Continuing Data
This application is continuation of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/382,630 filed October 23, 2023 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent 12,227,661, entitled “Metal Nanowire Ink for the Formation of Transparent Conductive Films With Fused Networks”, which is a continuation of corresponding U.S. Patent Application No. 17/988,885 filed November 17, 2022 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent No. 11,814,531 B2, entitled “Metal Nanowire Ink for the Formation of Transparent Conductive Films with Fused Networks,” which is a continuation of corresponding 16/952,372, now U.S. Patent No. 11,512,215 B2, filed November 19, 2020 to Li et al., entitled “Metal Nanowire Ink and Method for Forming Conductive Film,” which is a continuation of U.S. patent application 16/127,462 filed September 11, 2018 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent No. 10,870,772 B2, entitled "Transparent Conductive Films with Fused Networks,” which is a continuation of U.S. patent application 15/247,533 filed on August 25, 2016 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent No. 10,100,213 B2, entitled "Metal Nanowire Inks for the Formation of Transparent Conductive Films with Fused Networks,” which is a continuation of U.S. patent application 14/848,697 filed on September 9, 2015 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent No. 9,447,301 B2, entitled “Metal Nanowire Inks for the Formation of Transparent Conductive Films with Fused Networks”, which is a continuation of U.S. patent application 14/464,332 filed on August 20, 2014 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent No. 9,150,746 B1, entitled "Metal Nanowire Inks for the Formation of Transparent Conductive Films With Fused Networks," which is a continuation of U.S. patent application 14/448,504 filed on July 31, 2014 to Li et al., now U.S. Patent No. 9,183,968 B1, entitled "Metal Nanowire Inks for the Formation of Transparent Conductive Films with Fused Networks".
Applicant should update the CON data at page 1 of the instant specification to reflect the above current data.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 01/17/25 are approved by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statement(s)filed 01/24/25 (2) has been considered. An initialed copy accompanies this action.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner construes the claim terminology “metal ions” to include both ions present as metal salts and those present as free metal ions in solution. During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,531 (parent application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the above listed claims of US ‘531 are directed to metal nanowire aqueous ink compositions comprising metal (e.g. Ag, Pd) nanowires, metal ions, and hydrophilic polymer. The metal nanowire and polymer ranges disclosed in the issued patent are identical to those instantly claimed, and the range of metal ions overlaps with the instant amount(s). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The issued claims additionally require the presence of fluoride ions which are not excluded by the instant claim terminology.
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,512,215 (parent application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the above listed claims of US ‘531 are directed to metal nanowire aqueous ink compositions comprising metal (e.g. Ag, Pd) nanowires, metal ions, and hydrophilic polymer. The metal nanowire, metal ions, and polymer ranges disclosed in the issued patent are identical to those instantly claimed. The instant claims are merely broader in scope (i.e. fully encompass) than the issued claims in reciting “hydrophilic polymer” as opposed to “polyol binder comprising functional groups”.
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,447,301 (parent application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the above listed claims of US ‘531 are directed to metal nanowire aqueous ink compositions comprising metal (e.g. Ag, Pd) nanowires, metal ions, and hydrophilic polymer. The metal nanowire and polymer ranges disclosed in the issued patent are identical to those instantly claimed, and the range of metal ions overlaps with the instant amount(s). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The instant claims are merely broader in scope (i.e. fully encompass) the issued claims in reciting “metal ions” as opposed to “soluble metal ions”.
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,150,746 (parent application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the above listed claims of US ‘531 are directed to metal nanowire aqueous ink compositions comprising metal (e.g. Ag, Pd) nanowires, metal ions, and hydrophilic polymer. The metal nanowire, metal ions, and polymer ranges disclosed in the issued patent are identical to those instantly claimed. The instant claims are merely broader in scope (i.e. fully encompass) than the issued claims in failing to require the presence of ethanol in the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allemand et al US 2011/0024159 A1.
Allemand et al US 2011/0024159 A1 discloses conductive films having low levels of silver complex ions (Abstract). The reference discloses the use of an ink, which may be aqueous (0035; 0116), comprising 0.05-1.4 wt% nanowires (Ag, Pd)(0030-32; 0110), binder (e.g. cellulose, hydroxy ethyl cellulose, pva)(0038-0039), wherein the ink compositions may comprise from 0.5 ppm to 2000 ppm (i.e. 0.00005-0.2 wt%) silver ions (0052; 0069; 0071; claim 2).
Although the reference does not disclose the claimed composition with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation, the reference clearly teaches overlapping amounts of the instant claimed components. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). With respect to dependent claim 15, the reference teaches possible mixtures of H2O and alcohol (0110), and the examiner submits that determination of the appropriate ratio is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. With respect to dependent claim 16, the reference teaches the addition of surfactants (0036). With respect to dependent claim 17, it appears that the claimed property is the result of rheology modifier addition, which the above reference teaches (instant PGPUB 0050). Accordingly, the examiner submits that such would inherently occur in the prior art inks disclosed above.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Instant claims 7, 10 and 14 are allowable over the prior art. The above reference does not disclose or fairly suggest the required components or modifications thereto.
Conclusion
/MARK KOPEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
MK
April 23, 2026