DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/25 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kamen et al (US Patent No. 5,628,908 hereinafter “Kamen”) in view of Chan et al (US 2005/0034625 hereinafter “Chan”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9; Kamen discloses a disposable fluid line organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5) mounted on a dialysis cycler (14 @ figure 1) comprising:
a tube holder section (100 @ figure 1) including:
a raised section (figures 3-5) that extends horizontally along a top edge of the organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5);
a plurality of vertically oriented slots (44, 46 @ figures 3-5) in the raised section (figures 3-5) that are open (52 @ figure 4-5) to a front of the organizer (42 @figures 3-5) having a generally cylindrical shape (figures 4-5), wherein an opening (46 @ figures 3-5) on a front of each of the plurality of slots (44 @ figures 3-5); and
a plurality of ramps (figures 3-5) that extend outward from a back of the organizer (42 @ figure 1 and 3-5) whereby the organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5) is angled away from the dialysis cycler (14 @ figure 1) when the organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5) is inserted in a clip (111, 114, 115 @ figure 6 and col.11 lines 65-67: e.g., A door latch 115 operated by a latch handle 111 contacts a latch pin 114 when the door 106 is closed. Moving the latch handle 111 downward when the door 106 is closed engages the latch 115 to the pin 114 to lock the door 106) on the cycler (14 @ figures 1 and 5);
a base (figures 1 and 3-5) of the organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5) that is flexibly attached to a bottom of the tube holder section (100 @ figures 1 and 3-5), wherein the base is configured to be received in a clip with a U-shape (110 @ figure 6); and
a tab (48 @ figures 1 and 4) that is flexibly attached to a top of the tube holder section (100 @ figures 1 and 4). See figures 1-35
Kamen discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for an opening on a front of each of the plurality of slots is slightly narrower than a width of the cylindrical shape. However, Chan teaches that it is known in the art to provide an opening on a front of each of the plurality of slots is slightly narrower than a width of the cylindrical shape (paragraph [0052]: e.g., For proper retention of shock tubes within the slot, the width of the slot is preferably slightly narrower than the cross-sectional diameter of the shock tubes. In this way, the shock tubes are slightly squeezed without inducing any substantially change in the diameter of the tubes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the disposable fluid line organizer of Kamen with an opening on a front of each of the plurality of slots is slightly narrower than a width of the cylindrical shape as taught by Chan for the purpose of very high insertion forces are generally required to force shock tubes into a slot defined by a substantially inflexible shock tube retention.
Regarding claims 2 and 11; Kamen discloses the cylindrical shape of each of the plurality of slot (44 @ figures 3-5) is sized to retain a fluid line (30, 32 @ figures 3-5) with a pre-determined force.
Regarding claims 3 and 12; Kamen discloses further comprising a plurality of recessed segments (inside slot holders 44 @ figures 3-5) that extend horizontally along a bottom edge of the organizer (42 @ figures 3-5) and below the raised section (figure s 3-5).
Regarding claims 4 and 13; Kamen discloses the base of the organizer (42 @ figures 3-5) includes a recessed segment (inside slot holders 44 @ figures 3-5) that is defined by a raised ring that surrounds the recessed segment (figures 3-5).
Regarding claims 5 and 16; Kamen discloses the tab (48 @ figure 4) includes a plurality of support columns or hollow ribs (figure 4) that extend upward from the tube holder section (100 @ figure 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 17; Kamen discloses the tab (48 @ figure 4) includes a raised rib area (figure 4).
Regarding claims 7 and 18; Kamen discloses recessed segments (44 @ figure 4) in the tube holder section (100 @ figure 1 and 5) are separated by support columns or hollow ribs that are oriented vertically (figures 4-5).
Regarding claims 8 and 19; Kamen discloses the ramps (figures 3-5) are aligned horizontally with the recessed segments (44 @ figure 3-5).
Regarding claim 10; Kamen discloses the clip (111, 114, 115 @ figure 6) includes a lip at a top (114 @ figure 6) of the U shape (figure 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 14; Kamen discloses the raised ring is hollow and open (52 @ figures 3-5) to the back of the organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5).
Regarding claim 15; Kamen discloses the clip (111, 114, 115 @ figure 6) includes tabs (48 @ figures 2 and 4) that project from a back of the U-shaped clip (110 @ figure 6) and are configured to engage with the raised ring on the base of the tube organizer (42 @ figures 1 and 3-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gara et al (US 2006/0155236) discloses methods and apparatus for collecting and treating blood component. An apparatus and methods for improvement of an extracorporeal photopheresis treatment is described.
/SN/
May 30, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877