DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 line 3 recites “support assembly is able to drive” examiner suggests a change to “support assembly is configured to drive”, Claim 1 line 10 recites “the first chassis frame is able to slide” examiner suggests an amendment to “the first chassis frame is configured to slide”, the expression “is able to” are informal in that they describe the capabilities of the components rather than their functional configuration for clarity and consistency in defining the claimed apparatus, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the seat supporting frame" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 defines the support assembly as including a pedestal “fixedly connected to the second chassis frame” and a seat support frame “fixedly connected to the seat.” It is unclear how the support assembly can be both rotatably (as required in claim 1, one end of the support assembly be rotatably connected with the chassis and the other end be rotatably connected with the seat) and fixedly connected at its ends.
Claim 2 defines the support assembly as including a seat support frame “fixedly connected to the seat.” Claim 1 requires that a projection of the support assembly in the vertical direction not overlap a projection of the chassis in the vertical direction, and that the seat be attached onto the chassis in the folded state. A frame fixed to a seat that lies on the chassis is necessarily located over the chassis, so its vertical projection overlaps the chassis projection. The specification provides the seat support frame 31 lies under the seat cushion, directly over the chassis (para. 0053), therefore there is an inconsistency with claim 1 and claim two regarding the projection limitation.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first seat linkage rod" and “the second seat linkage rod”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first end of the first rod member" and “the second end of the first rod member”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the first end portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is the first end of the wire harness box as earlier recited or not.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "the pedestal”, “the seat bracket”, “the seat support frame”, “the backrest bracket”, “the transmission linkage rod”, “the seat linkage rod”, “the second horizontal direction”, “the side of the chassis”, “the firs linkage mechanism”, “the second linkage mechanism”, and “the same plane”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites that the transmission linkage rod is rotatably connected with the backrest bracket and the seat support frame”. This is inconsistent with the specification para. 61-62. Both describe the transmission linkage rod as connecting the backrest bracket to the seat bracket. As claimed, the backrest bracket and the transmission linkage rod both pivot on the seat support frame so it is unclear how rotating the backrest racket drives the seat bracket as recited in the method steps. A claim whose scope is inconsistent with the specification is indefinite. See MPEP 2173.03.
Claims 3-9 and 15-19 are rejected for the dependency on claim 2. Claims 12-14 are rejected for their dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 206171674) English translation attached.
In regards to claim 1, Liu discloses a vehicle (see fig. 1, moped), comprising a chassis (90, 100), a seat (10, 20), and a support assembly (two front support arms 40 and rear support arm 50);
one end of the support assembly (rear arms 50) is rotatably connected with the chassis (rotatably sleeved on wheel axle 130 slotted in chassis 90), the other end of the support assembly (50) is rotatably connected with the seat (30 through the rotating shaft 60), and the support assembly is able to drive the seat to be folded or unfolded;
when the seat is in an unfolded state (seat 10, 20 unfolded), the seat is disposed spaced apart from the chassis in a vertical direction (see fig. 2);
when the seat (10) is in a folded state (see fig. 4, 5), the seat is attached onto the chassis (90, 100);
the chassis (90, 100) comprises a first chassis frame(90) and a second chassis frame (100), and the first chassis frame (90) and the second chassis frame (100) are provided adjacent to each other along a first horizontal direction (left to right, see fig. 2,3), and the first chassis frame (90) is able to slide relative to the second chassis frame (100) to make the chassis retracted or extended (see fig. 2 in an extended position, and fig. 5 in a retracted position where the first chassis frame 90 is slid into the second chassis frame 100);
when the chassis (90, 100) is in an extended state (fig. 2,3), the first chassis frame (90) is slid to a first position and the first chassis frame (90) and the second chassis frame (100) are adjacent to each other (in the horizontal direction);
when the chassis (90, 100) is in a retracted state (fig. 5), the first chassis frame (90) is slid to a second position and the first chassis frame and the second chassis frame are at least partly overlapped (frame 90 is smaller in width and slides into the chassis 100 where they overlap in the horizontal direction);
the seat (10, 20) is folded while the chassis is retracted (see fig. 5), and the seat is unfolded while the chassis is extended (see fig. 1, 2);
wherein a projection of the support assembly (40,50) in the vertical direction is not overlapped with a projection of the chassis in the vertical direction (the arms 40 and 50 are mounted on the two sides of bottom support arm 30, therefore the pivot connections are positioned laterally of the chassis and do not overlap in the vertical direction with the chassis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zheng (CN 20805902).
