DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to communications filed 7/1/2026. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10-11, 14-18 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 are pending in this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panje (of record) in view of Gregotski (of record) and O’Malley (of record).
Regarding claim 1, 11, and 17, Panje discloses a system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to perform operations (see Panje, at least at [0050]-[0057], Fig. 8, and other relates text), the operations comprising:
receiving, originating from a client device, a manifest request (see Panje, at least at [0042], [0045]-[0046], and other related text) comprising an identifier for a pre-encoded media asset and a first universal resource locator for a live input stream (see Panje, at least at [0002], [0042], [0045]-[0046], and other related text); and
in response to an absence of the live input stream or an incompatibility of the live input stream with the client device (i.e., incompatible due to lack of resources, see Panje, at least at [0002], [0042], [0045]-[0046], and other related text), providing a second universal resource locator for the pre-encoded media asset for streaming, via a media player of the client device, the pre-encoded media asset in place of the live input stream (see Panje, at least at [0002], [0042], [0045]-[0046], and other related text).
Panje does not specifically disclose the manifest request associated a live media output stream, or a content placement location defined by indexed metadata associated with the live input stream.
In an analogous art relating to a system for content provisioning, Gregotski discloses a manifest request associated a live media output stream (see Gregotski, at least at [0010]-[0016], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Panje to include the limitations as taught by Gregotski for the advantage of more efficiently allowing various types of content to be provisioned to users.
Panje in view of Gregotski does not specifically disclose a content placement location defined by indexed metadata associated with the live input stream.
In an analogous art relating to a system for provisioning content, O’Malley discloses a content placement location defined by indexed metadata associated with the live input stream (see O’Malley, at least at [0042], [0051]-[0052], [0058], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Panje in view of Gregotski to include the limitations as taught by O’Malley for the advantage of more efficiently provisioning appropriate content to a user.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley discloses wherein the incompatibility of the live input stream with the client device is determined based at least in part on one or more client-specific parameters of the manifest request (i.e., specific bit rate requested by client, see Panje, at least at [0042], [0046], and other related text).
Regarding claim 6, 16, and 18, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley discloses determining a placement of the pre-encoded media asset within a live media output stream manifest of the live media output stream (see O’Malley, at least at [0015]-[0017], [0024], [0041], [0050]-[0054], Figs. 2-3, and other related text);
inserting an input manifest of the pre-encoded media asset into the live media output stream manifest based on the placement to generate a final live output stream manifest (see O’Malley, at least at [0067]-[0070], [0079], and other related text); and
publishing the final live output stream manifest for access by the client device (see O’Malley, at least at [0014], [0067]-[0070], [0079], [0103], [0117], [0121], and other related text).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley discloses wherein the placement is determined based on indexed metadata for the live media output stream manifest (see O’Malley, at least at [0050]-[0054], and other related text).
Regarding claim 10, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley discloses modifying a programming schedule of the live media output stream based on the pre-encoded media asset (see O’Malley, at least at [0070], and other related text).
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panje (of record) in view of Gregotski (of record) and O’Malley (of record), as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of and Knothe (of record).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more client-specific parameters comprise one or more rules governed by at least one of a geolocation of the client device or a current position of playback of the live media output stream.
In an analogous art relating to a system for provisioning content, Knothe discloses one or more client-specific parameters comprising one or more rules governed by at least one of a geolocation of the client device or a current position of playback of the live media output stream (see Knothe, at least at [0025], [0033], [0038], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley to include the limitations as taught by Knothe for the advantage of more efficiently provisioning appropriate content to a user.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley, and further in view of Knothe discloses wherein the incompatibility of the live input stream with the client device is determined (see Panje, at least at [0042], [0045]-[0046], and other related text) based at least in part of the geolocation of the client device and availability rights of the live input stream (see Knothe, at least at [0020]-[0021], and other related text).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panje (of record) in view of Gregotski (of record), O’Malley (of record) and Knothe (of record), as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Kalagi (of record).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Panje in view of Gregotski, O’Malley and Knothe discloses wherein the incompatibility of the live input stream with the client device is determined (see Panje, at least at [0002], [0042], [0045]-[0046], and other related text ), but does not specifically disclose determining based at least in part of the current position of playback of the live media output stream and availability rights of the live input stream.
In an analogous art relating to a system for content provisioning, Kalagi discloses capability determined based at least in part of the current position of playback of the live media output stream and availability rights of the live input stream (see Kalagi, at least at [0132], [0137]-[0139], [0143], [0156]-[0157], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Panje in view of Gregotski, O’Malley and Knothe to include the limitations as taught by Kalagi for the advantage of more efficiently provisioning appropriate content to a user.
Claims 8-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panje (of record) in view of Gregotski (of record) and O’Malley (of record), as applied to claims 7 and 19 above, and further in view of Gu (of record).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 20, Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley does not specifically disclose wherein the indexed metadata indicates one or more transition points within the live media output stream manifest.
In an analogous art relating to a system for provisioning content, Gu discloses indexed metadata indicates one or more transition points within a live media output stream manifest (see Gu, at least at col 5, line 60 – col 6, line 10, col 6, lines 10-27, and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Panje in view of Gregotski and O’Malley to include the limitations as taught by Gu for the advantage of more efficiently provisioning appropriate content to a user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENEA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421