DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2025 & 2/27/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 1/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 16-29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,010. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim the same invention with very little differences in the claim language.
App. 19/030358
Pat. 12,229,010
1. A method comprising: receiving a request to perform a restore operation for a subset of data of a volume group backed up to an object store as a volume group backup composed of a plurality of constituent volume backups of a set of constituent volumes forming the volume group;
1. A method comprising: receiving a request to perform a restore operation for a volume group backed up to an object store as a volume group backup composed of a plurality of constituent volume backups of a set of constituent volumes forming the volume group;
evaluating a metafile to identify geometry information describing how the volume group is composed of the set of constituent volumes backed up to the object store as the plurality of constituent volume backups;
evaluating a metafile to identify geometry information describing how the volume group is composed of the set of constituent volumes backed up to the object store as the plurality of constituent volume backups;
generating a restore target based upon the geometry information;
generating a restore volume group comprising a set of restore constituent volumes according to the geometry information;
utilizing the metafile generate one or more constituent volume restore workflows; and
utilizing the metafile, comprising information related to the plurality of constituent volume backups and the volume group backup, to generate constituent volume restore workflows;
creating a group restore workflow to track and manage the constituent volume restore workflows;
implementing, by one or more nodes, the one or more constituent volume restore workflows to restore the subset of data of the volume group to the restore target.
executing, by a plurality of nodes, the constituent volume restore workflows to restore backup data from the plurality of constituent volume backups to the set of restore constituent volumes of the restore volume group, wherein a first node executes a first constituent volume restore workflow to restore a first consistent volume and a second node executes a second constituent volume restore workflow to restore a second constituent volume; and
in response to determining that the plurality of nodes successfully completed all constituent volume restore workflows to restore all restore constituent volumes of the restore volume group, indicating that the restore volume group has been successfully restored.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 16, 28-19, 21, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al (US Pub. 2015/0278034) (Eff filing date of app: 11/26/2014) (Hereinafter Barnes) and in view of Kuramkote et al (US Pub 2020/0128024) (Eff filing date of app: 10/19/2018) (Hereinafter Kuramkote).
As to claims 1, 16, and 21 Barnes teaches a method comprising:
receiving a request to perform a restore operation for a volume group backed up (see p. 4 and 11, “Many backup procedures use the file system as a starting point and perform the backup by writing the files to a backup storage system”) to an object store as a volume group backup composed of a plurality of constituent volume backups of a set of constituent volumes forming the volume group (see abstract, “Restoration of a backup of a first volume to a second volume on physical media.”);
evaluating a metafile to identify geometry information describing how the volume group is composed of the set of constituent volumes backed up to the object store as the plurality of constituent volume backups (see p. 93-95, “he volume identifier may be included to indicate for which volume the restore metadata is being used. In volumes where the restore metadata is stored on the volume, the volume identifier is implicit. However, the restore metadata may be stored in a file on another volume, with only a pointer to the restore metadata existing in the special boot identifier. In the case of a file, the volume identifier explicitly identifies which volume the restore metadata is for.”);
generating a restore target based upon the geometry information (see p. 93, “he restore
information block 460 comprise a set of restore metadata that may be used by a restore process”).
Barnes does not expressly teach utilizing the metafile generate one or more constituent
volume restore workflows; and implementing, by one or more nodes, the one or more constituent volume restore workflows to restore the subset of data of the volume group to the restore target.
Kuramkote teaches a method for securely facilitating data protection workflows and
devices, see abstract, in which he teaches utilizing the metafile generate one or more constituent volume restore workflows (see p. 43 and fig. 3, The backup service computing device 110 manages data protection workflows with registered ones of the node computing devices 106(1)-106(n), such as ingesting backup copies of data, cataloging the data, versioning, searching, and restore); and
implementing, by one or more nodes, the one or more constituent volume restore workflows to restore the subset of data of the volume group to the restore target (see p. 3-5, and 16, FIG. 4, in step 414, node computing device 106(1) executes instruction(s) received from a backup service computing device 110 to perform a data protection task. The instruction(s) can relate to the capture by the node computing device 106(1) of snapshots of volume 132(1), para 0062 and FIG. 4. The instruction(s) can be directed to another node computing device, e.g., node computing device 106(n). In this way, registration of only the node computing device 106(1) is required in order to manage data protection workflows for other node computing device in the same storage cluster, para 0063 and FIG. 4. Node computing devices 106(1)-106(n) can perform data storage in remote locations and cloud storage etc.,).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Barnes by the teaching of Kuramkote, because utilizing the metafile generate one or more constituent volume restore workflows; and implementing, by one or more nodes, the one or more constituent volume restore workflows to restore the subset of data of the volume group to the restore target, would enable the method because, “the backup service can learn the topology of a storage cluster and manage data protection workflows via communications with one of the constituent nodes.” See abstract).
As to claims 4, 18, and 28, Barnes as modified teaches the method comprising:
incrementally restore the subset of data (see Barnes, p. 42, “Subsequent backups may also be incremental backups, each containing just the data for the blocks that were changed since the prior backup” and p. 58).
As to claims 5, 19, and 29, Barnes as modified teaches The method comprising:
restore a directory or qtree of the volume group as the subset of data (see Barnes, p. 57, “In addition, the discussion may relate to managing file and directory structures on storage volumes… references to files may include files, directories, and other similar data structures associated with mass storage devices.”).
Claims 2-3, 6, 17, 20, and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes in view of Kuramkote as applied above in claims 1, 4-5, 16, 28-19, 21, and 28-29 and further in view of George et al. (US Pub 2020/0285410) (Hereinafter George).
