Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner additionally submit that pending claims does not fully overcome 35 U.S.C 112 issues (see 112 rejection below) and drafted proposed claim for applicant for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 contain, inter alia, claim limitation:
at least one first / second / third light emitting unit having respectively first / second / third light-emitting area, and
a quantity of the at least one first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the at least one second light-emitting unit, the quantity of the at least one first light-emitting unit is great than a quantity of the at least one third light-emitting unit.
The scope of “a quantity” is indefinite. It is noted from specification it appear a quantity of a light-emitting unit in embodiment from fig. 1A refers to number of light-emitting unit per pixel for a particular type of light emitting unit. However, as claim 1 is directed toward display device without further limitation, it is unclear whether a quantity refers to light emitting units across entire display, a specific region, or a pixel (for example, nothing prevent interpretation of a quantity of first light emitting unit as total number of first light emitting unit across multiple pixels while a quantity of another second light emitting unit may be interpret as number of light emitting unit in a particular area or a pixel), nor it is clear whether change of pixel light emitting area affect the claimed “quantity”.
Similarly, claim 16 recite “at least one …. first light emitting area”, “at least one … second light emitting area” and “at least one …. third light emitting area”. The scope of “light emitting area” is indefinite. For example, as claim 16 is directed to a display device, it is unclear whether the light emitting area of “at least one first/second/third light emitting unit” refers to light emitting area of a particular type of light emitting unit for all light emitting unit of the type within the display device, within a certain region, or within a pixel.
Also similarly, claims 19 and 20 recite light enhancing unit having “a first / second / third area” for “at least one first / second /third light emitting unit”. The scope of “area” is indefinite. For example, as claim 19 is directed to a display device, it is unclear whether the first / second /third area of light enhancing unit for “at least one first/second/third light emitting unit” refers to area of a particular type of light emitting unit for all light emitting unit of the type within the display device, within a certain region, or within a pixel.
In addition, independent claims 1, 16, and 19 all recite “a threshold current” without definite scope on what constitute “threshold”. Under plain meaning, a “threshold” is the magnitude or intensity that must be exceeded for a certain reaction, phenomenon, result, or condition to occur or be manifested. Claims 1, 16 and 19 recite “threshold current” with indefinite scope of what threshold or limit of the threshold current is for, i.e. whether the threshold current is a threshold current for light emitting element to emit light or carry out certain function. It is noted paragraph 36 of pending specification clearly state the threshold current “is the operating current of the first light-emitting unit 110 corresponding to the minimum power consumption when the pixel unit PX meets the specific target brightness requirements and the color point requirements of the display device.” However, such clear scope is not recited in claim.
Dependent claims 2, 4-7, 10, 12-15, 18, and 20 are rejected for dependency on rejected independent claims.
Examiner respectfully submit the following claims drafted by the examiner is considered to cure 35 U.S.C. 112 deficiency above. In addition, the following claims drafted is considered to distinguish patentable over prior arts of record cited in 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below, and is presented for applicant for consideration:
1. (Currently Amended) a display device, comprising:
a plurality of pixels, wherein each pixel comprises:
at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at a first current is less than an external quantum efficiency thereof at a second current, and the at least one first light-emitting unit is operated at a first operating current; and
at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current, and the at least one second light-emitting unit is operated at a second operating current; and
at least one third light-emitting unit having a third light-emitting area, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current, and the at least one third light-emitting unit is operated at a third operating current;
wherein the first operating current is less than or equal to a threshold current, a quantity of the at least one first light-emitting unit per pixel is greater than a quantity of the at least one second light-emitting unit per pixel, and the quantity of the at least one first light-emitting unit per pixel is greater than a quantity of the at least one third light-emitting unit per pixel, and the first light-emitting area is equal to the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area,
wherein the first current is less than the second current, and the threshold current is greater than the first current and less than the second current[[.]]; and
wherein the threshold current is an operating current of the first light emitting unit corresponding to a minimum power consumption for a pixel to reach a target brightness.
16. (Currently Amended) a display device, comprising:
a plurality of pixels, wherein each pixel comprises:
at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area per pixel, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at a first current is less than an external quantum efficiency thereof at a second current, and the at least one first light-emitting unit is operated at a first operating current; and
at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area per pixel, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current; and
at least one third light-emitting unit having a third light-emitting area per pixel, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current;
wherein the first operating current is greater than a threshold current, the first light-emitting area per pixel is less than the second light-emitting area per pixel and the third light emitting area per pixel, and the second light-emitting area per pixel is equal to the third light-emitting area per pixel,
wherein the first current is less than the second current, and the threshold current is greater than the first current and less than the second current[[.]]; and
wherein the threshold current is an operating current of the first light emitting unit corresponding to a minimum power consumption for a pixel to reach a target brightness.
