DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 07/02/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 11, 10, and 19 are independent claims. In Amendment, claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 19-20 are amended. This Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 is/are directed to an abstract idea under the mental process wherein all the limitations in these claims including “determining…”; “converting…”; “performing…”; and “retrieving,…, storage location information…” are functions that can be reasonably done in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation evaluation judgement and opinion under Prong I step 2A.
Under Prong II step 2A, the other limitations in the claims including “for execution by one or more processing…”; “at least one interface”; “memory…”; “one or more processing module…”; and “at least one memory section…” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). In addition, the limitation “retrieving the data…” is merely post-activity solution for gathering/obtaining the data over the network which amount insignificant to the judicial exception.
Under step 2B, these additional elements above either individually or in combination are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). In addition, the limitation “retrieving the data…” is merely post-activity solution for gathering/obtaining the data over the network which amount insignificant to the judicial exception. Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claims 2-9, these claims recite the limitations which further detailing the abstract idea limitations identified above. Thus, all of these limitations are considered as functions that can be reasonably done in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation evaluation judgement and opinion under Prong I step 2A. Thus, these claims do not recite any additional elements that would integrate into a practical application.
Re claims 11-18, these claims are device claims having similar limitations cited in claims 2-9 respectively. Thus, claims 11-18 are also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claims 2-9 respectively above.
Re claim 20, it is medium claim having similar limitations cited in claims 4 and 8. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claims 4, 8, (abstract idea under the mental process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quigley et al. (U.S. 2010/0332751 A1).
Re claim 1, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 a method for execution by one or more processing modules of a storage network (e.g. abstract and Figure 1-3 wherein the data can be retrieved from the DSN), the method comprises: determining to retrieve data from the storage network, the data having an associated asset identifier (e.g. Figures 3 and 14 and paragraphs [0061-0064 and paragraphs [0068-0071] with the source name 35); converting the asset identifier into a range identifier (e.g. Figure 3 and paragraph [0072] with data segmenting); performing a deterministic function on the range identifier to produce a lookup value (e.g. Figure 14 with the Virtual DSN address component of the grid module and paragraphs [125-127]); retrieving, based on the lookup value, storage location information for the data (e.g. Figure 14 output of physical memory addressing table to the DS storage unit X for retrieving actual file/object and paragraphs [0080-0081 and 126-128]); and retrieving the data from the storage network location based on the storage location information for the data (e.g. abstract and paragraphs [0061-0063, 0081, and 0089] with retrieving the data blocks/slices ).
Re claim 2, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 converting the asset identifier into a range identifier comprises deleting a portion of the asset identifier (e.g. paragraphs [0124-0125] wherein certain information is not needed in conversion as other).
Re claim 3, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 a number of bits of the range identifier is less than a number of bits of the asset identifier (e.g. paragraphs [0071-0073 and 0091-0092]).
Re claim 4, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 the deterministic function is a hashing function (e.g. paragraphs [0071-0076]).
Re claim 5, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 retrieving storage location information for the data includes retrieving metadata associated with the data (e.g. Figure 14 with all information of the source name and paragraphs [0123-0127]).
Re claim 6, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 the data is an encoded data slice associated with storage of a data object (e.g. abstract, Figures 16-17 and paragraphs [0054-057]).
Re claim 7, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 the asset identifier includes at least one of a source name or a slice name (e.g. Figure 14 with the source name 35 and paragraphs [0123-0127]).
Re claim 8, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 retrieving storage location information includes retrieving metadata from a storage node of the storage network associated with the lookup value (e.g. Figure 14 by the physical location determinator and paragraphs [0125-0128]).
Re claim 9, Quigley et al. disclose in Figures 1-28 the data is dispersed storage error encoded data (e.g. Figures 15-17 and paragraphs [0055 and 0073]).
Re claim 10, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 11, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Re claim 12, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Re claim 13, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 14, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Re claim 15, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Re claim 16, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Re claim 17, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 8. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Re claim 18, it is device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 9. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Re claim 19, it is medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 20, it is medium claim having similar limitations cited in claims 4 and 8. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claims 4 and 8 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues in page 6 for claims that the newly added limitation which retrieving the data would integrate into a practical application.
The examiner respectfully submits that the amendment, particularly the added limitation, does not sufficiently overcome the abstract idea rejection as integrate into the practical application as alleged by the applicant. The claim is broadly claiming the step of retrieving/getting the data without detailing how and structure/protocol for retrieving the data. Thus, the newly added limitation is merely considered as insignificant post-activity solution amount to the judicial exception.
The applicant argues in pages 7-8 for claims that the reference fail to disclose the range identifier so that it would performing a deterministic function on the range identifier to produce a lookup value.
The examiner respectfully submits that this range identifier is clearly seen in the reference as rejected above with Figures and paragraph [0072]. The reference has very similar claimed invention as the pending application wherein the range identifier is merely a set of location that the data can be retrieved which can be additionally seen in paragraphs [0112-0114].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451