Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2025 AND 09/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 67, 71-78, 80, 84, 86, 87, 89 and 90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 2 391 101 (“Kwon et al.”).
Regarding claim 67, Kwon et al. discloses a computer system (fig. 1) configured to communicate with one or more display generation (150) components and one or more input devices (130), comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (180), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while the computer system is connected to a telephone call, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a telephone call user interface ([0096] if the mobile terminal is operating in a phone call mode, the display will generally provide a user interface (UI) or graphical user interface (GUI));
while displaying the telephone call user interface, in accordance with a determination that archival option criteria are met, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an option for archiving the telephone call (figures 5a-5c, [0125-0126] allowing a user to select for which contacts archiving should be offered: " the mobile terminal 100 enables a user to select whether to designate a specific counterpart individually, whether to designate a specific counterpart per group, or whether to designate all counterparts registered with a phonebook as specific counterparts. the mobile terminal 100 displays a counterpart list including counterparts registered with a phonebook and is then able to select the counterpart selected from the counterpart list by a user as a specific counterpart);
detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the option for archiving the telephone call figures 9Aa, 9Ab, [0150]: " if a user selects a recording command key 901 provided to a screen in the course of performing a pre-recording by a unit of the above-set buffering interval, the mobile terminal 100 is able to receive an input of a recording command signal"; fig. 3, S340); and
in response to detecting the input directed to the option for archiving the telephone call, initiating a process for creating an archive based on audio corresponding to the telephone call (fig. 3, s350).
Claims 89 and 90 are directed to a method and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, corresponding essentially to the subject-matter of method claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning put forward above with respect to claim 1 also applies to these claims.
Regarding claim 71, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: while the telephone call is being archived, providing a periodic prompt indicating that archival of the telephone call is in progress (see prompt " Recording in progress" on the bottom line of the display of figure 12A(a) and the corresponding text).
Regarding claim 72, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: while the computer system is connected to the telephone call, displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface element indicating that the computer system is connected to the telephone call, including:
in accordance with a determination that archival of the telephone call is in progress, displaying the user interface element in a first state; and in accordance with a determination that archival of the telephone call is not in progress, displaying the user interface element in a second state that is different from the first state (figures 9A(a) when not in a recording state and 12A(a) “recording in progress” state).
Regarding claim 73, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: in response to creating the archive based on audio corresponding to the telephone call, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a notification indicating that a file corresponding to the archive has been created (figure 12A(b), [0179-0180]) .
Regarding claim 74, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 73, the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the notification indicating that the file corresponding to the archive has been created; and in response to detecting the input directed to the notification, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the file corresponding to the archive ([0134], FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, the mobile terminal 100 displays an audio file list including previously stored audio files and is then able to play an audio file selected from the audio file list).
Regarding claim 75, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, wherein archiving the telephone call includes recording audio corresponding to the telephone call and the archive includes an audio recording of the telephone call, the one or more programs including instructions for: while the audio recording is being created, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a file corresponding to the audio recording, wherein the file includes a user interface element that indicates a pending duration of the audio recording (figures 12B(a)(b), [0177-0179] total time).
Regarding claim 76, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, wherein the determination that the archival option criteria are met includes a determination that the computer system is positioned in a first orientation, the one or more programs including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the archival option criteria are not met based on the computer system being positioned in the first orientation, forgoing displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the option for archiving the telephone call ([0063-0064] The output unit 150 generates outputs relevant to the senses, the sensing unit 140 provides sensing signals for controlling operations of the mobile terminal 100 using status measurements of various aspects of the mobile terminal. For instance, the sensing unit 140 may detect an open/close status of the mobile terminal 100, relative positioning of components (e.g., a display and keypad) of the mobile terminal 100, a change of position of the mobile terminal 100 or a component of the mobile terminal 100, a presence or absence of user contact with the mobile terminal 100, orientation or acceleration/deceleration of the mobile terminal 100).
Regarding claim 77, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 76, wherein the archival option criteria include a criterion that is met when the computer system is positioned in the first orientation ([0063] the sensing unit 140 may detect an open/close status of the mobile terminal 100, relative positioning of components (e.g., a display and keypad) of the mobile terminal 100, a change of position of the mobile terminal 100 or a component of the mobile terminal 100, a presence or absence of user contact with the mobile terminal 100, orientation or acceleration/deceleration of the mobile terminal 100).
