DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed February 28, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 have been canceled. Claims 21-40 are new and currently pending for examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0001] of the specification should be amended to reflect the relationships of U.S. Application No. 14/992,997, 16/871,738 and their current patented status.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 8-17, 19, 21-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,682,521. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader in scope than the patented claims.
Application claim
Patented claim
Reason
21
1
Application recites the carrier comprising the frame defining the mounting interface and the one or more movable tabs movable but omits other components
22
3
23
5
24
8
25
9
26
10
27
11
28
12
29
13
Application recites the carrier comprising the frame defining the mounting interface and the one or more movable tabs movable but omits other components
30
15
31
17, 19
32
19
33
16
34
14
35
21
36
22
37
12, 22
Application recites a carrier comprising the frame defining the mounting interface and one or more movable tables that are spring-loaded but omits other components
38
3, 15
Application limitations are recited in the patent
39
5, 17
Application limitations are recited in the patent
40
8, 19
Application limitations are recited in the patent
Claims 21-23, 25-31, 33-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-8, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,484,723. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application apparatus claims are merely broader in scope than the patented method claims.
Application claim
Patented claim
Reason
21
1
Application recites the carrier comprising the frame defining the mounting interface and the one or more movable tabs movable but omits other components
22
7
23
8
25
21
26
3
27
1
28
4
29
2
Application recites the carrier comprising the frame defining the mounting interface and the one or more movable tabs movable but omits other components
30
7
Application limitations are recited in the patent
31
8
Application limitations are recited in the patent
33
21
Application limitations are recited in the patent
34
3
35
2
36
4
37
4
Application recites the carrier comprising the frame defining the mounting interface and the one or more movable tabs movable but omits other components
38
7
Application limitations are recited in the patent
39
8
Application limitations are recited in the patent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation, "a portable charger" in line 1 and then references, “the portable charging device” in lines 3-4, 7, 9-10 and, “the charging device” in lines 11, 11-12, 14, 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 21.
Claim 23 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 21.
Claim 24 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 21.
The term “invert” in claim 27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “invert”, without properly correlating to the first position or the second position, is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, this term will be regarded as, “the first movable tab causes the first movable tab and the second movable tab to invert from the first position to the second position or the second position to the first position”.
Claims 22-28 are rejected to for being dependent on and for failing to remedy the deficiencies of claim 21.
Claim 29 recites the limitation, "a portable charger" in line 1 and then references, “the portable charging device” in lines 3-4 and, “the charging device” in lines 5-6, 9, 12, 17, 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 29.
Claim 31 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 29.
Claim 32 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 29.
The term “invert” in claim 35 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “invert”, without properly correlating to the first position or the second position, is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, this term will be regarded as, “the first movable tab causes the first movable tab and the second movable tab to invert from the first position to the second position or the second position to the first position”.
Claims 30-36 are rejected to for being dependent on and for failing to remedy the deficiencies of claim 29.
Claim 37 recites the limitation, "a portable charger" in line 1 and then references, “the portable charging device” in lines 3-4, 7 and, “the charging device” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 37.
Claim 39 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 37.
Claim 40 recites the limitation, "the charging device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A charging device has not been properly introduced in claim 37.
Claims 38-40 are rejected to for being dependent on and for failing to remedy the deficiencies of claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26, 28-34, 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson et al. (US 2005/0075697) in view of Orr et al. (US 5,394,877).
Regarding claim 21, Olson et al. discloses a carrier (fig. 6) for a portable charger 48 of a rechargeable medical implant system (fig. 1, 3), the carrier comprising: a frame 84 defining a mounting interface configured to be removably couplable with the portable charging device 52; wherein the mounting interface is configured to resiliently receive the portable charging device with a snap-fit ([0072], fig. 8); wherein, when the charging device is coupled to the carrier, at least a portion of the charging device is configured to directly contact the skin surface of the patient ([0072]).
Olson et al. does not expressly disclose one or more movable tabs attached to the frame, the tabs having an adhesive surface comprising a biocompatible adhesive, wherein the adhesive surface is not in contact with a surface of the portable charging device when the portable charging device is coupled to the frame; wherein each of the one or more movable tabs is movable between a first position and a second position when the carrier is coupled with the charging device and placed against the skin surface of the patient, wherein: in the first position, the one or more tabs are spaced away from the skin surface to facilitate manual positioning of the charging device along the skin surface, and in the second position, the one or more tabs are urged against the skin surface to facilitate secure attachment of the carrier to the skin surface. Orr et al. teaches a medical device system analogous in the art of requiring repositioning a device 12 against a patient’s skin, comprising a carrier (fig. 2-3) comprising a frame 36, wherein one or more movable tabs 38 are attached to the frame 36, the tabs having an adhesive surface 30 comprising a biocompatible adhesive (col. 6, lines 5-21), wherein the adhesive surface is not in contact with a surface of the device 12 (fig. 1) when the device is coupled to the frame (fig. 2-3); wherein each of the one or more movable tabs is movable between a first position and a second position when the carrier is coupled with the charging device and placed against the skin surface of the patient (fig. 2-3); wherein: in the first position (fig. 3), the one or more tabs are spaced away from the skin surface to facilitate manual positioning of the charging device along the skin surface (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26), and in the second position (fig. 2), the one or more tabs are urged against the skin surface to facilitate secure attachment of the carrier to the skin surface (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olson et al. to incorporate the one or more adhesive tabs attached to the carrier with the one or more tabs movable into the first and second positions in the manner as taught by Orr et al., in order to enable for multiple re-positionings of the portable charging device when searching for the optimal location to charge an implantable medical device, the tabs providing the ability to securely attach but also detach the portable charging device when appropriate (col. 6, lines 22-23), the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable in the art.
