DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Species B in the reply filed on April 13, 2026, is acknowledged.
Drawings
Figure 23 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the reference signs recited in the claims. The Applicants are requested to add reference signs for the first through fourth connecting bars, the first and second recess, and the first and second handles.
Figure 23 appears to show a single handle (just as figure 19-20 and 22 do). If the Applicants are going to claim its ends as two handles (i.e. the bump of the connection bars that form the recess), then the reference numerals in the figure will help the public understand this more clearly.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The elected claims are directed to the physical support structure of a portable power supply that lets a user carry it around.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required.
The description of figure 23 is limited to a single paragraph. This paragraph does not contain any disclosure of a “second handle”. It is not until claim 9 that the claims infer that the “handle” is really the bump of the connecting bars (that form the recesses) and not the bar across the modules (extending from the third side to the fourth side), as shown in figures 19-20 and 22.
If the Applicants are going to claim the handle as where the connecting bars create the recess, then this needs to be clearly identified in the specification. This includes reference numerals in the figures, as noted above.
The specification’s description of figure 23 is objected to because it does not provide enough detail to understand what is being shown. Figure 23 shows three housing modules (1701n). The first/second connecting bars appear to be attached to the first module (1701a) and the third/fourth connecting bars appear to be attached to the third module (1701c). It is unclear how the second module is connected to this arrangement. It doesn’t have its own connecting bars or any discernable connection to the adjacent housings.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because the last limitation should be “a” converter (not “an”).
Claim 11 is objected to because it contains the wrong status identifier. It should be labeled as “withdrawn”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toya (US 2015/0145476).
With respect to claim 1, Toya discloses a portable power source (fig 2, 4; par 71-116) comprising:
a housing (10);
a handle (horizontal bar 60) supported by the housing and forming a recess (the space below 60) with a top portion of the housing;
a first connecting bar (left vertical bar supporting the handle) connecting the handle with a first side portion (left side) of the housing such that the first connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing (par 83; see below);
a second connecting bar (right vertical bar supporting the handle) connecting the handle with a second side portion (right side) of the housing such that the second connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing, the second side portion is opposite the first side portion;
a battery pack interface (40) provided in a recessed portion of the housing and configured to removably receive a battery pack (not claimed – see language of claim 10) adjacent the first connecting bar (there is a 40 on the left side of the housing);
a power outlet (50a or 50b) provided on a third side (front facing side) portion of the housing between the first side portion and the second side portion; and
an converter (260; par 119-121) within the housing configured to convert power received at the battery pack interface to power provided at the power outlet.
Toya discloses a portable power source that uses a battery pack to power an AC outlet. The device includes a handle with connecting bars that extend below the housing’s topmost surface.
Regarding the handle, Toya shows the horizontal bar is supported by two vertical bars. The two vertical bars (“connecting bar”) extend into the housing. This is supported by the fact that the handle remains attached to (and supports the weight of) the housing when the unit is being carried. Further support can be found in that the handle is retractable (par 83). This means that the connecting bars extend into the housing.
With respect to claim 7, Toya is enabling for building two devices (as shown in figure 2). With two devices, the first comprises a first handle and a first recess. The second device (noted with a prime ‘) then comprising:
a second handle (60’) supported by the housing and forming a second recess with the top portion of the housing;
a third connecting bar (left vertical bar) connecting the second handle with the first side portion such that the third connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing; and
a fourth connecting bar (right vertical bar) connecting the second handle with the second side portion such that the fourth connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing, wherein the battery pack interface is positioned in between the first connecting bar and the third connecting bar (with two Toya devices facing each other, the battery interface is “between” the first/third connecting bars).
Toya provides an enabling disclosure for having two of its figure 2 devices. With two of the devices facing each other, such that the front side [with items 50a and 90] are adjacent, the handles (60, 60’) will be on the “outside” and the battery interface (40) will be positioned in between them.
The elected claims are directed to figure 23. Figure 23 shows a single handle, as figures 19-20 and 22 each define the long horizontal bar as a handle. The claims, however, seek to define the arches above the recessed portions as a first or second handle (see annotated figure 23, below). This means that the one long bar connecting everything together is not claimed. If there is no connection between the two handles (arches), then the device is effectively two different devices/housings.
This is further supported by the Applicants’ figures 18 and 21. These figures each shows a single housing with a pair of batteries along its longitudinal axis. And each housing contains an internal converter and AC power outlet. Figures 19-20 and 22-23 each show these individual housings are joined together by a transverse handle. But this transverse handle is not claimed. The claims define the first and second handles as the arches of the connecting portions that extend along the longitudinal axis of an individual housing.
The Examiner notes that it is possible for a user to put their hand in the recess and lift the power supply. Thus, it is a handle of sorts. But the specification seems to define a handle as a grippable bar. No mention is given to the name of the arch. The claims seem to focus on the arch (as a handle) without actually claiming the handle that holds everything together.
The claims, therefore, recite two unconnected housings and their handles. This is anticipated by two Toya devices placed side-by-side so that their front sides face each other.
