Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025, 01/17/2025, 01/17/2025 and 03/20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuramitsu (WO2018088465).
As to independent claim 1, Kuramitsu teaches an electrical propulsion system to convert electrical power to torque, the system comprising: two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231), each independent motor controller circuit (131, 231) configured to receive direct-current (DC) power input (191, 291) and convert the DC power input to independent multiphase alternating-current (AC) power output (120, 220) such that the two or more motor controller circuits (131, 231) converts the DC power input (191, 291) to at least dual independent multiphase AC power outputs (120, 220), wherein each motor controller circuit (131, 231) is configured to vary its respective independent multiphase AC power output (120, 220); an electric motor assembly (80) having a main shaft (870) for supplying torque, the electric motor assembly (80) configured to receive power input (191, 291) as the at least dual independent multiphase AC (120, 220) from the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) to rotate the main shaft (870); a first electrical communication channel (126 to 131) extending between the electrical motor assembly (80) and a first of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) for transmitting a signal indicative of motor data between the electrical motor assembly (80) and the first of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231), wherein the motor data comprises at least one of a motor data group consisting of: temperature (127,227) of the electric motor assembly (80) , revolutions per minute (RPM) of the main shaft, angular position (126, 226) of the main shaft (870), and combinations thereof; and a second electrical communication channel (226 to 231) extending between the electric motor assembly (80) and a second of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) for transmitting at least one of the motor data group between the electric motor assembly and the second of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231), wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) receive and monitor at least one of the motor data group received from the electric motor assembly (80) and based upon the at least one of the motor data group received from the electric motor assembly (80) varies the independent multiphase AC power output (120, 220) of each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) as shown in figures 6-10.
As to claim 2/1, Kuramitsu teaches further comprising a controller communication channel (171-271, 271-272) extending between the first of the two of more independent motor controller circuits (136) and the second of the two of more independent motor controller circuits (236) to communicate information to facilitate checking for faults (190, 290) in the electrical propulsion system as shown in figures 6-10.
As to claim 3/1, wherein the electric motor assembly includes a temperature sensor (127, 227) to measure the temperature of at least one of the electric motor assembly (80, 180, 280), at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131,231), two or more of the independent motor controller circuits (131,231), and combinations thereof as shown in figure 8.
As to claim 4/1, wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) are configured to output a discrete pulse width modulation (PWM) signal (163, 263) that is used to perform at least one of a control group consisting of: timing the multiphase AC power output of the respective motor controller circuit (131, 231), control the multiphase power output of the respective motor controller circuit (131, 231), control one or more accessories of the system, and combinations thereof as shown in figure 9.
As to claim 15/1, Kuramitsu teaches wherein a single housing (460) contains at least two of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) where the at least two of the two or more motor controller circuits (131, 231) produces and supplies two independent multi-phases of AC power output (120, 220) as shown in figures 6-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishihara et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0113851).
As to claim 5/1, Kuramitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising: a cooling system having a cooling fluid, wherein at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits is configured to receive at least one of a cooling data group consisting of: temperature data on the cooling fluid, pressure data on the cooling fluid, and combinations thereof.
However Ishihara et al. teaches a cooling system (110) having a cooling fluid (113), wherein at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (135) is configured to receive at least one of a cooling data group consisting of: temperature data (137) on the cooling fluid (113), pressure data on the cooling fluid, and combinations thereof as shown n figure 22 and see paragraph [0202], for the advantageous benefit of efficiently removing heat from the coolant while circulating the coolant back to the reservoir via the coolant return path, and hence increasing discharge pressure of the coolant in the coolant return path.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using a cooling system having a cooling fluid, wherein at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits is configured to receive at least one of a cooling data group consisting of: temperature data on the cooling fluid, pressure data on the cooling fluid, and combinations thereof, as taught by Ishihara et al., to efficient removing heat from the coolant while circulating the coolant back to the reservoir via the coolant return path, and hence increasing discharge pressure of the coolant in the coolant return path.
As to claim 6/5, Kuramitsu in view of Ishihara et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the cooling system comprises at least one of a sensor group consisting of: a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, and combinations thereof.
However Ishihara et al. teaches the cooling system (110) comprises at least one of a sensor group consisting of: a temperature sensor (137), a pressure sensor, and combinations thereof as shown in figure 22 and see paragraph [0202], for the advantageous benefit of efficiently removing heat from the coolant while circulating the coolant back to the reservoir via the coolant return path, and hence increasing discharge pressure of the coolant in the coolant return path.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu in view of Ishihara et al. by using the cooling system comprises at least one of a sensor group consisting of: a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, and combinations thereof, as taught by Ishihara et al., to efficient removing heat from the coolant while circulating the coolant back to the reservoir via the coolant return path, and hence increasing discharge pressure of the coolant in the coolant return path.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagashima et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0174642).