Regarding claim 22, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose the one or more tabs extend circumferentially, at least partially, about the charging device when the carrier is coupled with the charging device (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 23, Olson et al. discloses the mounting interface of the carrier is configured to allow manual rotation of the charging device relative to the carrier while releasably coupled with the carrier (“In addition, external antenna 52 is allowed to pivot by way of ears 104 on tabs 106.” [0073]).
Regarding claim 24, Olson et al. discloses the frame of the carrier comprises a circular ring 108 and the mounting interface comprises a ridge along an inside edge of the circular ring that interfaces with an outer edge of the protruding portion of the charging device (fig. 6, 8).
Regarding claim 25, Olson et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the frame and the one or more tabs are integrally formed of a polymeric material. Olson et al. discloses the frame is formed of PCABS ([0073]) while Orr et al. discloses the one or more tabs are formed of an elastomeric material, resilient plastic, polyvinyl chloride or polyurethanes (col. 7, lines 27-42). However It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrally form the frame and the one or more tabs, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a polymeric material for the integrally formed frame and the one or more tabs, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 26, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose wherein the one or more tabs of the carrier comprises three or more tabs that deflect between the first and second positions (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 28, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose wherein the one or more movable tabs are coupled to a spring mechanism (“synthetic rubber or other elastomeric material… silicone rubbers” col. 7, lines 27-42) that is configured to facilitate inversion of the one or more movable tabs from the first position to the second position or from the second position to the first position (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26).
Regarding claim 29, Olson et al. discloses a carrier (fig. 6) for a portable charger 48 of a rechargeable medical implant system (fig. 1, 3), the carrier comprising: a semi-rigid or rigid frame 84 (“PCABS” [0073]) configured for removably coupling with the portable charging device, the frame including an opening 108 through which a protruding portion of the charging device 52 extends when the charging device is coupled with the frame ([0072]); wherein the frame defines a mounting interface configured to resiliently receive the protruding portion of the portable charging device 52 within a snap-fit ([0072], fig. 8), such that when the charging device is coupled to the carrier at least a portion of the charging device directly contacts the skin surface of the patient ([0072]).
Olson et al. does not expressly disclose one or more movable tabs attached to the frame and extending laterally outward from the opening, the tabs having an adhesive surface comprising a biocompatible adhesive; wherein each of the one or more movable tabs is movable between a first position and a second position when the carrier is coupled with the charging device and placed against the skin surface of the patient, wherein: in the first position, the one or more tabs are spaced away from the skin surface to facilitate manual positioning of the charging device along the skin surface, and in the second position, the one or more tabs are urged against the skin surface to facilitate secure attachment of the carrier to the skin surface for recharging the implantable medical device. Orr et al. teaches a medical device system analogous in the art of requiring repositioning a device 12 against a patient’s skin, comprising a carrier (fig. 2-3) comprising a frame 36, wherein one or more movable tabs 38 are attached to the frame 36 and extending laterally outward from an opening of the frame (fig. 2-3), the tabs having an adhesive surface 30 comprising a biocompatible adhesive (col. 6, lines 5-21); wherein each of the one or more movable tabs is movable between a first position and a second position when the carrier is coupled with the charging device and placed against the skin surface of the patient (fig. 2-3); wherein: in the first position (fig. 3), the one or more tabs are spaced away from the skin surface to facilitate manual positioning of the charging device along the skin surface (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26), and in the second position (fig. 2), the one or more tabs are urged against the skin surface to facilitate secure attachment of the carrier to the skin surface (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olson et al. to incorporate the one or more adhesive tabs attached to the carrier with the one or more tabs movable into the first and second positions in the manner as taught by Orr et al., in order to enable for multiple re-positionings of the portable charging device when searching for the optimal location to charge an implantable medical device, the tabs providing the ability to securely attach but also detach the portable charging device when appropriate (col. 6, lines 22-23), the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable in the art.
Regarding claim 30, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose the one or more tabs extend circumferentially, at least partially, about the charging device when the carrier is coupled with the charging device (fig. 4) such that the charging device is configured to be secured substantially flat against the skin surface of the patient when the carrier is adhered to the skin surface of the patient ([0072]).
Regarding claim 31, Olson et al. discloses the mounting interface of the carrier is configured to allow manual rotation of the charging device relative to the carrier while releasably coupled with the carrier (“In addition, external antenna 52 is allowed to pivot by way of ears 104 on tabs 106.” [0073]).
