DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/07/26 has been entered. Claims 21-23 and 37 have been amended, and new claim 40 has been entered. Claims 21-40 are addressed in the following office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 26-28 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 26, lines 3-4: “a terminal end of the plurality of adjustable limbs” should be “a terminal end of each of the plurality of adjustable limbs”.
In claim 27, lines 3-4: “a terminal end of the plurality of adjustable limbs” should be “a terminal end of each of the plurality of adjustable limbs”.
In claim 28, line 1: “the at least one thru-hole” should be “at least one thru-hole”.
In claim 28, line 3: “a terminal end” should be “the terminal end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24, 28-29, 32, 34, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan (US 2013/0096611).
Regarding claim 21, an invention relating to suture anchors, Sullivan discloses (Fig. 2) a surgical implant (100), comprising: an implantable body (11) having a length that is defined between a leading end (12) and a trailing end (13), and extends between a proximal-facing surface and a distal-facing surface (see annotated figure below), the implantable body including a plurality of thru-holes (16 & 17) formed therein that extend from the proximal-facing surface to the distal-facing surface (Par. 0033); an adjustable filament loop (see annotated figure of element 40 below) coupled to the body and disposed through at least two of the thru-holes of the implantable body (Par. 0035), the adjustable filament loop having at least one adjustable filament limb [i.e. the portion of element within the splice and connecting to element 41] extending proximally therefrom [i.e. extending in the direction of the proximal-facing surface is facing], the at least one adjustable filament limb being configured to adjust a size of the adjustable filament loop when tension is applied thereto [i.e. when element 41 is pulled the portion of the suture passing device wrapped around element 20 will constrict] (Par. 0039); and a shuttle suture (30) that extends along a length and is defined by at least one limb that is removably coupled to the implantable body [i.e. the element 30 can be pulled through the socket 19], the at least one limb having a first opening [i.e. an aperture] in a sidewall formed along an intermediate portion of the length of the shuttle suture that leads into a hollow receiving portion [i.e. splice region 39] within the at least one limb with the at least one adjustable filament limb extending from the adjustable filament loop into the hollow receiving portion through the first opening, wherein the at least one adjustable filament limb extends in a direction towards the at least one limb of the shuttle suture (Fig. 2; Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 22, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 21. Sullivan further discloses wherein the at least one limb comprises a second opening in the sidewall formed along the intermediate portion of the at least one adjustable filament limb such that the second opening is more proximate than the first opening to a terminal end of the at least one limb (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 23, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 22. Sullivan further discloses wherein the second opening is formed at a terminal end of the hollow receiving portion opposite from the first opening, the terminal end of the hollow receiving portion terminating prior to the terminal end of the at least one limb (Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 24, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 23. Sullivan further discloses wherein the at least one adjustable filament limb exits the shuttle suture through the second opening, the second opening being more remote from the implantable body than the first opening [i.e. when element is 30 is tensioned the aperture will be outside the lumen of the anchor boy and more remote than the other aperture] (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 22. Sullivan further discloses wherein the at least one thru-hole through which the shuttle suture is disposed is located at the leading end such that the at least one limb extends from the proximal-facing surface with a distance between a terminal end of the at least one limb and the proximal-facing surface being smaller than a distance between the terminal end of the at least one limb and the distal-facing surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 22. Sullivan further discloses (Fig. 2) wherein a body-facing surface of the at least one adjustable filament limb that extends from the proximal-facing surface forms an acute angle with a longitudinal axis (11a) extending through the length of the implantable body (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 32, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 22. Sullivan further discloses wherein the shuttle suture is disposed separate from the adjustable filament loop such that the shuttle suture does not form a portion of the adjustable filament loop (Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 34, Sullivan discloses the implant of claim 22. Sullivan further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the adjustable filament loop is configured to receive a graft therein, the graft configured to be maintained distal to the distal- facing surface of the implantable body [i.e. if element 40 is advanced into the anchor body so that the loop extends out of recess 16, then the loop can receive the graft].
Regarding claim 40, an invention relating to suture anchors, Sullivan discloses (Fig. 2) a surgical implant (100), comprising: an implantable body (11) having a length that is defined between a leading end (12) and a trailing end (13), and extends between a proximal-facing surface and a distal-facing surface (see annotated figure below), the implantable body including a plurality of thru-holes (16 & 17) formed therein that extend from the proximal-facing surface to the distal-facing surface (Par. 0033); an adjustable filament loop (see annotated figure, element 40 below) coupled to the body and disposed through at least two of the thru-holes of the implantable body (Par. 0035), the adjustable filament loop having at least one adjustable filament limb [i.e. the portion of element within the splice and connecting to element 41] extending proximally therefrom [i.e. extending in the direction of the proximal-facing surface is facing], the at least one adjustable filament limb being configured to adjust a size of the adjustable filament loop when tension is applied thereto [i.e. when element 41 is pulled the portion of the suture passing device wrapped around element 20 will constrict] (Par. 0039); and a shuttle suture (30) defined by at least one limb that is removably coupled to the implantable body [i.e. the element 30 can be pulled through the socket 19], the at least one limb having a first opening [i.e. an aperture] in a sidewall thereof that leads into a hollow receiving portion [i.e. splice region 39] within the at least one limb with the at least one adjustable filament limb extending from the adjustable filament loop into the hollow receiving portion through the first opening, wherein the at least one adjustable filament limb extends in a direction towards the at least one limb of the shuttle suture (Fig. 2; Par. 0039), and wherein the shuttle suture is disposed separate from the adjustable filament loop such that the shuttle suture does not form a portion of the adjustable filament loop (Par. 0039).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,968. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims
19/030,735
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
Claims US Patent No. 10,405,968
1 & 8
9
1
1
4
1
1
1
6
Claims
19/030,735
30
31
32
33
34
37
38
39
Claims US Patent No. 10,405,968
1
1
1
2
1
1 & 8
9
6
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 08/07/26, with respect to claims 22-36 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 22, and 35 USC § 112 rejection of claims 22-36 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 21, 37, and 39 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771