DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 04/13/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,707 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted, because a wrong form is used. Please use PTO/AIA /26 form and resubmit the terminal disclaimer (No new fee required).
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-9 had been canceled previously.
Claims 10-21 are pending.
The Double Patenting is maintained due to the submitted terminal disclaimer has been not approved.
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 04/13/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,707. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 10, the instant application claim 1 and the US patent claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The claims differ in scope since the instant application claim 10 is broader in every aspect than the patent claim 1 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 10 of the instant application is anticipated by the patent claim 1 in that claim 1 of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 10 of the instant application. Claim 10 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 11-15 correspond to the patent claim 1.
Claims 16-21 correspond to the patent claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 16 recite the limitation of "the same…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Other dependent claims are rejected the same.
Claims 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, the claims 11-12 and claims 17-18 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim 10 and claim 16 upon which they depend respectively. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anerella et al (US 2022/0383394) in view of Singh et al (US 10057651).
Regarding claim 10, Anerella discloses a terminal, comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more computer programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Figures 8-9),
the one or more computer programs including instructions for:
displaying a selection screen on a display, the selection screen including at least one image representing a respective edited video and a plurality of icons representing two or more different selling item introduced in the same respective edited video displayed in an associated manner (Figures 4B-4C and ¶ [0059]-[0068] for generating product broadcast files by editing a broadcast stream to be presented as links of edited video reviews; and Figure 5A and 7B and ¶ [0082] and ¶ [0089] for displaying a live broadcast focus presenter selection GUI screen on a display of client-side device, the selection screen including at least one image representing a live or edited video review and a product tile carousel including tiles for selling products preselected to include in the live or edited video review displayed in an associated manner); and
sending, via a network and to a server, a viewing request including information identifying the edited video selected by a user on the selection screen (¶ [0074] and ¶ [0077]-[0081]).
Anerella is silent about displaying on a selection screen a plurality of images each representing a respective edited video.
Singh discloses a video clip service obtains and stores a plurality of quality video clips across a number of broadcast media streams, so that a user can review and edit them at a later point (Col 8 lines 31-43). An advertiser or a user executes a video clip application on a device to view an interface for viewing a list of video clips and associated relevant data about the video clips to select, download and edit the video clips as desired (Col 14 lines 10-28 and Col 16 lines 18-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anerella system with the teaching of Singh about displaying a plurality of edited video clips and their relevant data in an associated manner, so to enhance user viewing and convenience experience by enabling a display of not only one but a list of edited video clip to be selected and edited as desired.
Regarding claim 11, Anerella in view of Singh discloses the terminal as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. The combined system further discloses displaying the image and the icon, both of which are associated with the same edited video, in an associated manner (Anerella’s Figures 5A, 6 and 7A-7C; and Singh’s Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Anerella in view of Singh discloses the terminal as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. The combined system further discloses displaying the image and two or more icons, all of which are associated with the same edited video, in an associated manner (Anerella’s Figures 5A and 7B-7D; Singh’s Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Anerella in view of Singh discloses the terminal as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. The combined system further discloses in response to sending the viewing request, receiving, via the network and from the server, data of the edited video selected by the user on the selection screen; and displaying a playback screen on the display, the playback screen including a region to display the edited video obtained by reproducing the received data (taught by Anerella; Figure 6; ¶ [0074] and ¶ [0077]-[0081]; taught by Singh; Col 14 lines 10-28 and Col 16 lines 18-55).
Regarding claim 14, Anerella in view of Singh discloses the terminal as discussed in the rejection of claim 13. The combined system further discloses wherein the playback screen further includes an icon for a selling item associated with the edited video displayed in the region (Anerella’s Figures 6 and 7A).
Regarding claim 15, Anerella in view of Singh discloses the terminal as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. The combined system further discloses wherein the edited video is generated based on live-stream in which the respective selling item is introduced (taught by Anerella; Figures 4B-4C and ¶ [0059]-[0068]).
Regarding claims 16-21, all limitations of the claims 16-21 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 10-15 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421