19. (Currently Amended) a display device, comprising:
a plurality of pixels, wherein each pixel comprises:
at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at a first current is less than an external quantum efficiency thereof at a second current, and the at least one first light-emitting unit is operated at a first operating current;
a first light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one first light-emitting unit and having a first area per pixel;
at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current; and
a second light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one first light-emitting unit and having a second area per pixel;
wherein the first operating current is greater than a threshold current, the first area per pixel is less than the second area per pixel, and the first light-emitting area is the same as the second light-emitting area,
wherein the first current is less than the second current, and the threshold current is greater than the first current and less than the second current[[.]]; and
wherein the threshold current is an operating current of the first light emitting unit corresponding to a minimum power consumption for a pixel to reach a target brightness.
20. (Currently Amended) a display device, wherein each pixel further comprising:
at least one third light-emitting unit, wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current; and
a third light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one third light-emitting unit and having a third area per pixel;
wherein the first area per pixel is less than the third area per pixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meitl et al., US 20210242180 A1 (hereinafter “Meitl”), in further view of Huang, CN 111599938 A (hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Meitl discloses a display device (fig. 1, paragraph 35, multi-color LED display 99), comprising:
at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area (fig. 6, LEDs 43s within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at a first current is less than an external quantum efficiency thereof at a second current, and the at least one first light-emitting unit is operated at a first operating current (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current); and
at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area (fig. 6, LED 41 within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current, and the at least one second light-emitting unit is operated at a second operating current; and (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current);
at least one third light-emitting unit having a third light-emitting area (fig. 6, LED 42L within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current, and the at least one third light-emitting unit is operated at a third operating current; (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second/third operating current);
wherein the first operating current is less than or equal to a threshold current, a quantity of the at least one first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the at least one second light-emitting unit, and the quantity of the at least one first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the at least one third light-emitting unit,
wherein the first current is less than the second current, and the threshold current is greater than the first current and less than the second current (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, quantity of 43s more than 31 or 32, see fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, and first/second/third operating current).
Meitl does not disclose, in particular: the first light-emitting area is equal to the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area.
In similar field of art of display device with light emitting unit (fig. 9, paragraphs 2, 3, 74, display device with organic light emitting diode), Huang discloses a pixel structure of display may comprises: two first light-emitting units of a first color having a first light-emitting area, one second light-emitting unit of a second color having a second light-emitting area, and one third light-emitting unit of a third color having a third light-emitting area, such that a quantity of the first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the second light-emitting unit, and the quantity of the first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the third light-emitting unit, and the first light-emitting area is equal to the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area (see annotated fig. 2, 3, below, paragraph 43, each pixel comprises two blue subpixels, one red subpixel, and one green subpixel, wherein light emitting area of each red, blue, or green subpixel is equal to each other)
Meitl discloses the concept of a display device having light emitting unit with different efficiency curve and operating current, wherein a quantity of first light emitting unit may be more than a quantity of second or third light emitting unit. Huang discloses similar display device having light emitting units wherein a quantity of first light emitting unit may be more than a quantity of second and third light emitting units, and that first light emitting area of first light emitting unit is equal to second light emitting area of second light emitting unit and third light emitting area of third light emitting unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the light emitting unit having different emitting characteristic such as disclosed by Meitl into display device with light emitting units of different quantities but equal areas such as disclosed by Huang, to constitute the first light-emitting area is equal to the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area, such is incorporation of known concept into known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display device with different light emitting units to be configured to meet different display requirement.
Regarding claim 2, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 1 a ratio of the first operating current to the second operating current is 0.8 to 3.5 (see Meitl paragraphs 35-46, for embodiment as in fig. 6 of Meitl, the first operating current is equal to second operating current, with ratio of 1).
Regarding claim 4, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein an external quantum efficiency of the at least one first light-emitting unit at a first optimal current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current, an external quantum efficiency of the at least one second light-emitting unit at a second optimal current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current, and the first optimal current is greater than the second optimal current (Meitl, see fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current, first optimal current, and second optimal current).
Regarding claim 5, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 4,
Meitl in view of Huang does not specifically outline wherein the first optimal current is between 80 microamps and 200 microamps, and the second optimal current is between 1 microamp and 30 microamps.
Meitl does discloses however that the first optimal current is approximate three to five times as second optimal current (see Meitl, fig. 3, optimal current of first LED at approximately 120 and optimal current of second LED at approximate 30).
Since Applicant has failed to disclose that specifying the first optimal current as 80-200 microamps and second optimal current to be 1-30 microamps provides any distinct advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide first optimal current as 80-200 microamps (for LED of 100 square micron at optimal current density of 120 A / cm2 for first LED of Meitl as disclosed in fig. 3) and provide second optimal current as 1-30 microamps (for LED of 100 square micron at optimal current density of 30 A / cm2 for second LED of Meitl as disclosed in fig. 3), in order to achieve the predictable result of allowing LEDs of pixels in display device of Meitl in view of Huang to operate at desired current near optimal efficiency)
Regarding claim 6, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein a difference between the threshold current and the second optimal current is less than a difference between the threshold current and the first optimal current (see annotated fig. 3 of Meitl with exemplary threshold current and second optimal current below).