As to claim 7/1, Kuramitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a cooling system having a cooling fluid wherein the cooling system includes one or more cooling pumps to provide a flow rate of the cooling fluid within the cooling system.
However Nagashima et al. teaches a cooling system (32) having a cooling fluid (64) wherein the cooling system (32) includes one or more cooling pumps (76) to provide a flow rate of the cooling fluid (64) within the cooling system (32) as shown in figure 3 and see paragraph [0033-0034, 0038], for the advantageous benefit of providing the space for cooling arrangement within the vehicle, is reduced and the cooling arrangement is easy to assemble and maintain.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using a cooling system having a cooling fluid wherein the cooling system includes one or more cooling pumps to provide a flow rate of the cooling fluid within the cooling system, as taught by Nagashima et al., to provide the space for cooling arrangement within the vehicle, is reduced and the cooling arrangement is easy to assemble and maintain.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Wagner et al. (US PG Pub 2013/0215573).
As to claim 8/1, Kuramitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a cooling system having a cooling fluid wherein at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits has a housing, and the cooling system is configured to direct the cooling fluid to and through the housing of the at least one of the two or more motor controller circuits.
However Wagner et al. teaches a cooling system having a cooling fluid wherein at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (100) has a housing (200), and the cooling system is configured to direct the cooling fluid (120) to and through the housing (200) of the at least one of the two or more motor controller circuits (100) as shown in figures 1B, 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving thermal management for the inverter circuit in a small form factor; and controls the amount of power pulled (and subsequently, supplied) and the frequency of the output power based on the load state, and the switching characteristics of the inverter circuit based on a desired torque value and one or more motor parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using a cooling system having a cooling fluid wherein at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits has a housing, and the cooling system is configured to direct the cooling fluid to and through the housing of the at least one of the two or more motor controller circuits, as taught by Wagner et al., to provide the space for cooling arrangement within the vehicle, is reduced and the cooling arrangement is easy to assemble and maintain.
As to claim 9/8, Kuramitsu in view of Wagner et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the cooling system is configured so that the same cooling fluid slows serially through the housing and the electric motor assembly.
However Wagner et al. teaches the cooling system is configured so that the same cooling fluid (120) slows serially through the housing (200) and the electric motor assembly as shown in figure 2 and see paragraph [0020], for the advantageous benefit of improving thermal management for the inverter circuit in a small form factor; and controls the amount of power pulled (and subsequently, supplied) and the frequency of the output power based on the load state, and the switching characteristics of the inverter circuit based on a desired torque value and one or more motor parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu in view of Wagner et al. by using the cooling system is configured so that the same cooling fluid slows serially through the housing and the electric motor assembly, as taught by Wagner et al., to provide the space for cooling arrangement within the vehicle, is reduced and the cooling arrangement is easy to assemble and maintain.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0389467).
As to claim 10/1, Kuramitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except teaches wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits are configured to receive throttle control input signals and based upon the throttle control input signals vary the at least dual independent multiphase AC power output to the electric motor assembly.
However Morita et al. teaches each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (1) are configured to receive throttle control input signals (torque command) and based upon the throttle control input signals (torque command) vary the at least dual independent multiphase AC power output (3) to the electric motor assembly (11, 12) as shown in figure 2, providing an electric vehicle drive apparatus that also enables backward traveling.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits are configured to receive throttle control input signals and based upon the throttle control input signals vary the at least dual independent multiphase AC power output to the electric motor assembly, as taught by Morita et al., to provide an electric vehicle drive apparatus that also enables backward traveling.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Horner et al. (US PG Pub 2003/0157875).
As to claim 11/1, Kuramitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits comprise a discrete output communicating with an aircraft interface to indicate the status of the two or more independent motor controller circuits
Horner et al. teaches wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (208) comprise a discrete output communicating with an aircraft interface to indicate the status of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (208) see paragraph [0026-0033]), for the advantageous benefit of reducing the likelihood for a common mode failure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits comprise a discrete output communicating with an aircraft interface to indicate the status of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, as taught by Horner et al., to reduces the likelihood for a common mode failure.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN105807667).
