DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is a typographical error in the claim limitations. On line 3 of the claim, it is currently written “form the one or more sensors at the property” which appears as if it was intended to recite “from the one or more sensors at the property.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer storage media is not defined in the specification. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is required to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceeding before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2.
The Examiner suggests that the Applicant add the limitation “non-transitory” to the computer readable medium as recited in the claim(s) in order to properly render the claim(s) in statutory form in view of their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the originally filed specification. The Examiner also suggests that the specification may be amended to include the term non-transitory computer readable medium' disclosed in the claims and specification to avoid a potential objection to the specification for a lack of antecedent basis of the claimed terminology.
Claims 33-39 are also rejected as they are dependent upon claim 32, and these dependent claims do not remedy the claim deficiency discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The only limitation of the claim recites “wherein the configuration data comprises configuration data.” Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0070190), hereinafter referred to as Yin.
In regard to claim 21, Yin teaches a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations (Yin paragraph 8 noting a machine-accessible medium containing software code that, when read by a computer, causes the computer to perform a method for video surveillance; and Yin paragraphs 53-54 noting options for what a computer and computer-readable medium can comprise, and that there can be multiple computers, storage devices, etc.) comprising:
accessing first sensor data that was captured by one or more sensors at a property (Yin paragraph 65 noting omni-directional camera 102 obtains an image, such as frames of video data of a location. The video frames are provided to a video processing unit 104);
generating, using the sensor data, a representation of an area at the property (Yin paragraph 65 noting omni-directional camera 102 obtains an image, such as frames of video data of a location. The video frames are provided to a video processing unit 104; and Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions);
presenting, using a user interface, the representation of the area at the property; receiving, via the user interface, input data that defines at least a portion of the representation of an area of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and Yin paragraph 106 noting the user may use an input device to define the area of interest on the omni-directional camera image);
generating, using the input data, configuration data that represents how a system should analyze second sensor data captured by the one or more sensors using the area of the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.); and storing, in memory, the configuration data for use analyzing the second sensor data (Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit)
In regard to claim 22, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein a first device, included in the system, presents the user interface (Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit); and the operations comprising transmitting, by the first device and to a sensor, at least some of the configuration data for use analyzing the second sensor data that is captured by the sensor (Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit).
In regard to claim 23, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the representation of the area of the property comprises an image of at least a portion of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin Figs. 14-19).
In regard to claim 24, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the input data identifies one or more anchor points (Yin paragraphs 105-106 noting that users can define rules with the rule management tool (RMT) which can include setting an area of interest for event detection. The user may use an input device to define the area of interest on the omni-directional camera image. The event can be an activity that occurs in the area of interest.); and
the operations comprising: determining, using the anchor points, whether a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property has changed; and in response to determining that the field of view of the sensor at the property has changed, performing an action (Yin paragraph 60 noting that upon detecting a predetermined activity, the system can order a secondary sensing unit to follow the target using panning, tilting, and zooming. The secondary camera receives a stream of position data about the target, and translates the stream into pan, tilt, zoom signals to follow the target. This can be seen as a series of sequential field of view changes of the secondary camera to follow a target, and sending information and camera movement actions to continue following; and Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 25, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 24 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches receiving a message a) indicating a potential alteration to a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property and b) that was generated responsive to a determination, using the one or more anchor points and the second sensor data, of the potential alteration to the field of view of the sensor at the property (Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target),
wherein determining whether the field of view of the sensor at the property has changed uses the anchor points and data from the message (Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 26, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches the operations comprising: receiving a message a) indicating a potential alteration to a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property and b) that was generated responsive to a determination, using one or more anchor points and the second sensor data, of the potential alteration to the field of view of the sensor at the property; and performing an action using data from the message (Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 27, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches the operations comprising: accessing the second sensor data that was captured by the one or more sensors at the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.).