Regarding claim 7, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein a difference between the first operating current and the second optimal current is less than a difference between the first operating current and the first optimal current (see annotated fig. 3 of Meitl with exemplary first operating current, second optimal current, and first optimal current below).
Regarding claim 10, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein a ratio of the third operating current to the second operating current is 0.8 to 3.2 (see Meitl paragraphs 35-46, for embodiment as in fig. 6 of Meitl, the second operating current is equal to third operating current, with ratio of 1).
Regarding claim 12, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein an external quantum efficiency of the at least one second light-emitting unit at a second optimal current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current, an external quantum efficiency of the at least one third light-emitting unit at a third optimal current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current, and the second optimal current is greater than the third optimal current. (see Meitl, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second/third operating current, first/second/third optimal current).
Regarding claim 13, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein the second optimal current is between 1 microamp and 30 microamps, and the third optimal current is between 1 microamp and 30 microamps (see annotation in rejection of claim 12, fig. 3, both second and third optimal current is between 1 and 30 microamps).
Regarding claim 15, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein outline shapes of the at least one first light-emitting unit, the at least one second light-emitting unit, and the at least one third light-emitting unit are rectangular, square, or disk-shaped (Meitl, paragraph 52, outline area of first/second/third LED are rectangular shaped having area of n x m microns).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meitl in view of Huang, as applied in claim 1 above, and in further view of Chen et al., CN 114725153 A (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 14, Meitl in view of Huang discloses the display device of claim 1.
Meitl in view of Huang does not disclose in particular wherein the at least one first light-emitting unit is a red light-emitting diode, the at least one second light-emitting unit is a blue light-emitting diode, and the at least one third light-emitting unit is a green light-emitting diode.
In similar field of endeavor of display device with light emitting element (paragraph 2, 3, display device with micro LED emitters), with a pixel region wherein a quantity of the first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the second light-emitting unit, and the quantity of the first light-emitting unit is greater than a quantity of the third light-emitting unit, and wherein the first light-emitting unit is a red light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting unit is a blue light-emitting diode, and third light-emitting unit is a green light-emitting diode (see fig. 2, paragraph 28: “Referring to FIG. 1 to FIG. 3, the embodiment of the application provides a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel regions 10, a pixel region 10 at least comprises three primary colours of the light emitting unit 101, a display panel an array substrate 12 and a light emitting device layer 11. the light emitting device layer 11 comprises at least one combined LED wafer 13 distributed on the preset pixel area 10, the combined LED wafer 13 comprises at least two light emitting units 101, and at least one of the at least two light emitting units 101 is a red light emitting unit 1011, The number of the green light emitting cells 1012 and the blue light emitting cells 1013 in the preset pixel region 10 is less than the number of the red light emitting cells 1011”).
Since Applicant has failed to disclose that specifying the red light-emitting diode as first light emitting unit, blue light-emitting diode as second light emitting unit, and green light-emitting diode as third light emitting unit instead of any other color designation provides any distinct advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to incorporate the concept of configuring red light-emitting diode as first light emitting unit, blue light-emitting diode as second light emitting unit, and green light-emitting diode as third light emitting unit, such as disclosed by Chen, into the display device of Meitl in view of Huang, to constitute wherein the at least one first light-emitting unit is a red light-emitting diode, the at least one second light-emitting unit is a blue light-emitting diode, and the at least one third light-emitting unit is a green light-emitting diode, such is incorporation of known concept into known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display device with different light emitting units to be configured to meet different display requirement.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meitl, in further view of Liu et al., CN 114709234 A (hereinafter “Liu”),
Regarding claim 16, Meitl discloses a display device (fig. 1, paragraph 35, multi-color LED display 99), comprising:
at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area (fig. 6, LEDs 43s within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at a first current is less than an external quantum efficiency thereof at a second current, and the at least one first light-emitting unit is operated at a first operating current (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current);
at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area (fig. 6, LED 41 within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current; and (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current);
at least one third light-emitting unit having a third light-emitting area (fig. 6, LED 42L within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second/third operating current);
wherein the first operating current is greater than a threshold current,
wherein the first current is less than the second current, and the threshold current is greater than the first current and less than the second current (see fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, and first/second/third operating current).