As to claim 12/1, Kuramitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising at least one digital Controller Area Network (CAN) communication and data line connected to one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits and configured to send an operating parameter group to an aircraft interface, wherein the operating parameter group consists of at least one of: torque output of the main shaft, rotational speed of the main shaft, electrical current output of the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, electrical power output of the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, operating states of the electric motor assembly or the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, internal temperatures of the electric motor assembly or the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, and combinations thereof.
Wang teaches at least one digital Controller Area Network (CAN) communication (see paragraph [0041]) and data line connected to one of the two or more motor controller circuits (see paragraph [0010], [0041]) and configured to send an operating parameter group to an aircraft interface (see paragraph [0013]), wherein the operating parameter group consists of at least one of: torque output of the main shaft (see paragraph [0012]), rotational speed of the main shaft(see paragraph [0013]), electrical current output of the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, electrical power output of the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, operating states of the electric motor assembly or the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, internal temperatures of the electric motor assembly or the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, and combinations thereof see paragraph [0010, 0012, 0013, 0041], for the advantageous benefit of providing easy to assemble and maintain and easy to detects propeller rotating speed, aircraft flying state and steady running state, and reduces cost consumption.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using at least one digital Controller Area Network (CAN) communication and data line connected to one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits and configured to send an operating parameter group to an aircraft interface, wherein the operating parameter group consists of at least one of: torque output of the main shaft, rotational speed of the main shaft, electrical current output of the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, electrical power output of the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, operating states of the electric motor assembly or the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, internal temperatures of the electric motor assembly or the one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits, and combinations thereof, as taught by Wang, to provide easy to assemble and maintain and easy to detects propeller rotating speed, aircraft flying state and steady running state, and reduces cost consumption.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) and Wang (CN105807667) as applied in claim 12 above, and further in view of Dormiani et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0036732).
As to claim 13/12, Kuramitsu in view of Wang teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising at least two digital CAN communication and data lines connected to each one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits and configured to send the operating parameter group to the aircraft interface, wherein at least one of the at least two digital CAN communication and data lines is redundant.
However Dormiani et al. teaches et al. teaches least two digital CAN communication and data lines (416, 418) connected to each one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (412,414) and configured to send the operating parameter group to the aircraft interface, wherein at least one of the at least two digital CAN communication and data lines (416,418) is redundant as shown in figure 4, for the advantageous benefit of providing an aerial vehicle can be operated normally while avoiding the redundancies, and the aerial vehicle is safer and more reliable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using at least two digital CAN communication and data lines connected to each one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits and configured to send the operating parameter group to the aircraft interface, wherein at least one of the at least two digital CAN communication and data lines is redundant, as taught by Dormiani et al., to provide an aerial vehicle can be operated normally while avoiding the redundancies, and the aerial vehicle is safer and more reliable.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Dormiani et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0036732).
As to claim 14/1, Kuramitsu teaches wherein at least two of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) communicate over (CAN communication or FlexRay communication , see paragraph [0090]), and the electric motor assembly (80) is capable of operating to supply torque if one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits is degraded, faulty, or inoperable as shown in figures 6-10 and paragraph [0065, 0094-0095, 0124, 0232])
However Kuratmitsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except communicate over a high-speed bus.
Dormiani et al. teaches communicate over a high-speed bus (302, 306, 308), as shown figures 3A-3B, 7 and see paragraphs [0089-0091 and 0129], for the advantageous benefit of allowing for components to fail in this way may make aerial vehicles that incorporate the network more safe and reliable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using communicate over a high-speed bus, as taught by Dormiani et al., to allow for components to fail in this way may make aerial vehicles that incorporate the network more safe and reliable.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US PG Pub 2013/0227950).
As to claim 16/1, Kurimatsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except configured as a propulsion system, wherein the main shaft of the electric motor assembly is configured to supply torque to a propulsor of an aircraft.
However Anderson et al. teaches a propulsion system (80), wherein the main shaft (see figure 2) of the electric motor assembly (20) is configured to supply torque to a propulsor of an aircraft as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing power to the propeller and maintain level flight without requiring operation of the internal combustion engine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using a propulsion system, wherein the main shaft of the electric motor assembly is configured to supply torque to a propulsor of an aircraft, as taught by Anderson et al., to provide power to the propeller and maintain level flight without requiring operation of the internal combustion engine.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Goshi (US PG Pub 20060073041).
As to claim 17/1, Kurimatsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a cooling system having a cooling fluid, wherein the system is configured to receive at least one of a cooling data group consisting of: the temperature of the cooling fluid, the pressure of the cooling fluid, and combinations thereof, and the system is configured to send control signals to regulate the pressure of the cooling fluid in the cooling system.
