DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9-10 recited the limitation “…determining a front direction of the display based on an orientation of the display at a predetermined point in time….”, however “determining a front direction” is not well described in the claims. Therefore, the claims 9-10 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200379707) in view of CooleoBrad et al. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhfZjbVUxZE).
Regarding claim 1:
Kwon teaches:
An information processing apparatus (Kwon [0144] Referring to FIG. 15, the electronic apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may include the display 110, the communicator 120, a storage 140, a user interface 150, the processor 130, a microphone 160, and a speaker 170. Hereinafter, descriptions overlapping or substantially redundant with descriptions provided above will be omitted or abbreviated.), comprising:
a processor; and a memory storing a program which, when executed by the processor, causes the information processing apparatus to (Kwon [0029] According to another aspect of the disclosure, an electronic device includes: a memory storing instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: based on a user command for selectively mirroring one of a plurality of screens being received in a state in which the plurality of screens are displayed, control to provide a first screen, from among the plurality of screens, to an external device for mirroring, and control to display a second screen that is not mirrored to the external device, while mirroring the first screen to the external device.):
Kwon alone fails to teach:
perform image acquisition processing for acquiring a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] The program acquires the screen as captured images and streams this to the virtual reality headset); and
perform display control processing for displaying, on a display, a composite image obtained by the captured image and a virtual screen being composited (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [2:30 – 3:00] The video shows the virtual screen on the display as something that can be moved around and used in many different ways. Inside the virtual reality the phone is used as a sort of “second display” as it is displayed on top of the virtual scene.),
wherein, in the display control processing, control is performed so that in a case where a mobile terminal is in a portrait state when viewed from a user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
perform image acquisition processing for acquiring a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] The program acquires the screen as captured images and streams this to the virtual reality headset); and
perform display control processing for displaying, on a display, a composite image obtained by the captured image and a virtual screen being composited (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [2:30 – 3:00] The video shows the virtual screen on the display as something that can be moved around and used in many different ways. Inside the virtual reality the phone is used as a sort of “second display” as it is displayed on top of the virtual scene.),
wherein, in the display control processing, control is performed so that in a case where a mobile terminal is in a portrait state when viewed from a user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controlled from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Image at 1:40:
Image at 2:45:
Regarding claim 2.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the program, when executed by the processor, further causes the information processing apparatus to execute information acquisition processing for acquiring information about the virtual screen from the mobile terminal (CooleoBrad [2:40 – 3:00] here we can see that the program is using an acquisition method to receive a live screen capture from the mobile device. This way it creates a live virtual screen based off of the mobile phone), and
wherein, in the display control processing, control is performed so that the captured image is composited with the virtual screen based on the information and the composite image is displayed on the display (CooleoBrad [2:40 – 3:00] here we can see that the program is using an acquisition method to receive a live screen capture from the mobile device. This way it creates a live virtual screen based off of the mobile phone).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where content to be displayed on the virtual screen is content of a portrait screen, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state, and in a case where the content to be displayed on the virtual screen is content of a landscape screen, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where the content to be displayed on the virtual screen is content of the portrait screen, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state even if the mobile terminal is in the landscape state when viewed from the user, and in a case where the content to be displayed on the virtual screen is content of the landscape screen, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state even if the mobile terminal is in the portrait state when viewed from the user (Kwon [Fig. 8] [0108] Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 8, when (e.g., based on) a screen 80 having a height that is longer (greater) than the width is mirrored from the electronic device 100 to the external device 200, in a state in which the display of the external device 200 is in a landscape position, the external device 200 may rotate the display of the external device 200 in the landscape state into a portrait state and then display a mirrored image through the display in the portrait state.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein, in the information acquisition processing, in a case where the content is content of the portrait screen, information about the portrait screen is acquired from the mobile terminal, and in a case where the content is content of the landscape screen, information about the landscape screen is acquired from the mobile terminal (Kwon [Fig. 8] [0115] For example, referring to FIG. 9, when a user command for mirroring the screen 20 provided by the second application is input, the processor 130 may mirror the screen 20 provided by the second application to the external device 200 and reduce a size of the screen 20 provided by the second application displayed on the display 110.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where an orientation of a screen of the mobile terminal is fixed, the virtual screen is displayed in the fixed orientation even if an orientation of the mobile terminal is changed (CooleoBrad [1:42] On the phone example provided (an iphone) there is an option for screen lock, this therefore allows for the mobile device to be in any orientation and for the orientation that is streamed to be in a fixed resolution.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein, in the display control processing, control is performed to display, on the display, the virtual screen in the portrait or landscape state based on an orientation of the mobile terminal and an orientation of the display (Kwon [0010] – [0011] The processor may be further configured to execute the instructions to control the first screen mirrored, to the external device, based on another user command received while the first screen is being mirrored to the external device. The processor may be further configured to control the communicator to transmit, to the external device, information on a resolution of the first screen based on the user command for mirroring one of the plurality of screens being input, in order to cause an orientation of a rotatable display of the external device to be arranged based on the information on the resolution.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein, in the display control processing, control is performed so that in a case where the mobile terminal is horizontally placed in the portrait state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is horizontally placed in the landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display (CooleoBrad [1:42] When a device is in a state where the orientation setting is set to fixed, the mobile device can be set to a portrait state or in a landscape state based on when it was set into the locked orientation mode. Therefore once it is in the “locked” state, the mobile device can be moved into any orientation and stay in the locked position. Therefore allowing for the mobile device orientation not matter as long as the state of the device is put into that mode.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein, in the display control processing, the virtual screen is displayed so that the virtual screen follows the display according to an orientation of the display (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein, in the display control processing, the virtual screen is displayed so that the virtual screen stands still in a mixed reality space even if an orientation of the display is changed (CooleoBrad [2:40 – 3:00] It is visible that as much as he moves the screen can either stay or he can move the screen, the screen stays no matter how the main user moves around.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15:
