DETAILED ACTION
The Response filed 31 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 2-20 remain pending. Claim 1 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons in view of Tanida (US 6,170,522) in view of Paradis (US 5,806,831).
The applicant argues with respect to claim 2 on pgs. 7-8 of the Response that Tanida discloses a “joint for use with refrigerant-cycle pipes, hydraulic-oil pipes, fuel-feeding pipes, and the lie, rather than to the claimed medical fluid connector system.” However, as discussed in the previous rejection, “medical” is broadly interpreted as a name for the fluid system rather than necessarily further defining function or structure, and the claim structures positively claimed are seen as being taught by the prior art, as discussed in the rejections.
The applicant argues with respect to claim 2 on pg. 8 of the Response that Tanida lacks a second seal having a resilient proximal face and an integral resilient collapsing portion extending distally along the fluid conduit to bias the resilient proximal face proximally toward the closed configuration. However, as Paradis teaches in Figs. 8A-C that the second seal 80 comprises a resilient proximal face configured to be engaged and moved distally when the first and second connectors are attached to each other (Fig. 8B, 8C), and an integral resilient collapsing portion extending distally along at least a portion of the fluid conduit 81 and configured to bias the resilient proximal face proximally toward the closed configuration of the second connector. The second seal taught by Paradis is used to modify the analogous valve 41, and second seal thereon, disclosed by Tanida.
The applicant argues with respect to claim 2 on pg. 8 of the Response that it would not be reasonable to modify Tanida by cited art to render amended claim 2 obvious. However, the second seal taught by Paradis performs the same function as the valve 41 and seals thereon, and provides a simpler assembly by using a single, monolithic seal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanida in view of Paradis to use the second seal taught by Paradis.
Specification
The amendments to the specification filed 31 July 2026 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 5, it is suggested that “a first connector” be changed to --the first connector--, for which the introduction of a first medical fluid connector in line 2 is an antecedent basis.
In claim 2, line 16, it is suggested that “a second connector” be changed to --the second connector--, for which the introduction of a second medical fluid connector in line 2 is an antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-8, 10-11, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tanida (US 6,170,522) in view of Paradis (US 5,806,831).
Regarding claim 2, Tanida discloses in Figs. 20-23 a medical fluid system (wherein “medical” is broadly interpreted as a name for the fluid system rather than necessarily further defining function or structure) for facilitating connection between first and second medical fluid connectors (wherein “medical” is broadly interpreted as a name for the fluid system rather than necessarily further defining function or structure), the medical fluid system configured to move between a closed position that inhibits fluid flow and an open position that permits fluid flow, the medical fluid system comprising:
a first connector (with external housing 11) configured to transition between an opened configuration (Fig. 21 or 23) and a closed configuration (Fig. 20 or 22), the first connector comprising:
a first external housing 11;
a distally extending male protrusion 12 positioned entirely within the external housing 11, the male protrusion 12 comprising an internal fluid passageway and a distal opening (in which a valve 31 is disposed in the closed configuration);
a valve 31 positioned within the fluid passageway of the male portion 12, the valve 31 blocking the distal opening of the male portion 12 in the closed configuration of the first connector; and
a first seal (comprised the unlabeled seal ring that the valve 31 engages in the closed configuration) encompassing at least a portion of the valve 31 in the closed position (Fig. 20 or 22) of the first connector; and
a second connector (with external housing 21) being configured to transition between an opened configuration (Fig. 21 or 23) and a closed configuration (Fig. 20 or 22), the second connector comprising:
a second external housing 21, a portion of the second external housing 21 being sized to be receivable within the first external housing 11 of the first connector when the first and second connectors are attached to each other (Fig. 21 or 23).
a first proximal opening (in which the movable walls 61, 62 and the end of the fluid conduit 22 are disposed) in the second external housing 21, the first proximal opening configured to receive the male protrusion 12 of the first connector;
a fluid conduit 22 located at least partially within an interior space of the second housing 21 of the second connector, the fluid conduit 22 comprising a side wall and a conduit passageway extending within the fluid conduit 22, at least one port in the fluid conduit 22 extending through the fluid conduit 22 and into the conduit passageway; and
a second seal (comprising the unlabeled seal ring on the movable wall 61 and between the movable wall 61 and the fluid conduit 22) located at least partially within the second connector, the second seal contacting the sidewall of the fluid conduit 22 in both the closed and opened configurations of the second connector, the second seal configured to block fluid flow out from the conduit passageway through the at least one port of the fluid conduit 22 when the second connector is in the closed configuration (Fig. 20 or 22); and
wherein when the first and second connectors are attached to each other (Fig. 21 or 23), the fluid conduit 22 of the second connector contacts the valve 31 of the second connector;
wherein fluid flow is enabled between the first and second connectors when attached to each other; and
wherein the first and second connectors can be detached from each other through axial motion between the first and second connectors, without requiring rotation of the first and second external housings 11, 21 with respect to each other (because one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the connectors are attached and detached, as shown in Figs. 20-21, via a hook on the first external housing 11 that is pushed onto or pulled away from ball bearings on the second external housing 21 that fit in an annular groove on the second external housing 21 during attachment, or as shown in Figs. 22-23, ball bearings in the first external housing 11 being pushed radially into an annular groove of the second external housing 21 via the spring-biased sleeve surrounding the ball bearings and retracting the spring-biased sleeve to pull the connectors apart).
Tanida lacks teaching that the second seal comprises a resilient proximal face configured to be engaged and moved distally when the first and second connectors are attached to each other, and an integral resilient collapsing portion extending distally along at least a portion of the fluid conduit and configured to bias the resilient proximal face proximally toward the closed configuration of the second connector.
