Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-14 of prior U.S. Patent No. 10,342,590. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,081. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and granted patent disclose a fulcrum for use in a bone realignment procedure. The fulcrum comprises a body configured to be inserted in an intermetatarsal space between adjacent metatarsals, and a handle operatively connected to the body, wherein the handle projects at a non-zero degree angle from the body to define a tissue retraction space between the handle and the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0216089 to Davidson.
As to Claim 15, Davidson discloses a fulcrum (100) for use in a bone realignment procedure [0057-0058]. The fulcrum comprises a body (including 110, 130) configured to be inserted in an intermetatarsal space (Fig. 19) between adjacent metatarsals [0058], and a handle (120) operatively connected to the body. The handle projects at a non-zero degree angle from the body to define a tissue retraction space between the handle and the body (angle seen in Fig. 2).
As to Claim 17, Davidson discloses a fulcrum wherein the body (including 110, 130) defines an axis (P1) extending along the length of the body, the handle defines a handle axis (forming angle seen above) projecting at the non-zero degree angle from the body, and an angle between the axis of the body and the handle axis ranges from 20 degrees to 75 degrees (see Fig. 2 above).
As to Claim 18, Davidson discloses a fulcrum wherein the angle ranges from 35 degrees to 55 degrees (see Fig. 2 above).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0331850 to Bojarski et al.
As to Claim 19, Bojarski discloses a multidimensional fulcrum (250, Figs. 9-10, [0059]). The fulcrum comprises a fulcrum body (seen in Figs. 9 and 10) having a length extending from a first end (255) to a second end (260), a width (width of minor axis of Fig. 9), and a thickness (seen in cross section of Fig. 10, [0059]), wherein the first end (255) of the fulcrum has a first thickness and is configured to be inserted into an intermetatarsal space between adjacent metatarsals [0032] of a first size (differing thickness described in [0059]), the second end (260) of the fulcrum has a second thickness and is configured to be inserted into an intermetatarsal space between adjacent metatarsals [0032] of a second size (differing thickness described in [0059]), and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness [0059].
As to Claim 20, Bojarski discloses a multidimensional fulcrum wherein the first thickness and the second thickness each fall within a range from 1 millimeter to 10 millimeters, and the second thickness is at least 1 millimeter greater than the first thickness (thicknesses of Table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0216089 to Davidson in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,416,465 to Brau.
As to Claim 16, Davidson discloses a fulcrum wherein the handle includes a distal portion (124) and a handle body (near ref. 120, Fig. 1) positioned between the body of the fulcrum (110) and the distal portion (124, Figs. 1-2).
Ad to Claim 16, Davidson discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the handle includes a grip portion.
Brau discloses a surgical retractor (10, Fig. 1) wherein a handle (15) includes a grip portion (18) in order to provide stability as the device is held by the practitioner (Col. 5, Lines 52-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the tool of Davidson with the grip modification of Brau in order to provide stability as the device is held by the practitioner.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775