Regarding claim 32, Olson et al. discloses the frame of the carrier comprises a circular ring 108 and the mounting interface comprises a ridge along an inside edge of the circular ring that interfaces with an outer edge of the protruding portion of the charging device (fig. 6, 8).
Regarding claim 33, Olson et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the frame and the one or more tabs are integrally formed of a polymeric material. Olson et al. discloses the frame is formed of PCABS ([0073]) while Orr et al. discloses the one or more tabs are formed of an elastomeric material, resilient plastic, polyvinyl chloride or polyurethanes (col. 7, lines 27-42). However It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrally form the frame and the one or more tabs, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a polymeric material for the integrally formed frame and the one or more tabs, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 34, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose wherein the one or more tabs of the carrier comprises three or more tabs that deflect between the first and second positions (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 36, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose wherein the one or more movable tabs are coupled to a spring mechanism (“synthetic rubber or other elastomeric material… silicone rubbers” col. 7, lines 27-42) that is configured to facilitate inversion of the one or more movable tabs from the first position to the second position or from the second position to the first position (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26).
Regarding claim 37, Olson et al. discloses a carrier (fig. 6) for a portable charger 48 of a rechargeable medical implant system (fig. 1, 3), the carrier comprising: a frame 84 defining a mounting interface configured to removably couple with the portable charging device 52.
Olson et al. does not expressly disclose one or more movable tabs attached to the frame, the tabs having an adhesive surface comprising a biocompatible adhesive, wherein the adhesive surface is not in contact with a surface of the portable charging device when the portable charging device is coupled to the frame; wherein each of the one or more movable tabs is spring-loaded and movable between a first position and a second position when the carrier is placed against the skin surface of the patient, wherein: in the first position, the one or more tabs are biased away from the skin surface to facilitate manual positioning of the charging device along the skin surface, and in the second position, the one or more tabs are moved against the skin surface and the biasing force of the spring urges the tabs against the skin surface to facilitate secure attachment of the carrier to the skin surface for recharging the implantable medical device. Orr et al. teaches a medical device system analogous in the art of requiring repositioning a device 12 against a patient’s skin, comprising a carrier (fig. 2-3) comprising a frame 36, wherein one or more movable tabs 38 are attached to the frame 36, the tabs having an adhesive surface 30 comprising a biocompatible adhesive (col. 6, lines 5-21), wherein the adhesive surface is not in contact with a surface of the device 12 (fig. 1) when the device is coupled to the frame (fig. 2-3); wherein each of the one or more movable tabs is spring-loaded (“synthetic rubber or other elastomeric material… silicone rubbers” col. 7, lines 27-42) and movable between a first position and a second position when the carrier is coupled with the charging device and placed against the skin surface of the patient (fig. 2-3); wherein: in the first position (fig. 3), the one or more tabs are biased away from the skin surface to facilitate manual positioning of the charging device along the skin surface (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26), and in the second position (fig. 2), the one or more tabs are moved against the skin surface and the biasing force of the spring urges the tabs against the skin surface to facilitate secure attachment of the carrier to the skin surface (col. 6, line 58 to col. 7, line 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olson et al. to incorporate the one or more spring-loaded adhesive tabs attached to the carrier with the one or more tabs movable into the first and second positions in the manner as taught by Orr et al., in order to enable for multiple re-positionings of the portable charging device when searching for the optimal location to charge an implantable medical device, the tabs providing the ability to securely attach but also detach the portable charging device when appropriate (col. 6, lines 22-23), the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable in the art.
Regarding claim 38, Olson et al. in view of Orr et al. disclose the one or more tabs extend circumferentially, at least partially, about the charging device when the carrier is coupled with the charging device (fig. 4) such that the charging device is configured to be secured substantially flat against the skin surface of the patient when the carrier is adhered to the skin surface of the patient ([0072]).
Regarding claim 39, Olson et al. discloses the mounting interface of the carrier is configured to allow manual rotation of the charging device relative to the carrier while releasably coupled with the carrier (“In addition, external antenna 52 is allowed to pivot by way of ears 104 on tabs 106.” [0073]).
Regarding claim 40, Olson et al. discloses the frame of the carrier comprises a circular ring 108 and the mounting interface comprises a ridge along an inside edge of the circular ring that interfaces with an outer edge of the protruding portion of the charging device (fig. 6, 8).
Statement Regarding Prior Art
Claims 27 and 35 recite all of the limitations of claims 21 and 29, respectively and further recite, “wherein the one or more movable tabs comprise a first movable tab and a second movable tab, and wherein the one or more movable tabs are operatively coupled to each other such that application of force on the first movable tab causes the first movable tab and the second movable tab to invert”. Regarding the term “invert”, see the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection and current interpretation for purposes of examination where “the first movable tab causes the first movable tab and the second movable tab to invert from the first position to the second position or the second position to the first position”. Orr et al. (US 5,394,877) discloses multiple tabs (fig. 8) but is silent as to an application of force on the first movable tab causes the first movable tab and the second movable tab to invert from the first position to the second position or the second position to the first position. This limitation, in combination with the independent claims, is not disclosed by the prior art.
Conclusion
/ERICA S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796