However Goshi teaches a cooling system having a cooling fluid (see paragraph [0059, 0061, 0063]), wherein the system is configured to receive at least one of a cooling data group consisting of: the temperature of the cooling fluid, the pressure of the cooling fluid (see paragraph [0074-0075]), and combinations thereof, and the system is configured to send control signals to regulate the pressure (365/397) of the cooling fluid in the cooling system (see paragraph [0075]) as shown in figures 3, 4, for the advantageous benefit of improving design to reduce particle generation and contamination during high-speed rotation of pump.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using a cooling system having a cooling fluid, wherein the system is configured to receive at least one of a cooling data group consisting of: the temperature of the cooling fluid, the pressure of the cooling fluid, and combinations thereof, and the system is configured to send control signals to regulate the pressure of the cooling fluid in the cooling system, as taught by Goshi, to improve design to reduce particle generation and contamination during high-speed rotation of pump.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Boyer et al. (6,351,090).
As to claim 18/1, Kurimatsu teaches two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) as shown in figure 6-10, but Kurimatsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except are each configured to receive direct current having a voltage from about as low as 400 volts to as high as 800 volts.
However Boyer et al. teaches an controller (18) configured to receive direct current having a voltage from about as low as 400 volts to as high as 800 volts as shown in figure 1-3 and see claim 9, for the advantageous benefit of minimizing line losses due heat dissipation and /or minimizes the mass conductors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by configured to receive direct current having a voltage from about as low as 400 volts to as high as 800 volts, as taught by Boyer et al., to minimize line losses due heat dissipation and /or minimizes the mass conductors.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (WO2013081225).
As to claim 19/1, Kurimatsu teaches two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) as shown in figure 6-10, but Kurimatsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein delivers power to the electric motor assembly at a frequency as low as 10 Hertz to as high as 1000 Hertz.
Han teaches a controller (130) delivers power to the electric motor assembly at a frequency as low as 10 Hertz to as high as 1000 Hertz as shown in figure 1 and claim 19, for the advantageous benefit of increasing rotation speed of an electric motor in an efficient manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by delivers power to the electric motor assembly at a frequency as low as 10 Hertz to as high as 1000 Hertz, as taught by Han, to increases rotation speed of an electric motor in an efficient manner.
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (CN102868266) and Stancu et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0223262).
As to claim 20/1, Kurimatsu teaches two or more independent motor controller (131, 231) circuits supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output (120, 220) as shown in figres 6-10, but Kurimatsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the electric motor assembly comprises at least two stator modules, each stator module having at least two sets of a plurality of stator windings, each set of the at least two sets of the plurality of stator windings being electrically isolated from the other set of the at least two sets of the plurality of stator windings, and wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output to each set of the plurality of stator windings.
However Xu teaches the electric motor assembly comprises at least two stator modules (1), each stator module (1), the plurality of stator windings (2) being electrically isolated from the other set of phase of the plurality of stator windings (2) as shown in figures 1-2, and see paragraph [0009], for the advantageous benefit of improving motor reliability.
Stancu et al. teaches having at least two sets of a plurality of stator windings (see paragraph [0027]) and wherein independent motor controller circuits (204, 206 ,208, 210) supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output to each set of the plurality of stator windings as shown in figure 2 and see paragraph [0024-0027], for the advantageous benefit of providing an automatic redundancy and protection feature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using at least two stator modules, each stator module having at least two sets of a plurality of stator windings, each set of the at least two sets of the plurality of stator windings being electrically isolated from the other set of the at least two sets of the plurality of stator windings, and wherein each of the two or more independent motor controller circuits supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output to each set of the plurality of stator windings, as taught by Xu and Stancu et al., to improve motor reliability and provide an automatic redundancy and protection feature.
As to claim 21/1, Kurimatsu teaches wherein each independent motor controller circuit (131, 231) produces multiphase AC power output (120, 220) as shown n figure 6-10, but Kurimatsu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the system comprises: four or more independent motor controller circuits, wherein the electric motor assembly comprises at least two stator modules, each stator module having two sets of a plurality of stator windings, each set of the two sets of the plurality of stator windings being electrically isolated from the other set of the two sets of the plurality of stator windings, and wherein each motor controller circuit supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output to each set of the plurality of stator windings.
Xu teaches the electric motor assembly comprises at least two stator modules (1), each stator module (1), the plurality of stator windings (2) being electrically isolated from the other set of phase of the plurality of stator windings (2) as shown in figures 1-2, and see paragraph [0009], for the advantageous benefit of improving motor reliability.