In regards to claim 2, Liu teaches the support assembly includes a link mechanism 50, with the seat support frame 30, a seat bracket connecting 50 and 60, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the support assembly comprises a first linkage mechanism; the first linkage mechanism comprises a seat bracket, a seat support frame, and a pedestal; the pedestal is fixedly connected to the second chassis frame, and the seat support frame is fixedly connected to the seat; the pedestal is provided at a side of the second chassis frame along a second horizontal direction; the seat bracket comprises a seat linkage rod, one end of the seat linkage rod is rotatably connected with the pedestal, and the other end of the seat linkage rod is rotatably connected with the seat supporting frame; wherein the second horizontal direction is perpendicular to the first horizontal direction.
However, Zheng teaches the support assembly (see annotated fig. 1 below) comprises a first linkage mechanism; the first linkage mechanism comprises a seat bracket, a seat support frame, and a pedestal; the pedestal is fixedly connected to the second chassis frame, and the seat support frame is fixedly connected to the seat; the pedestal is provided at a side of the second chassis frame along a second horizontal direction (along the left side in the view of fig. 1); the seat bracket comprises a seat linkage rod, one end of the seat linkage rod is rotatably connected with the pedestal, and the other end of the seat linkage rod is rotatably connected with the seat supporting frame; wherein the second horizontal direction is perpendicular to the first horizontal direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount Liu’s laterally positioned seat linkage on a pedestal fixed at the side of Liu’s rear chassis, with seat linkage rods pivoted between the pedestal and a seat support frame, as taught by Wang. This is the simple substitution of one known means of pivotally mounting a folding seat linkage to a chassis for another, with a reasonable expectation of success. Wang teaches the benefit of the link mechanism being lockable fixing the seat in its use position.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Zheng in combination as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang (US 7703567).
In regards to claim 4, Liu as combined fails to teach the vehicle further comprises a backrest bracket and a transmission linkage rod; the backrest bracket is rotatably connected with the seat support frame to form a first rotation point; the transmission linkage rod is configured between the backrest bracket and the seat bracket, and one end of the transmission linkage rod is rotatably connected with the backrest bracket to form a second rotation point; the other end of the transmission linkage rod is rotatably connected with the seat bracket to form a third rotation point; the backrest bracket, the transmission linkage rod, the seat bracket, and the seat support frame form a second linkage mechanism.
Wang teaches wherein the vehicle further comprises a backrest bracket (24) and a transmission linkage rod (23);
the backrest bracket (24) is rotatably connected with the seat support frame (25) (see pin connection fig. 6) to form a first rotation point;
the transmission linkage rod (23) is configured between the backrest bracket (24) and the seat bracket (22), and one end of the transmission linkage rod is rotatably connected with the backrest bracket (24) to form a second rotation point (see fig. 5-6); the other end of the transmission linkage rod (23) is rotatably connected with the seat bracket (22) to form a third rotation point (see fig. 5-6);
the backrest bracket (24), the transmission linkage rod (23), the seat bracket (22), and the seat support frame (25) form a second linkage mechanism. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Liu and Zheng in view of the linkage mechanism at the seat taught by Wang ‘567 to provide an easy to use mechanism that can be folded down small enough to be received by the chassis for more flat position (see fig. 6) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regards to claim 3, the closest related prior art fail to teach alone or in combination wherein the seat bracket end inclined below the chassis when fully folded. In regards to claim 5 the closest related prior art fail to teach alone or in combination wherein the backrest bracket and transmission linkage rod forming the second linkage mechanism in relation to the seat and the seat cushion as recited. Regarding claim 6, the closest related prior art fail to teach alone or in combination wherein the vehicle further comprises a first rod member having a first and second end connected to the chassis frame and the first or second linkage rod respectively, as recited. Regarding claim 7, the closest related prior art fail to teach alone or in combination the vehicle further comprising a controller, position sensors, and first and second actuators as recited. Regarding claim 8, the closest related prior art fail to teach alone or in combination wherein the backrest bracket is provided with a first limit surface and a first limit block as recited. Regarding claim 9, the closest related prior art fail to teach alone or in combination wherein the side of the seat support frame is provided with a second limit surface to match with the first or second seat linkage rod. In regards to claims 10-14 the prior art fails to teach the hook and pin locking between the chassis frames as claimed. In regards to claim 15-19, the prior art fails to teach the wire harness storage between the two chassis frames as claimed. In regards to claim 20, the prior art alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest the backrest driven folding method as recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for a list of relevant prior art.
/C.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614