DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34 through 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al., (hereinafter Nilsson), US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0142523 A1.
With regard to claims 34-39, 42-46, 48-53, Nilsson teaches a process of molding a product from a pulp slurry comprising, see figure 1, 2a-2h, figure 12 and ¶-[0009]-[0019], [0038]-[0040]:
Providing a pickup tool (13) for picking a pulp slurry from a tank (6). The pickup tool comprising a plurality of channels, shown as straight in figure 12 (reading on 53), extending through from the product face through the back face and self-supporting walls; see figure 12 (reading on claims 50-52):
Applying the pulp slurry to the product face of the pickup toll, the sequence shown on figures 2a through 2h:
Transferring the sucked pulp to second tool. Said second toll having the oppose shape to the pickup toll:
Transferring to a pressing tool to dewater the web pulp:
Drying the dewatered the molded pulp.
While figure 1 shows pickup toll, the transferring tool and pressing tools, adding another intermediate step/stage as recited on claim 43, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if so desired. Nilsson also teaches the application of heat, vacuum and pressure in the stages, i.e., vacuum and pressure to help in the dewatering and release the wet formed mold to the following stage (reading on claims 46-49); see for example ¶-[0013]-[0016]. Nilsson also teaches that the molds have opposite shapes, i.e., male/female or female/male; see ¶-[0040].
Regarding to claims 40-41, Nilsson teaches the scaping of steam during the pressing and heading of the product; see for example ¶-[0015], claim 45.
With regard to claim 47, Nilsson teaches the use of air pressure to release the pulp fiber from the tool; see ¶-[0043].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Tool or Tool Part, System including such a Tool or Tool Part, Method of Producing such a Tool or Tool Part and Method of Molding a Product from a Pulp Slurry.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF