DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 discloses a gear box and gears in the gearbox that rotate to raise and lower the back bed frame assembly and the leg bed frame assembly. Neither the Specification nor the Drawings ever mention or show a gear box or gears meaning that this subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP 3,932,903 (Adams et al. hereinafter) in view of USPAP 2023/0157912 (Thota et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, insofar as claim 1 is definite, Adams et al. discloses a practical and economical medical nursing bed, comprising two head bed frame assemblies (4, 1) and two guardrail assemblies (112), wherein the two guardrail assemblies (112) are movably and oppositely mounted on sides of the two head bed frame assemblies (4, 1) respectively and each comprise a guardrail body (13) and two guardrail slots (30 and interior of frame 29), and the medical nursing bed further comprising a connecting rod (bars seen underneath and holding up the head portion in Fig. 1), a back bed frame assembly (6) and a leg bed frame assembly (8), the guardrail body (13) is movably mounted on a side of the respective head bed frame assembly (4, 1), the two guardrail slots (30 and interior of frame 29) are formed in the side of the respective head bed frame assembly (4, 1), the connecting rod (bars seen underneath and holding up the head portion in Fig. 1) is movably mounted between the two head bed frame assemblies (4, 1), the back bed frame assembly (6) is fixedly mounted on one side of the two head bed frame assemblies (4, 1), the back bed frame assembly (6) is arranged at a bottom of the medical nursing bed, and the leg bed frame assembly (8) is movably mounted between the two head bed frame assemblies (4, 1).
Adams et al. does not disclose wherein one rotating motor is fixedly mounted on one side of the back bed frame assembly, a gear box is connected to the rotating motor via the connecting rod such that the rotating motor drives gears in the gear box to rotate, achieving raising and lowering of the back bed frame assembly and the leg bed frame assembly.
Thota et al. teaches a medical bed using motors and gear trains for actuating (raising and lowering) individual sections of the bed (paragraphs [0025] and [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Adams et al. by providing wherein one rotating motor is fixedly mounted on one side of the back bed frame assembly, a gear box is connected to the rotating motor via the connecting rod such that the rotating motor drives gears in the gear box to rotate, achieving raising and lowering of the back bed frame assembly and the leg bed frame assembly as taught by Thota et al. for the purposes of actuating (raising and lowering) individual sections of the bed (paragraphs [0025] and [0032] of Thota et al.).
With regard to claim 2, insofar as claim 2 is definite, the Adams et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the practical and economical medical nursing bed according to claim 1, wherein a foot bed frame assembly (8) is fixedly mounted on opposite sides of the head bed frame assemblies (4, 1), and the foot bed frame assembly (8) is arranged at a foot portion of the medical nursing bed.
With regard to claim 3, insofar as claim 3 is definite, the Adams et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the practical and economical medical nursing bed according to claim 1, wherein a spring (68) is movably mounted inside the guardrail slot (30 and interior of frame 29).
With regard to claim 4, insofar as claim 4 is definite, the Adams et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the practical and economical medical nursing bed according to claim 2, wherein the gear box is fixedly mounted on one side of the rotating motor (Abstract and claim 9), and the gear box is arranged on one side of the foot bed frame assembly (8).
With regard to claim 5, insofar as claim 5 is definite, the Adams et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the practical and economical medical nursing bed according to claim 1, wherein a handle (71, 62) is movably mounted on one side of each head bed frame assembly (4, 1), and the handle (71, 62) is arranged on one side of the guardrail slot (30 and interior of frame 29).
With regard to claim 6, insofar as claim 6 is definite, the Adams et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the practical and economical medical nursing bed according to claim 1, wherein mounting holes are formed in sides of the head bed frame assemblies (4, 1), and fixing pins are arranged inside the mounting holes (col. 5 lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 7, insofar as claim 7 is definite, the Adams et al. modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the practical and economical medical nursing bed according to claim 1, wherein the back bed frame assembly comprises a plurality of back bed frame assemblies (6, 7), and each of the back bed frame assemblies (6, 7) has the same specification and function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673