DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Morifuji et al. (JP 2022-072024), cited in the IDS dated 1/17/25, reference will be made to the translation furnished by applicant, in view of Schler et al. (US 2022/0165425), cited in the IDS dated 8/14/25.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, Morifuji discloses an estimation device, an estimation method implemented by a computer, and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing an estimation program for causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
obtaining video data that includes a face of a patient who performs a specific task (see paras 52 and 77, photographing unit 76 includes a camera 76 for obtaining images of a patient’s face during a task);
detecting occurrence intensity of each of individual action units included in the face of the patient (see paras 52 and 104-109, a facial expression score is determined based on analysis of time series image data of a patient’s face captured by the camera); and
estimating a test score of a test tool that executes a test related to dementia by inputting a temporal change in each of the detected occurrence intensity of the plurality of action units to a second machine learning model (see paras 38, 52-53, 135-136, and 143-144, cognitive function determination device 30 uses an expression score 120, calculated based on the temporal change of a patient’s facial expression during a task, as input to a machine learning model 420 to determine a cognitive degree score).
Morifuji does not disclose expressly inputting the obtained video data to a first machine learning model.
Schler discloses detecting occurrence intensity of each of individual action units included in the face of the patient by inputting the obtained video data to a first machine learning model (see paras 26, 68-70, and 85-92, a CNN is used to analyze facial expressions and convert the image or images into numerical descriptors).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the use of a machine learning model to determine an expression score, as described by Schler, with the system of Morifuji.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to quickly and accurately classify facial expressions thereby reducing the burden on a clinician.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Schler with Morifuji to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1, 6, and 7.
Regarding claim 2, Morifuji further discloses the program causing the computer to execute the process further comprising: training the test score of the test tool of the patient using the temporal change in the occurrence intensity of each of the plurality of action units as a feature to generate the second machine learning model (see paras 38 and 41-49, cognitive function determination device 30 uses an expression score 120, calculated based on the temporal change of a patient’s facial expression during a task, as input to a machine learning model 420 to determine a cognitive degree score).
Regarding claim 3, Morifuji further discloses the program causing the computer to execute the process further comprising: training the test score of the test tool of the patient using, as a feature, the temporal change in the occurrence intensity of each of the plurality of action units and a temporal change in face orientation of the patient to generate the second machine learning model (see paras 38 and 41-49, cognitive function determination device 30 uses an expression score 120, calculated based on the temporal change of a patient’s facial expression during a task, as input to a machine learning model 420 to determine a cognitive degree score).
Regarding claim 4, Morifuji further discloses wherein the specific task includes an application or an interactive application that tests a cognitive function by loading the cognitive function (see paras 43-47, 89-90, and 104-109, a test of smiling, or making a specific facial expression, a certain number of times for a certain period of time is performed by a patient).
Regarding claim 5, Morifuji further discloses wherein the test score of the test tool includes a test result obtained by performing a mini mental state examination (MMSE), a Hasegawa's dementia scale-revised (HDS-R), or a Montreal cognitive assessment (MoCA), or any combination thereof (see paras 43, 50, and 52-53, the mini mental state examination is utilized).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To further show the state of the art please refer to the attached Notice of References Cited.
/MARK R MILIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681