Paradis teaches in Figs. 8A-C a second seal 80 located at least partially within the second connector, the second seal 80 contacting the sidewall of the fluid conduit 81 in both the closed and opened configurations of the second connector, the second seal 80 configured to block fluid flow out from the conduit passageway (in the fluid conduit 81) through the at least one port of the fluid conduit 81 when the second connector is in the closed configuration (Fig. 8A), wherein the second seal 80 comprises a resilient proximal face configured to be engaged and moved distally when the first and second connectors are attached to each other (Fig. 8B, 8C), and an integral resilient collapsing portion extending distally along at least a portion of the fluid conduit 81 and configured to bias the resilient proximal face proximally toward the closed configuration of the second connector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second seal disclosed by Tanida to be a part of a sleeve that is intrinsically biased to close over the openings of the fluid conduit and is compressed to uncover said openings when the connectors are connected, as Paradis teaches, to provide a simpler assembly with less parts by using a single, monolithic seal.
Regarding claim 3, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the first seal contacts the valve 31 of the first connector in the closed position.
Regarding claim 4, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the first seal forms a seal between an interior surface of the male projection 12 of the first connector and the valve 31 of the first connector in the closed position.
Regarding claim 5, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the first seal contacts the fluid conduit 22 of the second connector in the opened position.
Regarding claim 6, Tanida discloses in Figs. 20-23 that the first and second connectors can be attached to each other through axial motion between the first and second connectors, without requiring rotation of the first and second external housings 11, 12 with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 7, Tanida discloses in Figs. 20-23 engagement features on each of the first and second connectors (comprising the hook on the first connector and ball bearings that fit into an annular groove on the second connector, in Figs. 20-21, or the ball bearings on the first connector, the spring-biased sleeve around the ball bearings, and the annular groove in the second connector to receive the ball bearings, in Figs. 22-23, as one having ordinary skill would recognize as being used in connecting the connectors) configured to removably secure the connectors together.
Regarding claim 8, Tanida discloses in Figs. 20-21 that at least one of the engagement features comprises a hook.
Regarding claim 10, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the valve 31 of the first connector is made of a rigid material.
Regarding claim 11, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the valve 31 is shorter than the distally extending male protrusion 12.
Regarding claim 13, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the first seal of the first connector does not move axially between the closed and opened configurations (Figs. 22-23).
Regarding claim 16, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the medical fluid system is configured to permit the first and second external housings 11, 21 of the first and second connectors to rotate with respect to each other while securely coupled (because of the ball bearings one having ordinary skill would recognize as being used in connecting the connectors).
Regarding claim 17, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the valve 31 of the first connector is configured to move proximally between the closed configuration to the opened configuration.
Regarding claim 18, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the valve 31 of the first connector is configured to move distally between the opened configuration and the closed configuration.
Regarding claim 19, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that the valve 31 of the first connector is biased toward the closed configuration.
Regarding claim 20, Tanida discloses in Figs. 22-23 that in the opened configuration (Fig. 23) of the first connector, fluid can flow around an outer surface of at least a portion of the valve 31 of the first connector.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tanida in view of Paradis, as applied to claims 7 and 2 respectively above, and further in view of Braun et al. (US 6,082,401).
Regarding claim 9, Tanida discloses first and second connectors, as previously discussed, but lacks teaching that an audible sound is produced when the first and second connectors are coupled to each other.
Braun teaches in Figs. 1-3 first and second connectors 42, 44 that can be attached to each other through axial motion between the first and second connectors 42, 44, without requiring rotation of the first and second external housings 46, 88 with respect to each other, corresponding engagement features 60, 94 on each of the first and second connectors 42, 44 configured to removably secure the connectors together, and an audible sound that is produced when the first and second connectors 42, 44 are coupled to each other (col. 3, lines 13-20). The audible sound is produced by the clip assembly 60 of the engagement features 60, 94 engaging the groove 94 of the engagement features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engagement features disclosed by Tanida to comprise a spring-biased clip assembly on one of the connectors that is selectively moved by a pressable tab by the user to disengage a groove on the other connector, and that makes an audible sound when the connectors are coupled to each other, as Braun teaches, because the clip assembly provides an inexpensive and easy-to-understand locking mechanism that also provides audible feedback to indicate to the user successful coupling, as Braun teaches (col. 3, lines 13-20).
Regarding claim 14, Braun teaches in Figs. 1-3 that the first and second connectors 42, 44 are releasable after coupling by pressing on at least one tab 62.
Regarding claim 15, Braun teaches in Figs. 1-3 that the at least one tab 62 is on the connector 44 with the outermost external housing 46 when the connectors 42, 44 are coupled.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one tab taught by Braun be on the first connector disclosed by Tanida, because that is the connector disclosed by Tanida as providing the outermost external housing when the connectors are coupled, like the connectors taught by Braun, and so the tab would be accessible when the connectors are coupled.
Claim 12 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tanida in view of Paradis, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Doyle (US 6,745,998).
Regarding claim 12, Tanida discloses a distally extending male protrusion and an external housing of the first connector, as previously discussed, but lacks teaching that the distally extending male protrusion is unitary with the external housing of the first connector.
Doyle teaches in Figs. 1-7 a first connector 10 comprising a distally extending male protrusion 16 that is unitary with the external housing 12 of the first connector 10 via monolithic construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distally extending male protrusion and external housing of the first connector to be unitary in the form of monolithic construction, as Doyle teaches, as an obvious integration of parts (MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)). Furthermore, the monolithic construction reduces the number of separate parts, which simplifies how to use the device, assembly, and disassembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753