detecting, using the second sensor data and the representation of the area at the property, a change in a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property; and in response to detecting the change in the field of view of the one or more sensors at the property, performing an action (Yin paragraph 60 noting that upon detecting a predetermined activity, the system can order a secondary sensing unit to follow the target using panning, tilting, and zooming. The secondary camera receives a stream of position data about the target, and translates the stream into pan, tilt, zoom signals to follow the target. This can be seen as a series of sequential field of view changes of the secondary camera to follow a target, and sending information and camera movement actions to continue following; and Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 28, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches receiving a message a) indicating a potential alteration in condition detected by a sensor form the one or more sensors at the property and b) was generated responsive to a determination whether one or more conditions are met using one or more fixed criteria, one or more adjustable criteria, and the second sensor data; and performing an action using the data from the message (Yin paragraph 60 noting that upon detecting a predetermined activity, the system can order a secondary sensing unit to follow the target using panning, tilting, and zooming. The secondary camera receives a stream of position data about the target, and translates the stream into pan, tilt, zoom signals to follow the target. This can be seen as a series of sequential field of view changes of the secondary camera to follow a target, and sending information and camera movement actions to continue following; and Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 29, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein receiving, via the user interface, input data that defines at least a portion of the representation of an area of the property comprises: receiving data representing a boundary of at least a subset of the representation of the area of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin Fig 11 showing regions set for different boundary areas of the property, such as the examples of water, land, pier, sky, etc.).
In regard to claim 30, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches comprising providing, to the system, the configuration data to cause the system to analyze a first portion of second sensor data that a) captured by the one or more sensors and b) represents for the area of the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.) and to skip analysis of a second portion of the second sensor data that is not for the area of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area).
In regard to claim 31, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the configuration data comprises configuration data (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit).
In regard to claim 32, Yin teaches one or more computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations (Yin paragraph 8 noting a machine-accessible medium containing software code that, when read by a computer, causes the computer to perform a method for video surveillance; and Yin paragraphs 53-54 noting options for what a computer and computer-readable medium can comprise, and that there can be multiple computers, storage devices, etc.) comprising:
accessing first sensor data that was captured by one or more sensors at a property (Yin paragraph 65 noting omni-directional camera 102 obtains an image, such as frames of video data of a location. The video frames are provided to a video processing unit 104);
generating, using the sensor data, a representation of an area at the property (Yin paragraph 65 noting omni-directional camera 102 obtains an image, such as frames of video data of a location. The video frames are provided to a video processing unit 104; and Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions);
presenting, using a user interface, the representation of the area at the property; receiving, via the user interface, input data that defines at least a portion of the representation of an area of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and Yin paragraph 106 noting the user may use an input device to define the area of interest on the omni-directional camera image);
generating, using the input data, configuration data that represents how a system should analyze second sensor data captured by the one or more sensors using the area of the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.); and storing, in memory, the configuration data for use analyzing the second sensor data (Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit).
In regard to claim 33, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein a first device, included in the system, presents the user interface (Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit); and the operations comprising transmitting, by the first device and to a sensor, at least some of the configuration data for use analyzing the second sensor data that is captured by the sensor (Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit).
In regard to claim 34, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the representation of the area of the property comprises an image of at least a portion of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin Figs. 14-19).
In regard to claim 35, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the input data identifies one or more anchor points (Yin paragraphs 105-106 noting that users can define rules with the rule management tool (RMT) which can include setting an area of interest for event detection. The user may use an input device to define the area of interest on the omni-directional camera image. The event can be an activity that occurs in the area of interest.); and
the operations comprising: determining, using the anchor points, whether a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property has changed; and in response to determining that the field of view of the sensor at the property has changed, performing an action (Yin paragraph 60 noting that upon detecting a predetermined activity, the system can order a secondary sensing unit to follow the target using panning, tilting, and zooming. The secondary camera receives a stream of position data about the target, and translates the stream into pan, tilt, zoom signals to follow the target. This can be seen as a series of sequential field of view changes of the secondary camera to follow a target, and sending information and camera movement actions to continue following; and Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 36, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 35 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches receiving a message a) indicating a potential alteration to a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property and b) that was generated responsive to a determination, using the one or more anchor points and the second sensor data, of the potential alteration to the field of view of the sensor at the property (Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target),