Kwon teaches:
A control method of an information processing apparatus, comprising: (Kwon [0144] Referring to FIG. 15, the electronic apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may include the display 110, the communicator 120, a storage 140, a user interface 150, the processor 130, a microphone 160, and a speaker 170. Hereinafter, descriptions overlapping or substantially redundant with descriptions provided above will be omitted or abbreviated.), comprising:
Kwon alone fails to teach:
acquiring a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] The program acquires the screen as captured images and streams this to the virtual reality headset); and
and performing control to display, on a display, a composite image obtained by the captured image and a virtual screen being composited (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [2:30 – 3:00] The video shows the virtual screen on the display as something that can be moved around and used in many different ways. Inside the virtual reality the phone is used as a sort of “second display” as it is displayed on top of the virtual scene.),
wherein the control is performed so that in a case where a mobile terminal is in a portrait state when viewed from a user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
acquiring a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] The program acquires the screen as captured images and streams this to the virtual reality headset); and
and performing control to display, on a display, a composite image obtained by the captured image and a virtual screen being composited (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [2:30 – 3:00] The video shows the virtual screen on the display as something that can be moved around and used in many different ways. Inside the virtual reality the phone is used as a sort of “second display” as it is displayed on top of the virtual scene.),
wherein the control is performed so that in a case where a mobile terminal is in a portrait state when viewed from a user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
A non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program, wherein the program causes a computer to execute a control method according to claim 15 (Kwon [0037] According to another aspect of the disclosure, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium has recorded thereon instructions executable by at least one processor to perform the method.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17:
Kwon teaches:
An information processing system, comprising: a mobile terminal; a display apparatus; an image acquisition apparatus configured to acquire a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.);
and a display control apparatus configured to perform control to display (Kwon [0009] According to an aspect of the disclosure, an electronic device includes: a display; a communicator; and a display; a communicator; and a processor configured to execute instructions to: control the communicator to mirror, to an external device, a first screen provided by a first application corresponding to a user command, among a plurality of applications providing a plurality of screens, based on the user command for selectively mirroring one of the plurality of screens being input in a state in which the plurality of screens are displayed on the display, and control the display to display a second screen provided by a second application that is not mirrored to the external device, among the plurality of applications, while mirroring the first screen provided by the first application to the external device.),
Kwon alone fails to teach:
an image acquisition apparatus configured to acquire a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] The program acquires the screen as captured images and streams this to the virtual reality headset); and
and a display control apparatus configured to perform control to display, on the display apparatus, a composite image obtained by the captured image and a virtual screen being composited (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [2:30 – 3:00] The video shows the virtual screen on the display as something that can be moved around and used in many different ways. Inside the virtual reality the phone is used as a sort of “second display” as it is displayed on top of the virtual scene.),
wherein the display control apparatus performs the control so that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a portrait state when viewed from a user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display apparatus, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display apparatus (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
an image acquisition apparatus configured to acquire a captured image (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] The program acquires the screen as captured images and streams this to the virtual reality headset); and
and a display control apparatus configured to perform control to display, on the display apparatus, a composite image obtained by the captured image and a virtual screen being composited (Kwon [0004] The mirroring service refers to a service for displaying (or sharing) an image that is being displayed on a display of the electronic device, on a display of another electronic device. Thus, the mirroring service allows a user to watch an image that is being displayed on a display of an electronic device such as a notebook, a tablet, or a smartphone, through a display of a display device such as a television or a monitor.) (CooleoBrad [2:30 – 3:00] The video shows the virtual screen on the display as something that can be moved around and used in many different ways. Inside the virtual reality the phone is used as a sort of “second display” as it is displayed on top of the virtual scene.),
wherein the display control apparatus performs the control so that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a portrait state when viewed from a user, the virtual screen is displayed in the portrait state on the display apparatus, and that in a case where the mobile terminal is in a landscape state when viewed from the user, the virtual screen is displayed in the landscape state on the display apparatus (Kwon [0012] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a landscape state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and a width of the first screen is greater than a height of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in the landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state is rotated to the landscape state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and the width of the first screen is greater than the height of the first screen. [0013] The information on the resolution may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed on the rotatable display of the external device in a portrait state when the rotatable display of the external device is in the portrait state and a height of the first screen is greater than a width of the first screen, and may cause the first screen mirrored to the external device to be displayed in a landscape state after the rotatable display of the external device in the landscape state is rotated to the portrait state and when the rotatable display of the external device is in the landscape state and the height of the first screen is greater than the width of the first screen.) (CooleoBrad [1:45 – 2:00] In response to the phone’s orientation, the virtual screen also changes the orientation. This is further expanded upon once the virtual screen is visible at 2:45 – 3:00. The virtual screen is controller from the phone. The different orientations are synced between the phone and the virtual reality device.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon with CooleoBrad. Being able to screen mirror into a digital display, as in CooleoBrad, would benefit the Kwon teachings by allowing for a display to not only refer to a physical real display, but also to a display that may be virtual inside of another display. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to screen mirror into a digital display, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200379707) in view of CooleoBrad et al. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhfZjbVUxZE) and Imasaka et al. (US 20180231776).
