DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,260 (hereafter referred to as “the patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the patent.
Instant Application
The Patent
Claim 1
Claim 1
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
controlling, by a control core in a content delivery network (CDN), a plurality of CDN components including at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism using control core data from the control core;
controlling, by a control core in a content delivery network (CDN), a plurality of CDN components including at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism using control core data from the control core;
selecting, by at least some of the plurality of CDN components, one or more CDN components from which to obtain CDN resources using the at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism;
selecting, by at least some of the plurality of CDN components, one or more CDN components from which to obtain CDN resources using the at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism;
obtaining, by the at least some of the plurality of CDN components, the CDN resources from the selected one or more CDN components; and
obtaining, by the at least some of the plurality of CDN components, the CDN resources from the selected one or more CDN components;
storing, by the control core, a current CDN configuration of the CDN in an authoritative database.
storing, by the control core, a current CDN configuration of the CDN in an authoritative database;
As to claims 2-15, the claims are anticipated by claims 2-15, respectively, of the patent.
Instant Application
The Patent
Claim 16
Claim 1
A content delivery network (CDN) comprising:
controlling, by a control core in a content delivery network (CDN), a plurality of CDN components including at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism using control core data from the control core
a control core; and
controlling, by a control core in a content delivery network (CDN), a plurality of CDN components including at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism using control core data from the control core
a plurality of CDN components, wherein the plurality of the CDN components is controlled by the control core data.
controlling, by a control core in a content delivery network (CDN), a plurality of CDN components including at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism using control core data from the control core
As to claims 17, 18, 19, and 20, the claims are anticipated by claims 4, 7, 8, and 13, respectively, of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by DRAI et al. (hereafter referred to as “Drai”), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2009/0172167 A1.
As to claim 16, Drai discloses a content delivery network (CDN) (Abstract; Fig. 1A; ¶ [0008]) comprising:
a control core (Fig. 1B; ¶ [0076]); and
a plurality of CDN components, wherein the plurality of the CDN components is controlled by the control core data (Fig. 1B; ¶ [0076]).
As to claim 17, Drai discloses wherein the plurality of the CDN components comprises a plurality of cache servers (¶¶ [0087] and [0088]).
As to claim 18, Drai discloses wherein the control core comprises a distributed control core (¶ [0008], in particular, “the operation of software applications in a distributed manner”).
As to claim 19, Drai discloses wherein the control core comprises a distributed system comprising a plurality of machines (¶ [0008], in particular, “the operation of software applications in a distributed manner”).
As to claim 20, Drai discloses wherein the plurality of CDN components comprises one or more tiers of CDN components organized hierarchically (¶¶ [0088] and [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Drai, in view of Aull, U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2002/0141592 A1.
As to claim 1, Drai discloses a method (Abstract; Fig. 1A; ¶ [0008]) comprising:
controlling, by a control core in a content delivery network (CDN), a plurality of CDN components including at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism using control core data from the control core (Fig. 1B; ¶¶ [0076], [0087], and [0088]);
selecting, by at least some of the plurality of CDN components, one or more CDN components from which to obtain CDN resources using the at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism (Fig. 1B; ¶¶ [0076], [0087], and [0088]);
obtaining, by the at least some of the plurality of CDN components, the CDN resources from the selected one or more CDN components (Fig. 1B; ¶¶ [0076], [0087], and [0088]).
Drai is silent on storing, by the control core, a current CDN configuration of the CDN in an authoritative database.
However, Aull discloses storing, by the control core, a current CDN configuration of the CDN in an authoritative database (¶ [0032]).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify the teachings of Drai in the aforementioned manner as taught by Aull in order to ensure an authoritative database is available for data redundancy and is accurate and current.
As to claim 2, Drai discloses rendezvous, by the at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism, a particular CDN component of the plurality of CDN components to a control core machine that is best or optimal for that particular CDN component (¶ [0068]).
As to claim 3, Drai discloses wherein the control core data comprises resources distributed by the control core (¶¶ [0033] and [0034]).
As to claim 4, Drai discloses wherein the plurality of CDN components comprise: a plurality of cache servers, each constructed and adapted to deliver resources associated with at least one customer of the CDN (¶ [0087] and [0088]).
As to claim 5, Drai discloses wherein said cache servers are customers of the CDN (¶¶ [0012] and [0013]).
As to claim 6, Drai discloses wherein the control core data comprises resources provided by the control core in response to requests from internal CDN components (¶ [0087] and [0088]).
As to claim 7, Drai discloses wherein the control core comprises a distributed control core (¶ [0008], in particular, “the operation of software applications in a distributed manner”).
As to claim 8, Drai discloses wherein the control core comprises a distributed system comprising a plurality of machines (¶ [0008], in particular, “the operation of software applications in a distributed manner”).
As to claim 10, Drai discloses wherein the plurality of CDN components access the control core via one or more control core domain names (¶¶ [0085] and [0086]).
As to claim 11, Drai discloses wherein the plurality of CDN components use the at least one CDN rendezvous mechanism to resolve the one or more control core domain names (¶¶ [0085] and [0086]).
As to claim 12, Drai discloses wherein said control core data comprises control objects (¶ [0108]).
As to claim 13, Drai discloses wherein the CDN comprises one or more tiers of CDN components, organized hierarchically and wherein the at least one control core comprises an origin tier for said control objects (¶¶ [0088] and [0102]).
As to claim 14, Drai discloses wherein a particular CDN component of said plurality of CDN components obtains CDN data using the CDN (¶¶ [0087], [0088], and [0091]).
As to claim 15, Drai discloses wherein the at least some of the plurality of CDN components obtain CDN control core data using the CDN (Fig. 1B; ¶ [0076]).
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Drai and Aull as applied above, and further in view of Jacobs et al. (hereafter referred to as “Jacobs”), U.S. Patent. App. Pub. No. 2003/0065708 A1.
As to claim 9, Drai and Aull are silent on wherein the control core uses a distributed consensus algorithm to achieve consensus among the plurality of machines.
However, Jacobs discloses wherein the control core uses a distributed consensus algorithm to achieve consensus among the plurality of machines (¶ [0027]).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify the teachings of Drai and Aull in the aforementioned manner as taught by Jacobs in order to ensure as many points of view as possible (in a computer sense) are considered when deciding how to handle object distribution in a computer network.
Conclusion
/Brian Whipple/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2447
6/16/26