DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/6/26.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 8,943,947, claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,291,414, claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,625,232, claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,591,245, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,717 and claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,460,265.
Although the claims at issue are not identical to the patented claims in some instances, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are directed to the same patentable material regarding the structure of the bolt carrier and buffer weight. The instant application is a rearrangement of some claims of the US Patents and also omits some structural elements or elements of a combination which would be a matter of obviousness. If any differences exist in the pending claims, there are no patentable distinctions over the previously issued patents and approval of a Terminal Disclaimer is required in order to place the claims into condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuczynko et al., hereafter Kuczynko, US Patent Publication No. 2012/0030983.
Regarding claim 1, Kuczynko discloses a bolt carrier assembly (22) for a gas-operated firearm (10) comprising a bolt carrier (24) having a forward end and a rearward end (figure 7) as said bolt carrier is positioned in said gas-operated rifle, said rearward end defining an enclosed longitudinally extending opening (22C), said enclosed longitudinally extending opening receiving at least a portion of a weighted buffer therein (40 with weight 52), said weighted buffer having a back end (50R as in figure 6 for example) which is larger in diameter than said enclosed longitudinally extending opening ([0048] discloses 50F is received in 22C and 40 seats on 50S)
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Bauer, US Registration No. H107.
Regarding claim 1, Bauer discloses a bolt carrier assembly for a gas-operated firearm (10) comprising a bolt carrier having a forward end and a rearward end (as shown in figure 7 for example) as said bolt carrier is positioned in said gas-operated rifle, said rearward end defining an enclosed longitudinally extending opening (figure 7 and disclosed in 3:5-10), said enclosed longitudinally extending opening receiving at least a portion of a weighted buffer therein (3:14- 23), said weighted buffer having a back end which is larger in diameter than said enclosed longitudinally extending opening (shown in figure 7).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neitzling, US Patent Publication No. 2014/0041518.
Regarding claim 1, Neitzling discloses a bolt carrier assembly for a gas-operated firearm (9) comprising a bolt carrier (13) having a forward end and a rearward end (as shown in figure 2A/2B for example) as said bolt carrier is positioned in said gas-operated rifle, said rearward end defining an enclosed longitudinally extending opening (39), said enclosed longitudinally extending opening receiving at least a portion of a weighted buffer therein (19), said weighted buffer having a back end which is larger in diameter than said enclosed longitudinally extending opening (shown in figure 2A/2B).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cassels, US Patent No. 8,689,672.
Regarding claim 1, Cassels discloses a bolt carrier assembly for a gas-operated firearm (figure 15) comprising a bolt carrier (8) having a forward end and a rearward end (figure 1-12) as said bolt carrier is positioned in said gas-operated rifle, said rearward end defining an enclosed longitudinally extending opening (7:56-8:17 discloses 110 fits in the rear of the bolt carrier), said enclosed longitudinally extending opening receiving at least a portion of a weighted buffer therein (109 for example), said weighted buffer having a back end which is larger in diameter than said enclosed longitudinally extending opening (112).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are rejected above under Double Patenting; however, the claims appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and approval of a Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641