With respect to claim 8, Toya discloses the battery pack interface is a first battery pack interface, the recessed portion is a first recessed portion, and the battery pack is a first battery pack, the portable power source further comprising:
a second battery pack interface (40’) provided in a second recessed portion of the housing and configured to removably receive a second battery pack (not claimed), wherein the second battery pack interface is positioned in between the second connecting bar and the fourth connecting bar (of 60’).
With respect to claim 9, Toya discloses the first handle is provided adjacent the third side portion (the left side of the first unit) and the second handle is provided adjacent a fourth side portion (the left side of the second unit), the fourth side portion is opposite the third side portion.
As the two units face each other, the left-side of the first is “opposite” to the left-side of the second. It is analogous to two people facing each other and their left hands being on opposite sides.
With respect to claims 10 and 17-19, Toya discloses the portable power source, as discussed above in the art rejections of claims 1 and 7-9, respectively. Toya further discloses a battery pack (200) coupled to the battery pack interface, wherein a portion of the battery pack extends beyond a periphery of the housing on the first side portion (see fig 2). Toya’s battery is taller than the first/left side wall of the housing. Thus, the battery extends beyond a periphery of the housing.
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bennett (US 2014/0098525).
With respect to claim 1, Bennett discloses a portable power source (fig 2, 5a; par 21-27, 35-36) comprising:
a housing (200);
a handle (horizontal bar 215) supported by the housing and forming a recess (the space below 215) with a top portion of the housing;
a first connecting bar (left support for the handle) connecting the handle with a first side portion (left side) of the housing such that the first connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing (see below);
a second connecting bar (right support of the handle) connecting the handle with a second side portion (right side) of the housing such that the second connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing, the second side portion is opposite the first side portion;
a battery pack interface (within space 235; see par 22, 25-27) provided in a recessed portion of the housing and configured to removably receive a battery pack (not claimed – see language of claim 10) adjacent the first connecting bar (recessed portion 235 is adjacent the left side of the housing);
a power outlet (220a) provided on a third side (front facing side) portion of the housing between the first side portion and the second side portion; and
an converter (500) within the housing configured to convert power received at the battery pack interface to power provided at the power outlet.
Bennett discloses a portable power source that uses a battery pack to power an AC outlet. The device includes a handle with supports. These supports are interpreted as extending below the top surface of the housing (200). The housing is item 200 and includes both the lower portion (210) and the upper portion (see par 22). Thus, the sloping portions (that form the “connecting bars” extend below the top of the housing (the top of the housing being level with the handles).
Alternatively, Bennett discloses that the housing parts (upper, lower) are integrated (par 22). Thus, any parts (some, all) of the sides of the housing can be interpreted as “connecting bars”. In this manner, the Bennett connecting bars would extend from the ends of the handle to any location below any top surface of the housing 200 (or below the top surface of 210).
With respect to claim 7, Bennett is enabling for building two devices. With two devices, the first comprises a first handle and a first recess. The second device (noted with a prime ‘) then comprising:
a second handle (215’) supported by the housing and forming a second recess with the top portion of the housing;
a third connecting bar (left sloping side) connecting the second handle with the first side portion such that the third connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing; and
a fourth connecting bar (right sloping side) connecting the second handle with the second side portion such that the fourth connecting bar extends below the top portion of the housing, wherein the battery pack interface is positioned in between the first connecting bar and the third connecting bar (with two Bennett devices facing each other, the battery interface is “between” the first/third connecting bars).
As discussed above, the claims recite two unconnected housings and their handles. This is anticipated by two Bennett devices placed side-by-side so that their front sides face each other.
With respect to claim 8, Bennett discloses the battery pack interface is a first battery pack interface, the recessed portion is a first recessed portion, and the battery pack is a first battery pack, the portable power source further comprising:
a second battery pack interface (235’) provided in a second recessed portion of the housing and configured to removably receive a second battery pack (not claimed), wherein the second battery pack interface is positioned in between the second connecting bar and the fourth connecting bar (of 210’).
With respect to claim 9, Bennett discloses the first handle is provided adjacent the third side portion (the left side of the first unit) and the second handle is provided adjacent a fourth side portion (the left side of the second unit), the fourth side portion is opposite the third side portion.
As the two units face each other, the left-side of the first is “opposite” to the left-side of the second. It is analogous to two people facing each other and their left hands being on opposite sides.
Conclusion
The Examiner notes that the elected claims are directed to the physical appearance of the handle. The general shape of the housing, what the handles look like and where the batteries are connected are aesthetic design choices (see parent application, 18/623,573, and MPEP §1502). The functionality of the portable power source is provided by the battery pack, the converter and power outlets. The handle may provide the benefit of portability, but this is what all handles are commonly used for. Defining characteristics of the handle do not appear to add to the already known functionality of a handle.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited in the enclosed PTO-892 form all disclose battery-based portable power generators that include housings with handles. The physical/ornamental nature of the claimed devices (that the battery extends beyond a periphery of the housing, that the connecting bars are lower than the housing’s top, or the sides on which the various components are placed) appear to be obvious in view of these references.
/ADI AMRANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836