DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to application number 09/030,071 filed 01/06/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, 26, 28-32, 34, 36 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katzman et al. (US 8,086,306).
Claim 21. Katzman discloses an automated external defibrillator (AED) 10 comprising:
a container 12 containing electrode pads;
a lid (plastic cover 10) covering the container (col. 3, ll. 17-25); and
a handle 16 coupled to the lid at a first location (one end of the handle 16) and a lifting mechanism (end attachments of the handle and connected to the plastic cover, fig. 1) coupled to the lid at a second location, wherein the first location and the second location are different (fig. 1).
Claim 22. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, wherein the container is rigid (col. 2, ll. 34-67).
Claim 24. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, wherein the lifting mechanism is rigid (col. 3, ll. 1-27).
Claim 26. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, wherein the lifting mechanism is coupled to the lid at a plurality of distinct locations (fig. 1).
Claim 28. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, wherein the handle comprises a visual cue (col. 2, ll. 54-67).
Claim 29. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, wherein the lifting mechanism is configured to transfer force applied to the handle to a plurality of separate locations on the lid (col. 3, ll. 17-25).
Claim 30. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 29, wherein the handle is configured to have force applied in a first direction and transfer the force to the lid in a second direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different (col. 3, ll. 17-25).
Claim 31. Katzman discloses an assembly for use with an automated external defibrillator (AED), the assembly comprising:
a container 12 containing electrode pads (col. 3, ll. 16-25);
a lid (plastic cover 10) covering the container; and
a handle 16 coupled to the lid at a first location (one end of handle 16) and a lifting mechanism (end attachments of the handle and connected to the plastic cover, fig. 1) coupled to the lid at a second location (opposite side end of the handle), wherein the first location and the second location are different (fig. 1).
Claim 32. Katzman discloses the assembly of claim 31, wherein the container is rigid (col. 2, ll. 34-67).
Claim 34. Katzman discloses the assembly of claim 31, wherein the lifting mechanism is rigid (col. 3, ll. 1-27).
Claim 36. Katzman discloses the assembly of claim 31, wherein the lifting mechanism is coupled to the lid at a plurality of distinct locations (col. 3, ll. 1-27; fig. 1).
Claim 38. Katzman discloses the assembly of claim 31, wherein the handle comprises a visual cue (col. 2, ll. 54-67).
Claim 39. Katzman discloses the assembly of claim 31, wherein the lifting mechanism is configured to transfer force applied to the handle to a plurality of separate locations on the lid (col. 3, ll. 17-25).
Claim 40. Katzman discloses the assembly of claim 39, wherein the handle is configured to have force applied in a first direction and transfer the force to the lid in a second direction,
wherein the first direction and the second direction are different (col. 3, ll. 17-25). Since the handle is divided at the lifting mechanism on opposing sides, the force is distributed accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 25, 27, 33, 35 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzman et al. (US 8,086,306) in view of Petricca et al. (US 6,413,599).
Claim 23. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, where the container is made of a polymeric material but fails to disclose a compliant material. Petricca teaches wherein the container 12 is a compliant container (col. 3, ll. 31-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the container of Katzman to include the compliant material of Petricca to assist in easily viewing and removing the stored product.
Claim 25. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, but fails to disclose a compliant material. Petricca teaches wherein the lifting mechanism 24 is compliant (col. 3, ll. 1-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lifting mechanisms of Katzman to include the compliant material of Petricca to assist in easily gripping and removing the cover from the container.
Claim 27. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, but fails to disclose a compliant material. Petricca teaches wherein the lifting mechanism 24 is configured to bend when pulled (col. 3, ll. 1-32; fig. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lifting mechanisms of Katzman to include the compliant material of Petricca to assist in easily gripping and removing the cover from the container.
Claim 33. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 31, where the container is made of a polymeric material but fails to disclose a compliant material. Petricca teaches wherein the container 12 is a compliant container (col. 3, ll. 31-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the container of Katzman to include the compliant material of Petricca to assist in easily viewing and removing the stored product.
Claim 35. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 31, but fails to disclose a compliant material. Petricca teaches wherein the lifting mechanism 24 is compliant (col. 3, ll. 1-32. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lifting mechanisms of Katzman to include the compliant material of Petricca to assist in easily gripping and removing the cover from the container.
Claim 37. Katzman discloses the AED of claim 21, but fails to disclose a compliant material. Petricca teaches wherein the lifting mechanism 24 is configured to bend when pulled (col. 3, ll. 1-32; fig. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lifting mechanisms of Katzman to include the compliant material of Petricca to assist in easily gripping and removing the cover from the container.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735