modulate the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]) to directionally select and continuously switch (Figs. 3A- 3I show the input image being processed sequentially via scan lines from left to right; [0116]: each scan line will switch on the number of relevant sections of element 103 2) a coupling region ([0172]: a plurality of sections may be defined on element 103 2 and independently controlled) on the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]).
With respect to Claim 6, Jarvenpaa discloses the apparatus according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]) is a grating array ([0079]: element 103 is divided into a plurality of sub-gratings) formed by a plurality of sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) arranged directionally (Fig. 1—the sub-gratings are arranged from left to right), and the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]) is a switchable Bragg grating consisting of holographic polymer dispersed liquid crystals ([0080]: Any suitable switchable grating may be used, not least for example switchable volume holograms such as switchable Bragg gratings).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvenpaa (US20230324682A1) in view of Popovich (US20200201051A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Jarvenpaa discloses the apparatus according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the collimated light beam ([0111]: element 104c collimates the light from element 104a and emits it towards the diffractive elements) is coupled into the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]) through the coupling-in grating (Fig. 1A-- element 101,incoupling grating ; [0069]), further propagated towards the coupling-out grating (Fig. 1A-- element 103, outcoupling grating; [0069]), and subjected to pupil expansion by the coupling-out pupil ([0110], [0132]: element 103 expands and outcouples the input image) and finally coupled out of the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the grating structure further comprises a fold grating, wherein the collimated light beam is coupled into the waveguide substrate through the coupling-in grating, propagated towards the fold grating, then subjected to pupil expansion for a first time by the fold grating, further propagated towards the coupling-out grating, and subjected to pupil expansion for a second time by the coupling-out pupil.
Jarvenpaa and Popovich are related as both pertaining to the field of optical waveguides. Popovich does disclose wherein the grating structure (Fig. 1—element 104, waveguide; [0076]) further comprises a fold grating (Fig. 1—element 106A; fold grating; [0076]), wherein the collimated light beam ([0007]: The input coupler is configured to receive collimated first wavelength light) is coupled into the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1—element 100, waveguide display; [0076]) through the coupling-in grating (Fig. 1—element 105A, input grating; [0076]), propagated towards the fold grating (Fig. 1—element 106A; fold grating; [0076]), then subjected to pupil expansion for a first time ([0076]: the light is first subjected to pupil expansion by element 160a) by the fold grating (Fig. 1—element 106A; fold grating; [0076]), further propagated towards the coupling-out grating (Fig. 1—element 107A, output grating; [0076]), and subjected to pupil expansion for a second time ([0007]: The output grating is configured to provide pupil expansion in a second direction different than the expansion provided by the fold grating) by the coupling-out pupil (Fig. 1—element 107A, output grating; [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Jarvenpaa with the folding grating exit pupil expander of Popovich in order to provide a low cost, efficient, compact dual axis expansion waveguide (Popovich, [0005]).
With respect to Claim 5, Jarvenpaa and Popovich disclose the apparatus according to claim 4, and Jarvenpaa further discloses the switchable grating structure (Fig. 1-- element 103 2, switchable section; [0081]).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the fold grating is a switchable grating structure.
Jarvenpaa and Popovich are related as both pertaining to the field of optical waveguides. Popovich does disclose wherein the fold grating (Fig. 1—element 106A; fold grating; [0076]) is a switchable grating structure ([0087]: the fold grating may be a switchable Bragg grating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Jarvenpaa with the switchable fold grating of Popovich in order to eliminate extra layers and reduce the thickness of the display system (Popovich, [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvenpaa (US20230324682A1) in view of (Wang, CN110850521A).
With respect to Claim 7, Jarvenpaa discloses the apparatus according to claim 6, and further discloses wherein the control system (Fig. 11-- element 1201, controller; [0182]) comprises a plurality of control electrodes ([0080]: Any suitable mechanism for switching gratings ON and OFF may be used), each of the plurality of control electrodes is individually configured ([0079]: Each section of element 103 is independently switchable) to modulate one of the sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) and Jarvenpaa further discloses the grating array ([0079]: element 103 is divided into a plurality of sub-gratings).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of control electrodes is arranged correspondingly in parallel with the respective sub-grating, and a coverage region of the plurality of control electrodes is not smaller than a region of the grating array.
