DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “wherein the comprises” which should recite “wherein the elongated strap comprises.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 25 depends from claim 1 which was cancelled.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewen (US PG Pub. No. 2014/0274569, Sept. 18, 2014).
Regarding claim 13, as broadly interpreted, Lewen teaches an exercise device comprising: an elongated strap (see Fig. 2A below) configured to support a body weight of a user (i.e., for suspension training), the elongated strap 208 comprising a first length (i.e., see annotated Fig. 2A below), a second length (i.e., length of 210 and 204b), a third length (i.e., length of 206o) and a fourth length (i.e., length of 206n); the first length positioned against the second length (i.e., at stitching 204b) to form a first loop 210, the first loop 210 configured to connect to a length adjustment mechanism (i.e., adjusters 108a,108b indirectly, see Fig. 3 below and para. [0013]); the second length (i.e., length of 210 and 204b) positioned against the third length (i.e., length of 206o at stitching) to form a second loop 206o, the second loop 206o configured to support a grip (i.e., bar shown in Fig. 2B and 3 is capable of being inserted into loop); and the third length (i.e., length of 206o) positioned against the fourth length (i.e., length of 206n at stitching) to form a third loop 206n for receiving a releasable coupler 202.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (stitching)][AltContent: textbox (grip)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (third loop)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second loop)][AltContent: textbox (first loop)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first length)][AltContent: ]
Regarding claim 14, Lewen teaches the exercise device of claim 13, comprising stitching 204b (see para. [0019] and Fig. 2A above), to fix the second length (i.e., length of 210 and 204b) to the third length (i.e., length of 206o).
Regarding claim 15, Lewen teaches the exercise device of claim 14, comprising stitching 204b to fix the first length to the second length (i.e., length of 210 and 204b).
Regarding claim 16, Lewen teaches the exercise device of claim 15, wherein the comprises a continuous length of nylon webbing material (see para. [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Lewen teaches the exercise device of claim 16, wherein the second loop and the third loop extend in opposite directions (i.e., top and bottom).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art teach or suggest the exercise device of claim 16, wherein the second length of the elongated strap passes through a center opening of a cylindrical handle of a combination grip.
Claims 19-24 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 18.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784