DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2025 and 6/27/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
1: Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 9-12, 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Bionic Eye for the iPhone 3GS with Augmented Reality by Presselite iphone applications (Presselite).
2: As for Claim 2, Presselite teaches in the Youtube video a system (iPhone 3GS smartphone), comprising: a camera; a display; one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions (the video teaches the use of an iPhone 3GS which includes a camera, display, processor and memory) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: display a live video (rear facing camera captured live video of the scene) captured by the camera and a computer-generated imagery (computer generated imagery in the form of icons related to the different restaurants) generated based on the live video on the display (the location of the icons is based on the determined location within the image on the display); receive sensor data from the one or more sensors (motion sensors detect motion and change the location of the icons in real-time) indicating that the camera is in motion, wherein the computer-generated imagery (restaurant icons depicted in the below figure) depicting the identified object and the live video are synchronized based on the received sensor data; and receive a user input for navigating the computer-generated imagery depicting the identified object, wherein navigation of the computer- generated imagery based on the user input is separate from the live video (see second image included below); and display, based on the user input, an updated view of the computer-generated imagery (after an icon is selected a new icon is viewable in real time for navigation to the location).
3: As for Claim 3, Presselite teaches in the video wherein: the system (iphone 3GS) comprises a touch sensitive surface; and the user input for navigating the computer-generated imagery is received via the touch sensitive surface.
4: As for Claim 4, Presselite teaches in the video wherein: the user input for navigating the computer-generated imagery (user interacts with the touch screen of the iphone) includes instruction to navigate the computer-generated imagery by performing one or more tilting, zooming, panning, or shifting of the computer-generated imagery.
5: As for Claim 6, Presselite teaches in the video wherein the memory further comprises instructions that further cause the one or more processors to: generate an information layer including information about the object (information including distance and directions to the locations is displayed); overlay the information layer onto the computer-generated imagery (the distance information is included on the depicted rectangular computer generated imagery as depicted below); and synchronize, based on the user input, the information layer and the updated view of the computer-generated imagery (the location of the displayed computer generated imagery is updated in real time based on the detected motion of the iPhone 3GS).
6: As for Claim 9, Presselite discuses in the video wherein: the one or more sensors include at least one of: a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an accelerometer, a motion sensor, a light sensor, a proximity sensor, or a positioning system.
7: As for Claim 10, Claim 10 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 2.
8: As for Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 3.
9: As for Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 4.
10: As for Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 6.
11: As for Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 9.
12: As for Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 2.
13: As for Claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 3.
14: As for Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 8, 13, 15, 16 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
June 4, 2026