Jarvenpaa and Wang are related as both pertaining to the field of optical waveguides. Wang discloses wherein a plurality of control electrodes (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222, first and second transparent electrodes; [0036]) is arranged correspondingly in parallel (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222 are arranged parallel to elements 223 and 224) with a respective sub-grating (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222; [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Jarvenpaa with the parallel electrode structure of Wang in order to create a device which is simple to manufacture (Wang, [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the coverage region of the plurality of control electrodes of Jarvenpaa larger than a region of the grating array, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
With respect to Claim 8, Jarvenpaa and Wang discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, and Jarvenpaa further discloses wherein the plurality of control electrodes ([0080]: Any suitable mechanism for switching gratings ON and OFF may be used), the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]), and the plurality of sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) modulated by the respective control electrodes ([0080]: Any suitable mechanism for switching gratings ON and OFF may be used; [0079]: Each section of element 103 is independently switchable).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of control electrodes are arranged in pairs above an outer plane of the waveguide substrate and arranged correspondingly in parallel with the respective sub-grating.
Jarvenpaa and Wang are related as both pertaining to the field of optical waveguides. Wang discloses wherein a plurality of control electrodes (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222, first and second transparent electrodes; [0036]) are arranged in pairs above an outer plane (Figs. 2 and 3— multiple pairs of elements 221 and 222 are arranged together on the outer surface of element 20) of the waveguide substrate (Fig. 2—element 20, waveguide body; [0040]) and are arranged correspondingly in parallel (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222 are arranged parallel to elements 223 and 224) with a respective sub-grating (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222; [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Jarvenpaa with the parallel electrode structure of Wang in order to create a device which is simple to manufacture (Wang, [0011]).
With respect to Claim 9, Jarvenpaa and Wang discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, and Jarvenpaa further discloses wherein the plurality of control electrodes ([0080]: Any suitable mechanism for switching gratings ON and OFF may be used), the waveguide substrate (Fig. 1A-- element 100, substrate of optical material that includes a light/wave guide; [0066]), and the plurality of sub-gratings modulated by the respective control electrodes ([0080]: Any suitable mechanism for switching gratings ON and OFF may be used; [0079]: Each section of element 103 is independently switchable).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of control electrodes are arranged in pairs in the waveguide substrate and correspondingly in parallel with the respective sub-grating.
Jarvenpaa and Wang are related as both pertaining to the field of optical waveguides. Wang discloses wherein a plurality of control electrodes (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222, first and second transparent electrodes; [0036]) are arranged in pairs on (Figs. 2 and 3— multiple pairs of elements 221 and 222 are arranged together on the outer surface of element 20) the waveguide substrate (Fig. 2—element 20, waveguide body; [0040]) and correspondingly in parallel (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222 are arranged parallel to elements 223 and 224) with a respective sub-grating (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222; [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Jarvenpaa with the parallel electrode structure of Wang to create a device which is simple to manufacture (Wang, [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange plurality of control electrodes to be integrated inside the waveguide substrate, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to integrate the plurality of control electrodes inside the waveguide substrate, since it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson 144 USPQ 347, 349, (CCPA 1965).
With respect to Claim 10, Jarvenpaa and Wang discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, and Jarvenpaa further discloses the control electrodes ([0080]: Any suitable mechanism for switching gratings ON and OFF may be used).
However, Jarvenpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the control electrodes (Fig. 3—elements 221 and 222, first and second transparent electrodes; [0036]) are transparent electrodes ([0012]: elements 221 and 222 are transparent electrodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Jarvenpaa with the transparent electrodes of Wang to precisely control the opening or closing of the coupling grating by applying a driving voltage, which can ensure the effectiveness of improving the display effect (Wang, [0012]).
With respect to Claim 11, Jarvenpaa and Wang discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, and Jarvenpaa further discloses wherein the grating array ([0079]: element 103 is divided into a plurality of sub-gratings) is a one-dimensional array or a two-dimensional array (Fig. 1—the sub-gratings are arranged from left to right across element 10 and also overlap each other in the vertical direction as seen in Fig.3A).
With respect to Claim 12, Jarvenpaa and Wang discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, and Jarvenpaa further discloses wherein the plurality of sub-gratings (Fig. 1-- elements 103 1, 103 2, and 103 3, sub-portions; [0079]) are one or more of overlapped gratings or multiplexed gratings ([0081]: section 103 2 of the first out-coupling diffractive means is aligned with and overlapped by section 203 1 of the second out-coupling diffractive means).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amirsolaimani (US 20230176379 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1a and [0042]-[0047].
Dodson (US 20210303851 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 2 and [0024]-[0036].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872