wherein determining whether the field of view of the sensor at the property has changed uses the anchor points and data from the message (Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 37, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches the operations comprising: receiving a message a) indicating a potential alteration to a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property and b) that was generated responsive to a determination, using one or more anchor points and the second sensor data, of the potential alteration to the field of view of the sensor at the property; and performing an action using data from the message (Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 38, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches the operations comprising: accessing the second sensor data that was captured by the one or more sensors at the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.);
detecting, using the second sensor data and the representation of the area at the property, a change in a field of view of a sensor from the one or more sensors at the property; and in response to detecting the change in the field of view of the one or more sensors at the property, performing an action (Yin paragraph 60 noting that upon detecting a predetermined activity, the system can order a secondary sensing unit to follow the target using panning, tilting, and zooming. The secondary camera receives a stream of position data about the target, and translates the stream into pan, tilt, zoom signals to follow the target. This can be seen as a series of sequential field of view changes of the secondary camera to follow a target, and sending information and camera movement actions to continue following; and Yin paragraph 66 noting based on the target primitives and the rules, the event detection module detects whether an event meeting the rules has occurred, an event of interest. If an event of interest is detected, the event detection module 106 may send out an alert. The alert may include sending an email alert, sounding an audio alarm, providing a visual alarm, transmitting a message to a personal digital assistant, and providing position information to another sensing unit. The position information may include commands for the angles for pan and tilt or zooming level for zoom for the secondary sensing unit 108. The secondary sensing unit 108 is then moved based on the commands to follow and/or zoom in on the target).
In regard to claim 39, Yin teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above. In addition, Yin teaches comprising providing, to the system, the configuration data to cause the system to analyze a first portion of second sensor data that a) captured by the one or more sensors and b) represents for the area of the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.) and to skip analysis of a second portion of the second sensor data that is not for the area of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area).
In regard to claim 40, Yin teaches a computer implemented method (Yin paragraph 8 noting a machine-accessible medium containing software code that, when read by a computer, causes the computer to perform a method for video surveillance; and Yin paragraphs 53-54 noting options for what a computer and computer-readable medium can comprise, and that there can be multiple computers, storage devices, etc.) comprising:
accessing first sensor data that was captured by one or more sensors at a property (Yin paragraph 65 noting omni-directional camera 102 obtains an image, such as frames of video data of a location. The video frames are provided to a video processing unit 104);
generating, using the sensor data, a representation of an area at the property (Yin paragraph 65 noting omni-directional camera 102 obtains an image, such as frames of video data of a location. The video frames are provided to a video processing unit 104; and Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions);
presenting, using a user interface, the representation of the area at the property; receiving, via the user interface, input data that defines at least a portion of the representation of an area of the property (Yin paragraph 90 noting that the omnidirectional image may be presented on a graphical interface to a user as a region map, with user defined regions; and Yin paragraph 92 noting special regions may also be included in the region map. One region may be called "area of disinterest," which indicates that the user is not interested in what happens in this area; and Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and Yin paragraph 106 noting the user may use an input device to define the area of interest on the omni-directional camera image);
generating, using the input data, configuration data that represents how a system should analyze second sensor data captured by the one or more sensors using the area of the property (Yin paragraphs 90, 99, 101-104 as cited above in claim 21 describing the process of the omnidirectional camera data being presented in GUIs to for a user to define the region map, define rules, areas of interest, and set camera configurations to achieve these. This can be described as the first sensor data being used to generate a representation of the area of the property which is used by the user to set how the system the analyzes further camera images (second sensor data). This post-configuration and setup second sensor data is the data that is analyzed during event detection, and used in the processes described in paragraphs 60, 66, etc. regarding event detection and actions taken to follow targets with panning, etc.); and storing, in memory, the configuration data for use analyzing the second sensor data (Yin paragraph 99 noting a camera placement tool may be implemented as a graphical user interface (GUI). The camera placement tool may allow a user to determine the ideal surveillance camera settings and location of cameras to optimize event detection by the video surveillance system; and Yin paragraph 101-102 and Fig. 14 noting the GUI for selecting cameras, and then allowing the user to modify camera configuration data such as focal length, camera position, camera angle, etc.; and Yin claims 12 and 32 noting a camera placement module to determine a monitoring range of the first sensing unit based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit; and determining a monitoring range of the first sensor based on user input regarding a configuration of the first sensing unit)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Monroe – U.S. Publication No. 2003/0025599
/TYLER B. EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488