DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claim(s)
Applicant's response filed on 10/02/2026, electing Species I, encompassed by claims 1-20 without traverse is acknowledged. As such, claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Trumbo et al (US Publication No. 20210257826).
Regarding claim 1, Trumbo teaches a circuit (i.e., circuit 100) (fig. 1), comprising: a current sense circuit (i.e., current sense circuit 116, 120) having a sense input (i.e., sense input 134) and a sense output (i.e., sense output 136), in which the sense input is coupled to an input terminal (i.e., input terminal 110); a comparator (i.e., comparator 138) having a first comparator input (i.e., first comparator input 136), a second comparator input (i.e., second comparator input 134), and a comparator output (i.e., comparator output line going to logic 130), in which the first comparator input is coupled to the sense output (implicit, as seen in fig. 1), the second comparator input is coupled to a threshold terminal (i.e., threshold terminal VTH; fig. 3) (e.g., the logic circuitry configured to: determine whether a first current through the switch satisfies a threshold, based on signals from the first sense input and the second sense input, wherein the switch driver circuit is configured to: receive a second current at the second sense input; determine whether a third current satisfies the threshold, wherein the third current comprises the first current and the second current; and in response to determining that the third current satisfies the threshold, the logic circuitry is configured to cause the switch control output to turn off the switch; para. [0004]), and the comparator output is coupled to a fuse terminal (i.e., fuse terminal 141); a current programming circuit (i.e., current programming circuit 102) having a current input (i.e., current input 106) and a current output (i.e., current output 110), in which the current input is coupled to the sense output (implicit, as seen in fig. 1); a first circuit (i.e., first circuit C1) coupled between the sense output and a ground terminal (i.e., ground terminal GND); and a second circuit (i.e., second circuit C2) coupled between the current output and the ground terminal (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Trumbo teaches the invention set forth above. However, Trumbo does not particularly teach wherein the current sense circuit comprises: a sense resistor coupled in a power path between a power supply and a load; an amplifier including amplifier inputs and an amplifier output, in which the amplifier inputs are coupled across the sense resistor; and a multiplier circuit coupled between the amplifier output and the sense output, wherein the amplifier is configured to provide a current signal representative of a current sensed in the power path, and wherein the multiplier circuit is configured to provide a first current signal at the sense output that is proportional to a square of the current signal.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 3-5 depend on objected claim 2, consequently claims 3-5 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 6, Trumbo teaches the invention set forth above. However, Trumbo does not particularly teach wherein further comprising a regulator circuit including a regulator output coupled to the sense output, in which the regulator circuit is configured to provide a regulated voltage at the sense output.
Hence claim 6 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 7-9 depend on objected claim 6, consequently claims 7-9 will also be deemed allowable.
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 10, Trumbo et al (US Publication No. 20210257826) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Trumbo does not teach or suggest a circuit, comprising: a current sense circuit configured to provide a first current signal representative of a square of a load current; a nominal current programming circuit configured to provide a second current signal representative of a square of a nominal current for a simulated fuse, in which the current programming circuit is configured to set the square of the nominal current; a time-current circuit configured to provide a voltage based on the first current signal and the second current signal, in which the time-current circuit has an electrical characteristic representative of a current squared times time (I^2 x t) rating for the simulated fuse based on the first current signal and the second current signal; and a comparator configured to provide a comparator output signal, defining a fault condition, based on a voltage across the time-current circuit relative to a threshold voltage.
Claims 11-18 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Trumbo et al (US Publication No. 20210257826) substantially teaches the claim limitations as indicated in claim 1. However, Trumbo does not teach or suggest a system, comprising: a switch, defining a fuse, including a first current terminal, a second current terminal, and a control terminal, in which the first current terminal is coupled to a supply voltage terminal, and the second current terminal is coupled to a load terminal, and the supply voltage terminal and the load terminal are in a power path; a fuse control circuit, comprising: a current sense circuit including a sense input and a sense output, in which the sense input is coupled to one of the first current terminal or the second current terminal; a multiplier circuit including a multiplier input and a multiplier output, in which the multiplier input is coupled to the sense output; a comparator circuit including a first comparator input, a second comparator input, and a comparator output, in which the first comparator input is coupled to the multiplier output, the second comparator input is coupled to a threshold terminal, and the comparator output is coupled to the control terminal of the switch; a current programming circuit including a current input and a current output, in which the current input is coupled to the multiplier output; and a capacitor coupled between the multiplier output and a ground terminal.
Claim 20 is allowed, as it depends on allowed claim 19.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838