Regarding claim 11.
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Kwon and CooleoBrad fail to teach:
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where a distance between the mobile terminal and the user is shorter than a predetermined distance, the virtual screen is displayed (Imasaka [0037] In still another mode of the virtual image display device, the virtual image display device further includes a sending unit configured to send information on a type of the virtual image display device used for the portable terminal to switch a display mode of the image displayed on the display surface, and the sending unit sends the information on the type to the portable terminal at a time when distance between the holding unit and the portable terminal is equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance. The virtual image display device according to this mode enables the portable terminal to determine the display mode of the guide image so that the observer can properly see the virtual image.).
Imasaka teaches:
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where a distance between the mobile terminal and the user is shorter than a predetermined distance, the virtual screen is displayed (Imasaka [0037] In still another mode of the virtual image display device, the virtual image display device further includes a sending unit configured to send information on a type of the virtual image display device used for the portable terminal to switch a display mode of the image displayed on the display surface, and the sending unit sends the information on the type to the portable terminal at a time when distance between the holding unit and the portable terminal is equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance. The virtual image display device according to this mode enables the portable terminal to determine the display mode of the guide image so that the observer can properly see the virtual image.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon and CooleoBrad with Imasaka. Having a way to control when a content is display based on a distance, would benefit the Kwon and CooleoBrad teachings by allowing for a display to only show up when it is a certain distance away and close to you. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a way to control when a content is display based on a distance, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12.
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where a distance between the mobile terminal and the user is shorter than a predetermined distance, the virtual screen is displayed (Imasaka [0037] In still another mode of the virtual image display device, the virtual image display device further includes a sending unit configured to send information on a type of the virtual image display device used for the portable terminal to switch a display mode of the image displayed on the display surface, and the sending unit sends the information on the type to the portable terminal at a time when distance between the holding unit and the portable terminal is equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance. The virtual image display device according to this mode enables the portable terminal to determine the display mode of the guide image so that the observer can properly see the virtual image.).
Kwon and CooleoBrad teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Kwon and CooleoBrad fail to teach:
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where a distance between the mobile terminal and the user exceeds a predetermined distance, display of the virtual screen is terminated (Imasaka [0037] In still another mode of the virtual image display device, the virtual image display device further includes a sending unit configured to send information on a type of the virtual image display device used for the portable terminal to switch a display mode of the image displayed on the display surface, and the sending unit sends the information on the type to the portable terminal at a time when distance between the holding unit and the portable terminal is equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance. The virtual image display device according to this mode enables the portable terminal to determine the display mode of the guide image so that the observer can properly see the virtual image.) (It would be obvious to assume that if it only works in a state where the distance is less it wouldn’t work when it is more.).
Imasaka teaches:
wherein, in the display control processing, in a case where a distance between the mobile terminal and the user exceeds a predetermined distance, display of the virtual screen is terminated (Imasaka [0037] In still another mode of the virtual image display device, the virtual image display device further includes a sending unit configured to send information on a type of the virtual image display device used for the portable terminal to switch a display mode of the image displayed on the display surface, and the sending unit sends the information on the type to the portable terminal at a time when distance between the holding unit and the portable terminal is equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance. The virtual image display device according to this mode enables the portable terminal to determine the display mode of the guide image so that the observer can properly see the virtual image.) (It would be obvious to assume that if it only works in a state where the distance is less it wouldn’t work when it is more.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kwon and CooleoBrad with Imasaka. Having a way to control when a content is display based on a distance, would benefit the Kwon and CooleoBrad teachings by allowing for a display to only show up when it is a certain distance away and close to you. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a way to control when a content is display based on a distance, to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612