Meitl does not disclose in particular the first light-emitting area is less than the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area, and the second light-emitting area is equal to the third light-emitting area,
In similar field of art of display device with light emitting unit (fig. 1, 18, paragraph 2, 5, display 100 with LED pixels), Liu discloses a pixel structure of display may comprises: at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area, at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area, at least one third light-emitting unit having a third light-emitting area, wherein the first light-emitting area is less than the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area, and the second light-emitting area is equal to the third light-emitting area (see annotate fig. 6 below, paragraphs 52-54: As shown in FIG. 6, a pixel unit 10 comprises a first pixel 11, a second pixel 12 and a third pixel 25. along the first direction X, the first pixel 11 and the third pixel 25 are arranged oppositely, the second pixel 12 is located between the first pixel 11 and the third pixel 25; The first direction X is parallel to the plane where the display is panel. in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the display panel the orthographic projection area of the first pixel 11 and the orthographic projection area of the third pixel 25 is greater than the orthographic projection area of the second pixel 12”).
Meitl discloses the concept of a display device having light emitting unit with different efficiency curve and operating current, Liu discloses similar display device having light emitting units wherein area of different light emitting unit may be differently configured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the light emitting unit having different emitting characteristic such as disclosed by Meitl into display device with light emitting units of different light emitting areas such as disclosed by Huang, to constitute the first light-emitting area is less than the second light-emitting area and the third light-emitting area, and the second light-emitting area is equal to the third light-emitting area, such is incorporation of known concept into known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display device with different light emitting units to be configured to meet different display requirement.
Regarding claim 18, Meitl in view of Liu discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein outline shapes of the at least one first light-emitting unit, the at least one second light-emitting unit, and the at least one third light-emitting unit are rectangular, square, or disk-shaped (Liu, fig. 6, outline shapes of first, second and third light emitting areas are rectangular).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meitl, in further view of Zhang, CN 107153301 A (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 19, Meitl discloses (from claim 19:) a display device (fig. 1, paragraph 35, multi-color LED display 99), comprising:
at least one first light-emitting unit having a first light-emitting area (fig. 6, LEDs 43s within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at a first current is less than an external quantum efficiency thereof at a second current, and the at least one first light-emitting unit is operated at a first operating current (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current);
at least one second light-emitting unit having a second light-emitting area (fig. 6, LED 41 within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current; and (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second operating current);
wherein the first operating current is greater than a threshold current,
wherein the first current is less than the second current, and the threshold current is greater than the first current and less than the second current (see fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, and first/second/third operating current); and
(from claim 20:)
at least one third light-emitting unit (fig. 6, LED 42L within subpixel 33), wherein an external quantum efficiency thereof at the first current is greater than an external quantum efficiency thereof at the second current (see fig. 6, paragraph 52 on pixel configuration, fig. 3, paragraphs 43-46 on quantum efficiency of LEDs within pixel, and annotated figure below for efficiency at exemplary first / second current, threshold current, first/second/third operating current);
Meitl does not disclose in particular:
(from claim 19:) a first light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one first light-emitting unit and having a first area; a second light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one second light-emitting unit and having a second area;
the first area is less than the second area, and the first light-emitting area is the same as the second light-emitting area, and
(from claim 20:) a third light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one third light-emitting unit and having a third area; wherein the first area is less than the third area.
In similar field of endeavor of display device with light emitting units (fig. 1, paragraph 39, light module 1 with light emitting diodes), Zhang discloses the concept of disposing light enhancing unit on each light emitting units, wherein the light emitting areas of different light emitting units may be configured to be different or be same, while the areas of light enhancing units disposed on different light emitting units are configured to be different, wherein a first area of first light enhancing unit disposed on first light emitting unit may be configured to be smaller than both second/third area of second/third light enhancing unit (see annotated fig. 3, 5 below, paragraph 44, configuring light emitting area of light emitting unit to be same, paragraphs 52-55, configuring different light emitting units, having same light emitting area to have different light enhancing unit areas, i.e. different sized lens)
Meitl already discloses first, second and third different light emitting units, Zhang further discloses the concept of: configuring light emitting area of different light emitting units to be the same, while configuring light enhancing units disposed on light emitting unit to have different areas, wherein light enhancing lens area for at least a first light emitting unit is smaller than light enhancing lens are of second / third light emitting units. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of configuring light emitting area size and light enhancing unit size of different light emitting units, such as disclosed by Zhang, into the display device of Meitl with first, second and third light emitting units, to constitute (from claim 19:) a first light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one first light-emitting unit and having a first area; a second light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one second light-emitting unit and having a second area; the first area is less than the second area, and the first light-emitting area is the same as the second light-emitting area, and (from claim 20:) a third light enhancing unit disposed on the at least one third light-emitting unit and having a third area; wherein the first area is less than the third area, such is incorporation of known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would provide the function of improved light distribution, and allow display device with different light emitting units to be configured to meet different display requirement.
Conclusion
/PEIJIE SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622