As to claims 2, 17, and 22, Barnes as modified does not teach the method comprising:
evaluating the metafile to identify:
a group root info object representing a volume group endpoint within the object store;
a constituent volume root info object per constituent volume endpoint within the object
store; and a group snapinfo object per constituent volume backup in the object store, wherein the
group snapinfo objects are populated with group properties of the volume group backup; and
utilizing the group root info object, the constituent volume root info objects, and the
group snapinfo object to generate the one or more constituent volume restore workflows.
George teaches transferring snapshot copy to object store with deduplication preservation, see abstract, in which he teaches a group root info object representing a volume group endpoint within the object store (p. 43, “A rel root object is derived from the UUID, which has pointers (names) to next level snapinfo objects.”);
a constituent volume root info object per constituent volume endpoint within the object
store (see George, p. 42, “A snapinfo object of a snapshot has a pointer to a root of a snapshot logical file system. A root object for each primary volume (e.g., a primary volume for which a snapshot is captured) is copied to the object store.”); and
a group snapinfo object per constituent volume backup in the object store, wherein the
group snapinfo objects are populated with group properties of the volume group backup (see George, p. 43, “a snapshot snapinfo is looked up within snapinfo objects”); and
utilizing the group root info object, the constituent volume root info objects, and the
group snapinfo object to generate the one or more constituent volume restore workflows (see George, p. 43, “A rel root object is derived from the UUID, which has pointers (names) to next level snapinfo objects. If a user is browsing a snapshot, a snapshot snapinfo is looked up within snapinfo objects. If no snapshot is provided, then latest snapshot info is used. The snapshot info has cloud block numbers for an inode file.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Barnes by the teaching of George, because a group root info object representing …, would enable the method because, “cost savings and scalability can be achieved by using a hybrid of primary storage systems and remote cloud computing storage..” See p. 2).
As to claim 3, Barnes as modified does not teach the method comprising:
restore a constituent volume or a single file of the volume group as the subset of data.
George teaches transferring snapshot copy to object store with deduplication preservation, see abstract, in which he teaches restore a constituent volume or a single file of the volume group as the subset of data (see p. 14, “a single file or any other amount of data can be restored”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Barnes by the teaching of George, because restore a constituent single file …, would enable the method save time in the process by restoring single file as a subset of data.
As to claims 6 and 20, Barnes as modified does not teach the method comprising:
restore the subset of data on-demand.
George teaches transferring snapshot copy to object store with deduplication preservation, see abstract, in which he teaches restore the subset of data on-demand (see p. 43, restoration orchestrating between client request and file system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Barnes by the teaching of George, because restore the subset of data on demand…, would enable the method to instantly perform the process as needed.
As to claim 23, Barnes as modified teaches wherein the machine executable code causes the processor to:
evaluate the metafile to identify a constituent volume root info object per constituent volume endpoint within the object store; and utilize the constituent volume root info object to generate the one or more constituent volume restore workflows (see George, p. 42, “A snapinfo object of a snapshot has a pointer to a root of a snapshot logical file system. A root object for each primary volume (e.g., a primary volume for which a snapshot is captured) is copied to the object store.”).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Barnes and George as set forth in claim 22 is equally applicable to claim 23.
As to claim 24, Barnes as modified teaches wherein the machine executable code causes the processor to:
evaluate the metafile to identify a group snapinfo object per constituent volume backup in the object store, wherein the group snapinfo objects are populated with group properties of the volume group backup (see George, p. 43, “a snapshot snapinfo is looked up within snapinfo objects”); and
utilize the group snapinfo object to generate the one or more constituent volume restore workflows (see George, p. 43, “A rel root object is derived from the UUID, which has pointers (names) to next level snapinfo objects. If a user is browsing a snapshot, a snapshot snapinfo is looked up within snapinfo objects. If no snapshot is provided, then latest snapshot info is used. The snapshot info has cloud block numbers for an inode file.”).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Barnes and George as set forth in claim 22 is equally applicable to claim 24.
As to claim 25, Barnes as modified does not teach wherein the machine executable code causes the processor to:
George teaches transferring snapshot copy to object store with deduplication preservation, see abstract, in which he teaches restore a constituent volume of the volume group as the subset of data using a group root info object (see George, p. 43, “A rel root object is derived from the UUID, which has pointers (names) to next level snapinfo objects. …Data access can be used to restore a complete copy of a snapshot, part of a snapshot (e.g., a single file or directory), or metadata.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the scope of the invention of Barnes by the teaching of George, because restore a constituent volume of the volume group as the subset of data using a group root info object, would enable the method because, “cost savings and scalability can be achieved by using a hybrid of primary storage systems and remote cloud computing storage..” See p. 2).
As to claim 26, Barnes as modified teaches wherein the machine executable code causes the processor to:
restore a constituent volume of the volume group as the subset of data using a
constituent volume root info object (see George, p. 42, “A snapinfo object of a snapshot has a pointer to a root of a snapshot logical file system. A root object for each primary volume (e.g., a primary volume for which a snapshot is captured) is copied to the object store.” And p. 49, root info).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Barnes and George as set forth in claim 25 is equally applicable to claim 26.
As to claim 27, Barnes as modified teaches wherein the machine executable code causes the processor to:
restore a constituent volume of the volume group as the subset of data using a
group snapinfo object (see George, p. 42, “Snapinfo objects comprise snapshot specific information. A snapinfo object of a snapshot has a pointer to a root of a snapshot logical file system” and p. 43, “A rel root object is derived from the UUID, which has pointers (names) to next level snapinfo objects. If a user is browsing a snapshot, a snapshot snapinfo is looked up within snapinfo objects. If no snapshot is provided, then latest snapshot info is used. The snapshot info has cloud block numbers for an inode file.”).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Barnes and George as set forth in claim 25 is equally applicable to claim 27.
Conclusion
BELIX M. ORTIZ DITREN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2164
/Belix M Ortiz Ditren/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164