Stancu et al. teaches : four or more independent motor controller circuits 204, 206 ,208, 210) and having at least two sets of a plurality of stator windings (see paragraph [0027]) and wherein independent motor controller circuits (204, 206 ,208, 210) supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output to each set of the plurality of stator windings as shown in figure 2 and see paragraph [0024-0027], for the advantageous benefit of providing an automatic redundancy and protection feature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using four or more independent motor controller circuits, wherein the electric motor assembly comprises at least two stator modules, each stator module having two sets of a plurality of stator windings, each set of the two sets of the plurality of stator windings being electrically isolated from the other set of the two sets of the plurality of stator windings, and wherein each motor controller circuit supplies independent multiphase alternating current (AC) power output to each set of the plurality of stator windings, as taught by Xu and Stancu et al., to improve motor reliability and provide an automatic redundancy and protection feature.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Campbell (8,212,510).
As to claim 22/1, Kuritmasu teaches wherein the first electrical communication channel (126) extending between the first motor controller circuit (131) and the electric motor assembly (80) and the second electrical communication channel (226) extending between the second controller circuit (231) and the electric motor assembly (80) as shown in figures 6-10
However Kuritmasu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except temperature communication channel for transmitting temperature data indicative of temperature of the electric motor assembly and a first motor communication channel extending between the electric motor assembly and the first motor controller circuit for transmitting a signal indicative of at least one of a motor speed group consisting of: revolutions per minute (RPM) of the main shaft, angular position of the main shaft, or combinations thereof.
Campbell teaches temperature communication channel (212) for transmitting temperature data indicative of temperature of the electric motor assembly (124) and the controller circuit for transmitting a signal indicative of at least one of a motor speed group consisting of: revolutions per minute (RPM) of the main shaft, angular position (208) of the main shaft, or combinations thereof (resolver 214) as shown in figure 2, see column 4, lines 32-66, for the advantageous benefit of providing controllers with feedback signals for implementing a suitable motor control scheme and generating inverter control signals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using temperature communication channel for transmitting temperature data indicative of temperature of the electric motor assembly and a first motor communication channel extending between the electric motor assembly and the first motor controller circuit for transmitting a signal indicative of at least one of a motor speed group consisting of: revolutions per minute (RPM) of the main shaft, angular position of the main shaft, or combinations thereof, as taught by Campbell, to provide controllers with feedback signals for implementing a suitable motor control scheme and generating inverter control signals.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramitsu (WO2018088465) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0291570).
As to claim 23/1, Kuritmasu teaches at least one housing containing at least one of the two or more independent motor controller circuits (131, 231) and through the electric motor assembly (80) as shown in figure 6-10.
However Kuritmasu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a cooling system having a cooling fluid, wherein the cooling system is configured to have the cooling fluid flow through, wherein the cooling system further is configured to have the same cooling fluid flowing through the housing and the electric motor assembly arranged to lubricate the electric motor assembly.
Tang et al. teaches a cooling system (125) having a cooling fluid, wherein the cooling system (125) is configured to have the cooling fluid flow through, wherein the cooling system (125) further is configured to have the same cooling fluid flowing through the housing and the electric motor assembly (115) arranged to lubricate the electric motor assembly (115) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing lubrication and cooling to drivetrain bearings and other internal components.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuramitsu by using a cooling system having a cooling fluid, wherein the cooling system is configured to have the cooling fluid flow through, wherein the cooling system further is configured to have the same cooling fluid flowing through the housing and the electric motor assembly arranged to lubricate the electric motor assembly, as taught by Tang et al., to provide lubrication and cooling to drivetrain bearings and other internal components.
As to claim 24/23, Kuritmasu in view of Tang et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the system further comprises an accessory gear box driven by the main shaft of the electric motor assembly to operate accessories and wherein the same cooling fluid flowing through the housing and the electric motor assembly is arranged to lubricate the accessory gearbox.
However Tang et al. teaches an accessory gear box driven (110) by the main shaft of the electric motor assembly (115) to operate accessories and wherein the same cooling fluid flowing through the housing and the electric motor assembly (115) is arranged to lubricate the accessory gearbox (110) as shown in figure 1, improving the cooling effectiveness of the drivetrain.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kuritmasu in view of Tang et al. by using the system further comprises an accessory gear box driven by the main shaft of the electric motor assembly to operate accessories and wherein the same cooling fluid flowing through the housing and the electric motor assembly is arranged to lubricate the accessory gearbox, as taught by Tang et al., to improve the cooling effectiveness of the drivetrain.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 August 31, 2026