Regarding claim 78, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 76, the one or more programs including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that creating an archive based on audio corresponding to the telephone call has been initiated and a determination that the computer system is positioned in a second orientation that is different from the first orientation, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an option to end archival of the telephone call ([0063-0064] The output unit 150 generates outputs relevant to the senses, the sensing unit 140 provides sensing signals for controlling operations of the mobile terminal 100 using status measurements of various aspects of the mobile terminal. For instance, the sensing unit 140 may detect an open/close status of the mobile terminal 10.
Regarding claim 80, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, wherein archiving the telephone call includes recording audio corresponding to the telephone call and the archive includes an audio recording of the telephone call, the one or more programs including instructions for: after recording the audio corresponding to the telephone call has ended, displaying a file corresponding to the recording, wherein the file includes a user interface element with an option to initiate playback of the recording (fig. 7A, user input of 1st audio file then fig. 7B playback of the 1st audio file).
Regarding claim 84, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an option to enable or disable display of the option for archiving a telephone call; and while the computer system is connected to a second telephone call: in accordance with a determination that the option to enable or disable display of the option for archiving a telephone call is enabled, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an option for archiving the second telephone call; and in accordance with a determination that the option to enable or disable display of the option for archiving a telephone call is disabled, forgoing displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the option for archiving the second telephone call (Providing a user with the option to enable or disable various functionalities of the device is widely used in the field of mobile devices. Fig. 5A-5C a user could decide not to choose any counterpart for recording).
Regarding claim 86, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, wherein a file corresponding to the archive is displayed, via the one or more displayed generation components, with a user interface element in a first state, the one or more programs including instructions for: after archival of the telephone call has ended, displaying, via the one or more displayed generation components, the file with the user interface element in a second state different from the first state (figures 7A and 7B, the mobile terminal 100 displays an audio file list including previously stored audio files and is then able to play an audio file selected from the audio file list. And, the mobile terminal 100 is able to set a specific audio to an audio included in the selected audio file (without playback) or the played audio file).
Regarding claim 87, Kwon et al. discloses the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: after archival of the telephone call has ended, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a file including a user interface element, wherein the file corresponds to the archive; detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input directed to the user interface element; and in response to detecting the input directed to the user interface element, displaying a user interface including details corresponding to the archive (fig. 7A, user input of 1st audio file then fig. 7B playback of the 1st audio file).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 81-83, 85 and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 391 101 (“Kwon et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2023/0134269 (“Zer”).
Regarding claim 81, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a list including a telephone call log associated with a telephone call, wherein the telephone call log includes an indication of an archive corresponding to the telephone call.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zer discloses [0104-0105, fig. 9 and fig. 10). the user may agree to share contact name of one or more specific category with other users, the user may be part of a team, part of a group which may defined by the user, such as friends or co-workers. For example, the contact categories with spam may be shared with all user of the application, and category of lawyer or doctor, may be shared with group of close friends. [0150] At the end of the call or later the selected time slot is extracted from the recorded call session and saved in association with record of the call and record of the contact name. The remained recorded part of the call session is deleted.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to share the recording with multiple parties involved in the communication session in order for all parties to reference data from the call.
Regarding claim 82, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, wherein the computer system is connected to the telephone call with a second computer system, the one or more programs including instructions for:in accordance with a determination that a contact corresponding to the second computer system is known, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a name associated with the contact, wherein the name is displayed in a file corresponding to the archive.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zer discloses [0104-0105, fig. 9 and fig. 10). the user may agree to share contact name of one or more specific category with other users, the user may be part of a team, part of a group which may defined by the user, such as friends or co-workers. For example, the contact categories with spam may be shared with all user of the application, and category of lawyer or doctor, may be shared with group of close friends. [0150] At the end of the call or later the selected time slot is extracted from the recorded call session and saved in association with record of the call and record of the contact name. The remained recorded part of the call session is deleted.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to share the recording with multiple parties involved in the communication session in order for all parties to reference data from the call.
Regarding claim 83, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, wherein the computer system is connected to the telephone call with a second computer system, the one or more programs including instructions for:in accordance with a determination that a contact corresponding to the second computer system is unknown, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a phone number associated with the second computer system, wherein the phone number is displayed in a file corresponding to the archive.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zer discloses [0104-0105, fig. 9 and fig. 10). the user may agree to share contact name of one or more specific category with other users, the user may be part of a team, part of a group which may defined by the user, such as friends or co-workers. For example, the contact categories with spam may be shared with all user of the application, and category of lawyer or doctor, may be shared with group of close friends. The user may share through the recording of the message, recommendation of the contact's name. Illustrated in Fig. 15 the archived list of recordings may be identified by both contact name and phone number.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to share the recording with multiple parties involved in the communication session in order for all parties to reference data from the call.
Regarding claim 85, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, wherein a file corresponding to the archive is accessible by a second computer system, wherein the second computer system has access, via the file, to at least one of an audio recording of the telephone call and a transcription of the telephone call.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zer discloses [0104-0105, fig. 9 and fig. 10). the user may agree to share contact name of one or more specific category with other users, the user may be part of a team, part of a group which may defined by the user, such as friends or co-workers. For example, the contact categories with spam may be shared with all user of the application, and category of lawyer or doctor, may be shared with group of close friends. The user may share through the recording of the message, recommendation of the contact's name. The contact management application may allow the user to define different type of groups based on relationship, such as family, close friends, work groups, educational groups, etc.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to share the recording with multiple parties involved in the communication session in order for all parties to reference data from the call.
Regarding claim 88, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, wherein creating an archive based on audio corresponding to the telephone call includes: while the computer system is connected to the telephone call, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a transcription of speech included in the audio corresponding to the telephone call.
However it is common to transcribe recorded speech during a telephone call. For example, in the same field of endeavor, Zer discloses ([0157]) Optionally Transcript recorded messages into text 3018. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide audio and text format of the recording in order for users to have different format of the data.
Claims 68-70 and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 391 101 (“Kwon et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2019/0042645 (“KONSTANTIN ET AL”).
Regarding claim 68, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, the one or more programs including instructions for: in response to detecting the input directed to the option for archiving the telephone call, providing a prompt indicating that the archive will be created when an amount of time elapses.
In the same field of endeavor, Konstantin et al. discloses when the recording system is turned on or off, one or more parties may be notified. When an originating party is placing a call, the originating party may set a default recording option. The originating party may also check a box to turn recording on or off. With the recording option turned on, when a called party answers the call, the called party may hear a notification that the call will be recorded ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a recording notification as disclosed by Konstantin for privacy and legal reasons, thus providing time for the parties to react to such an announcement is a common measure.
Regarding claim 69, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 68, wherein: providing the prompt indicating that the archive will be created when an amount of time elapses includes providing a user interface element, the one or more programs including instructions for: at a time corresponding to when the amount of time elapses, in accordance with a determination that an input directed to the user interface element has not been detected, creating the archive based on audio corresponding to the telephone call.
In the same field of endeavor, Konstantin et al. discloses when the recording system is turned on or off, one or more parties may be notified. When an originating party is placing a call, the originating party may set a default recording option. The originating party may also check a box to turn recording on or off. With the recording option turned on, when a called party answers the call, the called party may hear a notification that the call will be recorded ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a recording notification as disclosed by Konstantin for privacy and legal reasons, thus creating an archive after user approval input to such an announcement is a common measure.
Regarding claim 70, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, wherein the computer system is connected to the telephone call with a second computer system, the one or more programs including instructions for: causing a second prompt to be provided at the second computer system, wherein the second prompt indicates that the archive will be created when an amount of time elapses.
In the same field of endeavor, Konstantin et al. discloses when the recording system is turned on or off, one or more parties may be notified. When an originating party is placing a call, the originating party may set a default recording option. The originating party may also check a box to turn recording on or off. With the recording option turned on, when a called party answers the call, the called party may hear a notification that the call will be recorded ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a recording notification as disclosed by Konstantin for privacy and legal reasons, thus providing time for the parties to react to such an announcement is a common measure.
Regarding claim 79, Kwon et al. does not specify the computer system of claim 67, wherein the computer system is connected to the telephone call with a second computer system, the one or more programs including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the second computer system satisfies one or more criteria: causing a prompt to be displayed at the second computer system, wherein the prompt indicates that the archive will be created when an amount of time elapses.
In the same field of endeavor, Konstantin et al. discloses when the recording system is turned on or off, one or more parties may be notified. When an originating party is placing a call, the originating party may set a default recording option. The originating party may also check a box to turn recording on or off. With the recording option turned on, when a called party answers the call, the called party may hear a notification that the call will be recorded ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a recording notification as disclosed by Konstantin for privacy and legal reasons, thus providing time for the parties to react to such an announcement is a common measure.
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693